I WAS HAUNTED BY A WATER SPIRIT (SWC)

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago

Backforward three years back, and i would have  been  laughing almost uncontrolleably if i was been told any  thing about the supernatural existence of ghosts or spirits. To me then they did not just exist. Even if they did, they only existed on movies and story books.

But today, i belive and am scared of ghost.

It all started when i was trying  to complete my secondary school education, i had sat for my west africa examination council exam and failed about three major courses. I was really scared how my dad would react to my inability to pass those courses but it came as a surprise to me when instead of  putting  the blame on my inability to prepare well for the exam, he blamed everything on the examination center. His conclusion was that when its time for me to resit the examination i would have to travel to a remote part of the state where his friend was the principal of the local school there. He was sure by me writing the examination there i would have all the necessary assitance required to pass the examination without any hitch. I didnt like the idea of me travelling to a remote village where there was no electricity and almost  every where was covered with a thick rain forest vegetation. But if that was the sacrifice necessary for me to pass the examination once and for all i was really prepared to travel down there and write the examination.


When, the time for the examination eventually came, i travelled to this remote village called baen. On getting there i hated the place even more but just consoled myself that i would be staying there for just three weeks. I was given a room in the principal's house and his 13 year old daughter instantly became my best friend. The first week of the examination started, and everything was going on very well at least from my own perspective. By then i had been able to adapt a little to my  surroundings  and had been able to make a few new friends with the locals. 


The second week of the examination started, and me been a lot more comfortable with my surrounding decided to explore all the fun site that i could possibly  find in this remote village. The idea of hunting, or going to swim in one of the numerous streams in the village became very appealing to me. After one of the papers i was writing i had suggested to a few of my new friend  that we should go haunting  or swimming. And they had liked  the idea as well. After plenty of arguement we had decided that going to swim in the local stream appeared to be the best and the safest way to catch fun, since going hunting in forest is too dangerous and we could not possibly be able to defend ourselfs in case of any uncertainty.


The next day, after our examination without hesistation we all made our way to the stream. The whole experience was just as fun as we expected, it was safe too because there was about seven other people mainly adult at the stream as well.  I avoided swimming to the deep part of the water as i could not swim very well. But then something extraordinary happned, a friend had thrown a ball at me, as i was swimming to get to the ball i felt something like a hand grab my two legs, intially i felt it was one of my friends that was playing with me. So i made an effort to free myself and get my head out of the water but i couldnt. by these time i was just not feeling the force only on my legs but all over my body. It felt like i was been submerged by about 10- 15 persons, all through this whole incidence i was totally conscious of myself  and everything going on around me. I realised something extraordinary was happning to me when i could hear from under the water the faint voices  of  my friends calling out my name. To make matters worst it was like whatever that was gripping me kept taking me deep into the water. By this time i couldnt struggle anymore and after sometime i lost consciousness. 


By the time i regain consciousness, i was lying on a bed in the local medical center in baen.it all sounded like a joke or a fairy tale story when some of my friends and people present at the stream narrated that no one was responsible for me been been submerged in the water. They said all of a sudden,  i had just gone missing in the water and they had searched and called out for me but could not find me. I was only found at the opposite bank of the stream after about 45minutes. One lady even said i was taken by the water gods in that village and that i have been choosen to serve her, and that i was not the only person to have had a similar experience. Honestly these story was just something me and my dad could not key into or belive at all. For my safety i had to abandon the exam and return with my dad to the city. I was really happy to be safe and back to our family house in portharcourt, but little did i know that was the begining of my problem.


Over the next two weeks, i had dreams every day of me swimming deep in water, sometimes i would even find myself in a place that looked like sea. At first when i told my parents and sibliings everyone had concluded that the dreams was as a result of psychological trauma i must have suffered because of the incident. And with time i would get over it. But this dreams kept coming, at a time i noticed it followed a regular pattern i  was given a tax to do in the dream and if for any reason i happen to wakeup before that tax was completed, i noticed that when next i dreamt i would continue from where i stopped.i kept seeing the same set of people in my dream all the time, i had new parents and family that lived in water.

Over the next  3 months this dreams continued but they where not as regular as the initial time. It got to a time i could not relate my experiences with my dad or my mom anymore, i just had to deal with it on my own.


Solution came when i had a misunderstanding with my mum and she used some harsh words on me. In her sleep that night she had a dream were she was under the water and she recived some stern warning to leave me alone. After that dream she had, we started looking for solutions  and we had to travel back to baen and had to make series of sacrifices to the water gods at the stream i was submerged.


Based on writing, i cant possibly explain everything i had to go through during these experiences but am greatful that after the sacrifice we did at the stream, for like two years now i have stopped having those dreams. The whole incident have shaped my understanding of the supernatural, i now belive in ghost and spirits. Thank you @jerrybanfield and @gmichelbkk for an opportunity to share this story 

And to read those of others to know am not the only  one that have had these kind of supernatural experience.

Sort:  

I don't know about that
But when I look at that picture, I am very interested..
I am very like mermaid.. I love mermaid... Very much.. Uccchhh

Lol.. It all depends on how you see them.

Thank you very much @wildthot for writing this amazing story and submitting it to SWC. This must have been scary to be pulled down in the water like that. I sent a bid to a bot for your upvote.

Thank you very much @gmichelbkk for giving me this opportunity to be able to share my experiences

You got a 3.66% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @gmichelbkk!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Congratulations @wildthot! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61409.80
ETH 3358.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49