The two sides of losing a job

in #job8 years ago

Howdy Steemians,

in my last posts I talked about the ongoing trend in today’s industry to act out the peter principle and the SNAFU principle. There I described the situation from the suppliers view when you have to deal with a customer that is living out these principles. Today I will share my experiences with losing a job with you.

The devil takes the hindmost: First Time being terminated from a job

After college I started working for a medium sized company in the middle of Germany. There were 150 people employed and in the engineering department we were 5 Project Managers working together. The working climate was a very friendly and stamped by teamwork. As a designer I had a lot of options and was free to develop the parts the right way. Due to being my first job I had a lot to learn and back then I had the necessary time to do so. But in the commercial crisis in the years 2008 and 2009 had direct effects on our company. As a supplier for the automotive and truck industry business was a hard one in these days. We had to work short time and were struggling to survive. But we managed it and stayed in the market. But in 2012 a company doctor came in to restructure and maximize to output. And as we all know the easiest way to maximize the profit is to fire people...
hand-110306_960_720a8d20.jpg
And since I was the youngest in our team and the cheapest to fire as well I got fired. Due to the German laws I had 4 months free. Normally people would be happy about it but after my termination I fell into a deep hole. I felt if someone has pulled the carpet from under my feet. I realized how much I loved my job. Depression was the result of this. I stayed at home played MMORPG and almost lost control about myself. But thanks to one of my best friends who has been in nearly the same situation I got through this.
Thankmarion79cd8.png

Fortune favors the brave: The second time I got terminated.
After a short period of time working for one of the global players in automotive in 2015 I started a new job as head of injection molding in the packaging industry. The company was small and lead by the owner. After the job interview I was impressed by the visions of the owner to develop the production site and became one of the most efficient producer for caps and closures. But this impression should change really fast. After starting to work with my team I soon realized that they weren't the experts the owner was talking about in the job interview. Only one out of seven was an application technician. And so we had to start with the basics of machine handling and injection molding. But in my boss's opinion it was not necessary to teach them or to change anything we talked about. But every day I had to justify myself for the mistakes. It became clear that this guy does not want to develop the production he just wanted to squeeze as much as possible out of the people. As I had said I was head of production but I had no own office or desk. But I love my job and therefore I did my best even without any appreciation. In the beginning we had 10-20 internal claim a day. After more than year of hard work we reduced it to 3-6 and there were even days without a claim. But for the owner it wasn't enough. But due to the patriarchic way of leading the company I had a bad feeling on my way to work for over a long period of time. And then the day came and the notice of termination was given to me. And in this case I was so happy that I don't have to work for this man any longer.

joy-233380_960_72090b4e.jpg

Recent situation

In January I had contact with a head hunter for a new job and an interview the day after my termination. Due to the fact that my new company had to create the position in its company structure it last a few weeks until I received the positive answer. But this time I don't fell in to a hole. This time I started working out every day and looked positive into future. And it payed off the new job is what I was looking for over the last years. The company is innovative and planning for the future.

Conclusion

Losing a job is not necessarily a bad thing. It can be the starting point of an upcoming opportunity and it can be very relieving. In my case the second termination was my luck!!! So if you ever lose your job keep your head up and your eyes open.
If one door closes another one opens!!!

Thx and keep on steeming.

Pasticfuzzy's Blog:
https://steemit.com/plastic/@plasticfuzzy/my-point-of-view-about-a-scary-trend-in-today-s-industry
https://steemit.com/industry/@plasticfuzzy/my-point-of-view-about-a-scary-trend-in-today-s-industry-part-2
https://steemit.com/steemit/@plasticfuzzy/thanks-to-the-whales-for-sharing-their-vision

Sort:  

Great words of wisdom; sometimes without change you will not find happiness and although the change might feel harsh at first; there is opportunities around every corner! - Happy days :)

That's true! We have to learn and embrace making changes often...

Thx for your comment.

Just want to add that @plasticfuzzy has nothing to do with our "fuzzy" @official fuzzy from beyond bitcoin team :)!

Thank you for sharing.

Losing a job is not necessarily a bad thing.

No, it is a change for the better if you make it so. It is an opportunity.

I've changed 6 jobs in last 10 years. Sometimes because I had to, other times because I didn't feel good at the work. It was always a change for the better.

You should accept the opportunity to do something new and better. With losing a job, or quitting a job, you get a chance, you are free to do whatever you like. So do it :)

i was to affraid to quite but now i am free..

Losing a job, makes way for a better opportunity in the near future.

Take time to recharge your depleted energy by going for a short uninterrupted break. When you return from your break, you are all geared up for a better tomorrow.

Opportunities are in fact everywhere, if only we grab the chances when we see them. Once you have it, you will learn how to make the best of it and keep on improving yourself.

Very Cool...I like it very, it was a pleasure to read :)

Good to hear your experience :)

Went through something very similar to you not too long ago. There can always be a light at the end of the tunnel, you just have to keep your eyes open long enough to see it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48