YOU DON’T NEED THE JOB TO BE HAPPY

in #job7 years ago (edited)

depression.jpg

I have enjoyed my life while I was still in varsity, until I started with internships and all that employment thing. All my creativity and my happiness started to vanish. All my ideas were shadowed by the duties I had to complete for my boss. I started spending less time on me and my future goals but more time on completing the job at hand.
In that way I started stressing about deadlines.

I wouldn’t enjoy my free time because I have to research or try to complete the work that has been handed to me. It sucks big time. I got depressed every time I had to go to work. It sucks big time. Work is very depressing.

depression2.jpg

Sort:  

Yeah, it can often feel like there is a conflict between what an employee wants from a job, and what the employer wants. The employee wants to earn a living, and to be successful at that you need to earn enough money to alleviate debt anxiety (it also helps to manage your money well) and also to have enough time away from the job to devote to stuff you really care about. On the other hand, the employer wants to extract maximum value from your labour power, and that entails paying you as little as can be gotten away with and making you work as many hours as possible. As far as the company is concerned, any time spent doing anything other than labouring for the company, or consuming goods/ services that increase the company's profits, is time wasted.

So the more you succeed in earning a living (decent wages, more free time to devote to your calling) the more the employer fails at extracting profit from your work (by hiring your labour as cheaply as possible and putting you to work for as long as possible).

very true, you end up having nothing else to do other than making your employer happy. You basically become a slave in the job environment in such away that you will feel like that the only thing that you are capable of doing "working for someone".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64561.21
ETH 3418.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57