Basic Tricks For Job Interviews..

in #jobinterview6 years ago (edited)

It is a common for anyone to be nervous to attend an interview especially for the 1st time. I am writing based on my personal experience handling many interviews together with some known best interviewers that I have worked with. I had personally experienced candidate crying during interviews due to the tricky question that they had caught in the act. I tried the trick for myself eventually it works.
Please take note that the following sample answers is purely based my personal experience and it doesn’t mean that it always works for everyone. Sometimes we also need to consider the environment, position, tone and etc of the interview. I have handled interviewing forklift driver up to senior manager position in a logistics industry.
Alright, lets jump onto the wheel and get you equipped with what is needed to attend an interview. Let’s start with basics

  1. Survey the interview location area a day before
    Reason: We have this new habit where we are very much relying on GPS. Once you survey the location you can plan to be ontime avoiding all he traffics. Unless the location is too far, then you need to find a way to stay somewhere nearby a day before.

  2. Find out about the company background.
    Reason: This will show that you made effort to find about the company. It shows your interest.

  3. Always wear something neat and bright.
    Reason: First Impression is very important. Dark colours represents negative energy.

  4. Make sure you carry a pen during interview
    Reason: This shows how responsible you are. Again 1st impression.

So once the above is done then you are ready for next big step which is being ontime :D
Now when you are called for your turn to be interviewed, make sure you walk confidently and shake the hand of the interviewer as firm as possible. For the interviewer if they find you have soft handshake, it represents your weak personality. Then always ask for permission to sit. It is rude if you sit without a permission.
Moving on to some golden questions:

  1. Q: Tell me about yourself?
    How to answer: Do not drag on the details. Make it short and sweet. Tell your name, total siblings, where you have worked previously and reason of leaving the job. The reply shouldn’t be longer than 3min.
    Sample answer: My name is xxx. I have 2 elder sisters working in medical line. I had completed my diploma and degree majoring in logistics. Started my career at the age of 17 as a warehouse assistant. My last position is Manager which I’m engaged with current company xyz.

  2. Q: Why do you choose to apply job in this company?
    How to answer: Tell them what you know about this company. How you can contribute for the company. Show interest of developing your skills. Most importantly, do not blame your previous employers.
    Sample answer: There is limited opportunity for growth in my current company. I believe it is time to move once the growth being stagnant for 5 years. I’ve learnt that the job that being offered is challenging on a different aspect and confident I am equipped with skills to handle on a best way possible.

     2.1. Q: Tricky continuity question: What make you say you can 
                   handle this position? Or why should I hire you?
             How to answer: Now you must talk based on your real experience.
             Sample answer: I have done contract renewal together with my boss/superior, even though the decision making was entirely from my management but the proposal was originated from myself. So I have the key of know how handling higher level negotiation such as contract renewals which is the primary objective for this position.
    
  3. Q: How good are you in managing people? Give me 1-10, 1 is weak and 10 is good.
    How to answer: This is very very tricky question. There is no right or wrong answer for this question. It is all depends on how you justify your answer. If you out the score low like 7 and below, the interviewer might say you are not confident in yourself or you can’t manage people. If you say 8 or above, the interviewer might say, “Are you saying you are better than me and if you are then you should be applying my position. (in a decent tone of course) Now, that’s going to make you sweat.
    Sample answer: I would classify myself as 8 because I still have room to learn. In my entire career life, managing people is the most difficult skill set that anyone can master. Anyone can learn the process but managing people requires certain level of experience and skills. Not everyone will agrees to our decision regardless whichever position they are at. So my ultimate answer is, I am good in certain extend but I am not perfect.

  4. If you applying for a position that requires you to manage larger group of employees that you have never handled. Following would be one of the question you may expecting. This question is to create fear on you.
    Q: Now, if you take up this role, you going to have x number employees will be working under your umbrella. Everyone will be looking at you and waiting for your instruction, and you never be sure your instruction is being 100% understood by all staffs and they might end up doing the wrong thing on the floor. And if they do, you will be entirely responsible if there is any loss. How are you going to manage this situation? How do you make sure your instruction is crystal clear to the floor.
    How to answer: This is to test your ability for delegation. Always ask for number of supervisors that are in charge.
    Sample answer: To avoid misunderstanding on the instruction, I will rather make sure the Supervisors / team leader understand the task being given and get them deliver it on the floor. If the direction is very critical, then I will need the Supervisor to report to me in timely manner on the progress and I will need to be responsible the get my feet on the floor from time to time to make sure no misinterpretation on the task given.

I am going to stop for now since my blog becoming too lengthy. Please do comment if you need more question and sample answers. I will probably publish Part 2. Enjoy reading. :)Interview.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @dharmavilasan! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dharmavilasan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46