Gordon Ryan and Andre Galvao Beef it Out on Social Media

in #jiujitsu6 years ago

a.jpg

I won't bother re-posting the banter between Gordon Ryan and Andre Galvao. Much of it was pretty ridiculous. The bottom line is as much as I have always, and still do, like Andre Galvao I am not sure what he is talking about wanting $1 million for the fight. No one is going to pay that for a BJJ match. Very few MMA fighters will get that amount for a championship fight.

What I want to talk about is the evolution of Jiu-Jitsu. First of all I am not a Black Belt, I am a Brown Belt but have been training almost every day for over 12 years in Jiu-Jitsu. You have to marvel over the rise of Gordon Ryan and how great he has become in such a short time. I run into the resistance almost every time I get on the mat about the "new school" BJJ. I have heard it over and over about how deep half, then the 50/50, then the berimbolo, and now the leg game is a fad and you just need old school Gracie Jiu-Jitsu.

This match needs to happen so we can see how the game has changed. How techniques and training have changed. How theories have changed.

I hope some promoter steps up with the money and makes this happen. This will be the match of the year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73