Interview Performance

in #job6 years ago (edited)

images.jpeg
Recently I was part of a panel to conduct an interview for new employees into our company. This exercise really exposed me to a whole lot of things which could have hindered me back then when I was searching seriously for a Job.

After the techinical session, a candidate I knew from home waited for me after the recruitment exercise and asked, "Sir! How did I perform at the interview?"
Am sure some other candidates will have
similar questions at the back of their mind after each interview session, that can be summed up as “how did I perform at the interview”.

Now, this is the summary of the response I gave him, Tony, “you may have performed very well but your interest should not only be in how you performed but also in how did other applicants performed”.

This is because the interview process is like a reality talent show, your performance may attract a standing ovation but the next contestant may drown your applause by superimposing a superior performance on the minds of the judges, spicing it up with uniqueness and demonstrating additional capabilities.

Always remember that you can get 95% and still not be among the first 10.

Thus, when you attend an interview / competition, always draw on all your advantages - resume, experience, appearance, panel engagement, company&industry knowledge, even prayers to God, faith, etc and set a formidable record that will be impossible to match / surpass by other contestants.

This way you can be sure that you either get the job or get a good remark. In other cases, you get recommended for another role.

At the end of our discussion, he was dumbfounded and stared at me ages.
You too or someone you know can learn from this.

Sort:  

Great lesson learnt. Always reach to be the best

U right. I was exposed to things I never knew, i had to share with u guys. Am glad u did learn sth from it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65435.53
ETH 3559.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48