MY SUPERNATURAL EXPERIENCE; ENTRY FOR JERRYBANFIED CONTEST

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago

Life could be challenging, life could be annoying, life can seem hopeless, life can get one confused; but in the midst of it all the Joy, victory and hopes of life is sure. Just focus.

I am the fourth child( second) son of my mother in a polygamous family of two wives, my mother being the second. She had consented to being a second wife after she was sent out of her husband's house on grounds that she was barren; As tradition demands, the dowry was returned and she was no longer considered the wife of her first husband. The ceremony marking a lady's retrieval from her husband's house is such a shameful one to the lady, by our tradition. By chance/mistake my helpless,moody mother got seduced by a man in his neighbourhood into a secrete romantic relationship. The activities and other bed gymnastics that took place in that secret affair made a public notice-pregnancy. Wow! What a good news for the lady who was publicly sent out of her husbands house for being barren. A coincidental blessing indeed. But for the man, the challenge was how his first wife would respond. It was by such union that I emerged the fourth out of five children from the woman who was publicly celebrated as a barren woman.

That was the beginning of my journey to earth. A terrible start

As per my Dad, it wasn't rosy either. Accommodating two both bearing the 'wife stutus' does not sound like a fairy tale. Besides he was one with a very humble beginning as well: little education, very poor background. Daddy had lost both parents at the age of seven (7) with a four year old younger brother for him to cater for. His mother died during delivery of his younger and his father, four yeas later. Unfortunately both siblings are now late- younger brother died when he was not married while Daddy died leaving nine of us from both wives to continue the struggle with life. The struggle of life indeed; but victory is sure.

This was the path I journey through on earth; a terrible path.

A terrible path filled with so much SUPERNATURAL mysteries; good today ugly tomorrow. So much mysteries that will make little or no meaning to people in the western world and even fellow Nigerians heading towards 'Westernisation'. So much mysteries touching the SUPERNATURAL, SUPERSTITION, SPECULATIONS, RELIGION and REALITY. Good for the today world or not, IT IS MY STORY, MY HISTORY, MY PAST LIFE.

At conception, I brought good news to the family-Daddy was able to secure a job for Mother as a cleaner in Local Government Council headquarters. But the distance was so remote and pay so little that Mother decided to go to work with the family bicycle so the transport fare does not exhaust the entire salary and still demand more. The couple therefore concluded plans to TERMINATE THE PREGNANCY(me), besides, the supposed barren woman was then a mother of three(3). According to them, I had sent a message to them IN A DREAM and through the Doctor's WARNING STRISTRICTLY that I'll be a great man.But along the line the greatness it was to be in a negative direction.

My story was tilting towards the terrible experience of my fathers. Thanks to God, it did not. When I was exactly 7 yrs, Daddy left us for an eternal journey leaving both women to sort out themselves and their children. The family made all efforts to rescure Daddy from the illness, emptied the little treasury, incured debt, yet it was to no avail.
I was almost Daddy's pet; I and the last born girl. I feel his absence anyday, anytime.

WHEN I WAS BORN, before the naming and circumcision ceremony, Daddy, who held tenaciously to the doctrine and believes of his church received A MESSAGE FROM ONE PRIEST OF A KNOWN DIETY in the land that I was to be named after the diety. This received a capital 'NO', from Daddy at all cost. He became helpless about four days later when I DEVELOPED A VERY BIG SWOLLEN SCROTUM. Although one could explain how this was associated with the priest's treat, it was concluded that the priest was its etiology. (Very funny because I now know it's etiology medically and it has absolutely nothing to do with the priest or diety). However, the big sized scrotum became normal 2 days after the priest visited and APPLIED SOME OINTMENT AND HEAT.images-38.jpeg
Daddy had told me while he was still alive that circumstances left him no choice; that he yielded to the demand with hopes that I will grow up someday to take a good decision that would make him happy even if he were to be in his grave.

Yes, Daddy was right. At the age of twelve (12), I developed courage to eat the food my taskmaster, the priest has banned me from eating. Earlier on, even when Daddy was a still alive, the priest had been such an elderly friend and mentor. Even though Daddy made indirect efforts to ensure I don't get so close to him, he was one of the best senior friends I had. He provided me with food to make sure I had excess and never take pleasure in the FORBIDDEN FOOD which was the favourite food of the family and the entire community. Avoiding this food was a COMMON MARKER OF ALL OF US WHO WERE NAMED AFTER THE DIETY.
I finally ate the food when Mother was not around. I joined my step brother to eat his ration(even though I battled with pushing the food down my oesophagus, I succeded). My step brother was afraid such that he wanted we swear an oath that I will not tell anyone about it. I vehemently agreed but unfortunately before I could finish greeting Mother on her return, I had told her that I ate the forbidden food and that it was sweet. My act kept my family moody considering the doom I might have brought on myself and the family by eating the food I was strictly warned not to eat. The experience of the swollen scrotum must have taught my mum a lesson never to joke with instructions of the priest concerning me even though she wished I had nothing to do with the priest.

This is just a part of the MYSTICAL of my life, I'love link it to my today in subsequent posts. Life might have mysteries but you can work on your tomorrow to suit you

Sort:  

@thankori, thank you very much for writing this story and submitting it to SWC. I sent a bid to a bot for your upvote.

You got a 3.53% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @gmichelbkk!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Wow! Thanks a lot, sir!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14