Happy Birthday to my hero, Jim Henson!

in #jimhenson6 years ago

I am a huge fan of entertainment. Since I was a little kid the TV had to be turned on so I could fall asleep; and if there was a show that made me happy was the Muppets Baby. I loved to travel with Kermit, Gonzo and Piggie from the small playroom to space or to a F1 race or to imagine what I wanted to do in my adulthood at the same time as the characters (I remember that Gonzo wanted to be a Dinosaur doctor so he could have more time to play Golf).

Growing up, the Muppets Baby turned just into beautiful memories, but my love for the characters never left. That´s why every Muppet Movie that was exhibit in theaters was a must and since today, Kermit and company are something huge in my life. Their humor, their messages and, most important of all, there lessons, are part of me. That´s how Jim Henson arrived to my life, and changed it.

I could write a biography about Jim, but it would be to tell something that I have read from books and internet from people that had the chance to meet him or his loved ones. But what I want to share with you to celebrate this September 24th, Jim´s Birthday, a story behind the man behind the Muppets.

It was the end of the 70s beginning of the 80s and the Cold War was in its peak. In a TV station in the brainstorm for the next show that Jim was going to create. The Muppets were a success, but there are never enough licenses in the entertainment business, and the TV businessman wanted more success like the Muppets. There were aiming for a new kids show, and when they were in the table speaking about the target audience and those stuff that Jim never wanted to hear, he said “we are going to create a show that help stop the war”.

He didn’t had the characters, the story, anything… but a huge goal that after long thought turned into Fraggle Rock. A show where characters from different races respected their differences and worked together to make their small world work. That how life show be.

As you can see, Jim was an idealistic, but that’s how always doing the right thing and thinking in something bigger that himself, make people from all over the world smile, laugh and enjoy with the beautiful messages about friendship, peace, love and a better tomorrow.

Sort:  

@reyojeda, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64