Jesus and the celestial Zion: One of your own descendants I will place on your throne. Psalm 132:11

in #jesuslast month

The Psalm 132 is presented as a Psalm dedicated to the kingship of David and the blessings that God bestowed on this remarkable man as a result of his fear of God (constancy, firmness, devotion).
David had performed extraordinary actions that had pleased God, but at the end of his life with the stability on the borders and an incipient peace achieved through his iron determination, King David proposed a more ambitious goal; to give the Lord a spiritual home among his people, that is, to construct the first temple in the mount Zion.
With these words, the Psalm relates the promise made by David to God:
"He swore an oath to the LORD,
he made a vow to the Mighty One of Jacob:
´I will not enter my house
or go to my bed,
I will allow no sleep to my eyes
or slumber to my eyelids,
till I find a place for the LORD,
a dwelling for the Mighty One of Jacob.´" Psalm 132:2-5.
And this devout decision had its reward, God promised David that among his descendants there would be a redeeming messiah who would establish no longer an earthly Jerusalem, but a celestial Zion.
The last part of the Psalm for the Christian faith has a special meaning because it refers to the arrival of the Lord Jesus and the definitive establishment of the Kingdom of God, the empire or dominion of the divine perfections, among men.
In this way the Psalm remembers the covenant between David and God through the prophet Nathan:
"The LORD swore an oath to David,
a sure oath he will not revoke:
´One of your own descendants
I will place on your throne" Psalm 132:11.
And this covenant would give rise to a new alliance as Paul described it in his letter to the Hebrews (Hebrews 12:22), a covenant that would bring the definitive rest of God.
And so the Psalm announces the presence of God and his rest with the new Zion:
"This is my resting place for ever and ever;
here I will sit enthroned, for I have desired it" Psalm 132:14.
The Psalm 132 is a devotional song, but it is also a prophetic and messianic psalm.
Jesus and the celestial Zion. One of your own descendants I will place on your throne. Psalm 132,11.jpg
For more information visit my profile follow the link and download for free my ebook.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62802.08
ETH 2941.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59