Rickson Gracies's 3rd Ever U.S. Black Belt, Henry Akins, Costa Rica Jiu-Jitsu Camp

in #jiujitsu7 years ago (edited)

I can't wait for this!! Went for the first time last year and it was Mind Blowing. Henry Akins, also known as the Jiu-Jitsu Super Computer was dropping gems on us left and right. Also got to meet some rad human beings from all over the world!! Still a few spots left for any daring souls. Check out his site https://hiddenjiujitsu.com his shit is no joke!

25446391_998501033635827_886031272635840529_n.jpg

P.S. Henry has a huge almost cult like following (does seminars all over the world) and I've invited him to come over to SteemIt. I think he will eventually. He'd murder it!

Sort:  

Hey my friend, I used to train in Tai-Jutsu and boxing .. I must admit I loved the mental chess as much as anything else. ;)

Hey brother, I apologize for the delayed response. I have a good friend who has one of the best restaurants in town here and I hired him to help me create a menu for a dinner party I threw for Christmas. I totally over invited and ended up cooking for 17 people! It couldn't have turned out any better though, I was fortunate enough to execute the meal plan very well and the dinner was a hit. Therefore I have been slightly preoccupied.

I've never heard of Tai-Jitsu, I'm going to look it up. That's what I like most about Jiu-Jitsu is the cerebral part of it. We're constantly having to think our way through tough situations, we're not just throwing kicks and punches. Plus it's something that can be done at any age really and I'm getting fucking old! ;)

Hey my friend, no problem I've been really ill all over Christmas so I haven't even been on here. Sound like you put a lot of work into making sure everyone had a great Christmas so I'm really glad it went down so well.

The Tai-jutsu I trained in derived from the Samurai's hand to hand combat system, although it does also incorperate weapons training. Its more of a Martial art/Self defence as opposed to sport and focuses on quick takedowns as opposed to points. The systems of Ju-jutsu/Jiu-jitsu, Aikido/Aiki-ju-jutsu, Judo and Kenpo are all forms for Tai-jutsu. Anyway I'd like to wish you a very Happy New Year!

Sorry to hear that you haven't been feeling well.

That sounds really cool... "derived from the Samurai's hand to hand combat system". I much prefer the martial art aspect of Jiu Jitsu rather than the sport side of it. I've never competed and don't care for the point system myself. To each his own though. :) Have an awesome New Year and here's to an amazing 2018!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81