You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Jiu Jitsu - Episode 8: No Friends Like the Ones You Choke

in #jiu-jitsu7 years ago

Thanks! It's pretty cool to train under Royce, and hopefully a class or 2 under Renzo in NYC. But everyone has an opportunity to train jiu jitsu from someone :) Royce usually only stops in 1-2 times per year, but our instructors are top notch. Even if there are no schools in your area, find a partner and look online! I'm really trying to recruit a black belt level instructor to use steemit and find a way to do live streaming classes. I think with Steemit's payouts and built in wallets we can do this for sure. If you are looking for a good place to start online, I'd check out Gracie University, 10th Planet, and even kimuratrap.com by David Avellan (which i'm currently just purchased). Hopefully you'll see more instructional videos from me on here soon. I'm having difficulties getting people to commit to filming. They don't get or understand bitcoin, steemit, or the opportunity this platform can provide to teaching, coaching and distributing jiu jitsu training, health and fitness. I think Steemit is ripe for jiu jitsu and personal trainers to take advantage.

Sort:  

I'm completely obsessed with MMA and martial arts in general. I started out with Kyokushin Karate, did that for a while, then I joined a local MMA gym. MMA is still in it's infancy stage in my country, and it showed when I was training. The trainers (especially jujitsu trainers) didn't take much interest in teaching, and are at most blue belts. I found bjj pretty difficult especially because I was coming from a striking background. I'll try taking online classes, but I don't understand many things unless I experiment or implement them in real life. Whatever the case, I have to get my ass back to the gym. I'm getting fat sitting on my ass trading cryptos all day. :P

I just followed you. You're from Pakistan! So MMA and jits are probably hard to come by. Well the good thing is there are plenty of resources online. But, there is also something to be said for training at an actual gym with high level instructors. I definitely appreciate my luckiness to train at a gym with high level guys. I have limited experience with stand up and mma. I'll say this, once punches, kicks, knees and elbows are introduced, it makes jiu jitsu much more difficult, so it's always great to train some standup and mma. We do it enough to know what it feels like. I really am hoping I can convince some of the higher level guys to get on here and hold classes, or seminars. I think the technology is there for people to teach on this platform via live streaming and the payment system is built in. Fingers crossed. It's just hard to convince people who aren't into bitcoin and digital currency to take it seriously. They don't see the value yet. I'm starting to get some traction and attention when I start the conversations, so maybe you will see it soon. I will post some how to videos, but i do try to be careful, as much as I know, I'm still only a blue belt also, so there's so much I don't know. I want people to get top notch training. I'm about to post a new vid from a roll session from Sunday. We didn't go hard since we were in their living room, but we had a nice flow going.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61