You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What age should you start teaching your kids ju jitsu

in #jiujitsu7 years ago

I have found that most parents think their kids are a little more advanced than other kids and buy them 5 year old toys when they are 3. Probably the same thing with BJJ.

Coming from the school of wanting kids to get in as early as possible, I quickly tempered my thoughts on that as I helped out with the kids classes. I personally think the magic age is 5. There are some 6 year olds that are not ready to listen and learn and participate while there is the odd 4 year old that is good to go.

I started my kids at 7 and 5 because the perfect school opened up in our town and I knew the instructors. My (uglier) purple belt brother started his kids up at 4 in our original gym and it worked out well.

So, all things not being equal, if I were to pick a number, it would be 5.

Good topic! OSS!

Sort:  

Thanks for the comment. 5 is a good age. I guess it depends on the kid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55011.75
ETH 2337.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34