WHAT I HAVE LEARNED BEING IN THE WORKFORCE....

in #jobs6 years ago

Working at a 9-5 job for almost 2 years straight now, there is a few things that I have observed. Of course the benefits of working a day job includes 2-3 week paid vacations a year, 10-15 days sick leaves a year, medical benefits, 401K and many more. All the security that has in this job, earning a stable paycheck. Why wouldn't you want something stabled right? But what is the price you pay for being in a day job?

The-Rat-Race.jpg

Here are some of the things I experienced that I am sure many have noticed after a while, this may not apply to everyone but I am sure it applies to most employees:

1.) Working from 8am-5pm or 9am-6pm sitting on a desk all day in front of the computer screen doing repetitive work.
2.) You must do everything your upper managers says and you often do not have a say in this.
3.) A lot of errands that I would do will have to be saved for Saturdays because I will have no time in the weekends...
4.) If you are just a few minutes late, people would look at you weird...
5.) Takes a lil over an hour to drive to and from work.
6.) Many people lives paycheck to paycheck... they earn their pay and then all of it goes out at the same time to pay bills, morgages, car, food, etc., thus not allowing them to save more money for their future.

AN ESTIMATE FROM 7AM - 7PM, I AM 8 HOURS AT WORK, 1 HOUR LUNCH AND 1+ HOUR TO AND FROM WORK! THERE GOES HALF OF YOUR DAY. PLUS 7-8 HOURS OF SLEEP... SO ONLY MAYBE 4-5 HOURS TO BE PRODUCTIVE?

I believe the worse part of the job in my experience is that pretty much almost everyone around me are fine with settling living such a mediocre life... and I can tell because the person next to me sighs a lot and even admits that he hates his job but it pays the bills.

They lack ambition and they do not care about living life... I can tell that they only care to work for money to survive and get by. For a while I saw it as normal because everyone around me had that mindset so I went along with it. But as I gain more knowledge about money and financial freedom... I feel that this isn't somewhere I want to be in long term.

Another employee says "Whats the use of being intelligent? You do not get much out of it." OR "The more richer you get, the more problems you have." I have noticed that many employees around me have a very close mindset.

One even told me "You have your anime and video games, what more do you want out of life? I am just living to live.". Sure I love video games and anime but I know life it much more than just that.

I see them posting memes on our work group in Whats App joking around how excited they are that its FRIDAY because of the upcoming 2 FREE DAYS known as the weekends. (Saturday and Sunday). I also fall for that too, it's days I can focus on what I enjoy doing the most. Most memes they post are pretty negative even if its to laugh temporaily but does not give much motivation in the long run at all.

The worse feeling is that many people dreads Sunday evening because the next day, they know that they have to go back to work doing the same repetitive thing over and over again. Sometimes I feel that way too because its neverending cycle of doing the same thing again.

And I am aware that job security is a myth because eventually many jobs will be automated and with the fiat currency losing its value every year, I am preparing for the day the company crashes because it is most likely to happen.

HOW AM I PREPARING?

1.) Investing on cryptocurrencies with tech that has the potential of increasing the value of my portfolio 10x or more.
2.) Educating myself on finance, business and technology that will in the long term give me the knowledge I need to work on making passive income.
3.) Saving and investing over 50% of each of my paychecks in general for emergencies or money growth.
4.) Connecting and meeting more like minded individuals with a positive mindset and sees the world more beyond what society views it... which I am starting to build on Steemit, YouTube and other social medias. Thank you all who understands and enjoys my content so far.

I will continue to work there a couple more years to continue building my wealth and invest more as I continue to educate myself to learn how to build passive income to sustain myself so the day I quit my job, I will be well off and dedicate more time on working on my passion, traveling and many more. This may describe what I am doing.

96aad5434b037e92374b3ba415a72439.jpg

I am thankful my current job allows me to multitask between work, steemit and watching educational YouTube videos so that's good cause if a job starts prohibiting that... I may not last too long settling for this because I am not someone who settles for less if I can achieve more.

What do you guys think about this? I may do a follow up on this post later on if I have more to tell about this. Upvote if you understand where I am coming from. I write all this here instead of YouTube and Facebook because I am a lot less likely to be judged by people saying "This is what life is and you must make sacrifices to make money."

Even if its partially true depending on the situation.

Sadly this is a topic that society will frown upon when you talk about it because most people are conditioned to believe that a 9-5 JOB is the ONLY way to survive and that you are stupid if you do not work a job like everyone else...

That just means that everyone does the same thing... everyone are different and they are meant to do different things in life that they are naturally passionate about.

I am in the position that I am living with my parents still (because I choose to in order to lower my expenses), I am debt free, no kids, wife (even girlfriend) and live a sheltered life. I guess the only reason I am still working there cause I have yet to find another way to sustain me earning me the same amount of money on my own. But one day soon I will cause I never give up finding a way. :3

I do love computer works and passionate with technology, I am working as a Service Desk Agent, do not get me wrong. I guess the issue is doing the same thing and no room for growth unless you change position or work on your own. Thats why I do steemit and YouTube on the side.^^

Sorry for the long post but if you read all the way through, I really appreciate it from the bottom of my heart. Comment below your thoughts on this and resteem if you want others to read this :) Until next post, take care, God Bless and stay cool!

Sort:  

Hey @denoxblogger it's been going on 15 years since I was in the rat race. But I know how you feel.

I work from home in Internet Marketing. By Summer I will be moving over to here full time ( approx. 4 months from now)

Keep plugging away. Like I told another person I Follow that I will take as many people with me as I can. And bring you guys with me. As long as you're creating good stuff and putting in the effort

So like I said don't lose the Faith, it will happen. Just keep putting out quality Content and interacting here with Comments etc.etc..

Cheers,
Rob

Thanks a lot Robert! I am looking to also go full time on steemit and making videos in the near future along with my crypto investments because I believe I have the potential to earn a lot more towards financial freedom in the next 5 years than my job ever will within the 20-40 years. Thanks for your support! :)

Btw, do you use Discord? I have a new Discord Server for Steemit users, not sure if you read this blog yet but you let me know: https://steemit.com/discord/@denoxblogger/need-help-getting-your-steemit-blogs-out-there-my-steemit-discord-server-is-open

Yeah I went thru and joined ( I think so at least the links you gave me) Sounds great :)

Hey man, great post. You summed it up so well!

I'm pretty much in the same situation, (9-5 customer service desk job...) but looking to finally leave the rat race sometime later this year to further pursue my music and travel dreams. (Mainly thanks to crypto!)

So happy to have the opportunity to connect with likeminded Steemians :)

All the best,

  • Tom

So true...just great post...

Very well said on this subject once more Denox and is true so many people they say they hate their jobs I even sometimes see people say they wish they were fired etc. but still torture themselves to do it all. Let me sum it up how I feel in a short line if you aren`t enjoying what you are doing even a little bit even if it does get you money you should not be doing it find something else because forcing yourself to be in something like that and the stress and strain it puts on one is not healthy in the long run. I mean yeah get some money but at what cost? And like you said if any money coming in just goes to bills etc. and you have nothing more left one mind aswell not have any money at all. I think a lot of people just sorta give up or lose hope so they just settle with whatever that thing is. They are afraid to take that different path or walk their own road but is never good to just settle especially if is not what you really want to do or what you are passionate about we all only get a chance to live 1 life and time goes by fast so live it to the fullest because any lost time can never be gotten back.

Yeah man, you sure are right about that. My reasoning for staying a bit longer is that I like to make sure that if I get out, that I have more than enough money to sustain me for a good 6+ months to a year as I continue building my passive income. But sooner or later I plan to leave to pursue something greater. Brainstorming a lot how I plan to do so, right now I am building my audience on Discord, Steemit and YouTube so I can have a good following when I am out.^^Thanks for your concern and I can tell you are very open minded about this! :)

That is good to hear buddy dont you give up either! so many allow themselves to be stuck in these spots or just grow to accept it and think well that is just the way things are but no it isnt. You are on the right course saving up stuff etc. you are gonna be set for when you leave finally. Ah btw did you ever consider opening a merch shop too on the sites I mentioned a bit back? Those may help you step towards your goal too as that is even more passive income stacked on top of what you have already! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50