You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Richard III (SWC)

I'm descended from the Emersons of Haverhill, MA, too. In fact, My 6x great-grandmother, Mehitable Emerson, plays an important part in my family even today. She was born in 1703, and Emerson was her maiden name. One of her granddaughters, Rebecca Burnham, became my 4x great-grandmother. Rebecca named one of her sons Emerson McKenzie (her husband being a McKenzie), after her grandmother.

Emerson had a son named Emerson who died when he was two. However, Emerson, Sr.'s younger brother Jacob, my 3x great-grandfather, gave his son Frank the middle name Emerson, in honor of his brother's son, as the son had recently died when Frank was born.

Since then, at least one McKenzie male in my line in every generation (and sometimes more than one) has had the middle name Emerson, even to the current generation of kids. And, it all started with a woman born more than 300 years ago. :)

One of my degrees is in History, and I did a ton of research on the Wars of the Roses for that degree. The era and the conflict fascinate me. Personally, I think it is FAR more likely that Henry Tudor killed the Princes in the Tower, rather than Richard III. I mean, Richard III had another niece and nephew who could have challenged him for the crown, and he took them in as his wards instead of killing them. Henry Tudor killed the nephew some years after taking the crown, and married off the niece into a family who supported the Tudors. Henry Tudor's mother, Margaret Beaufort, could have done it, too, but I think she was too deeply religious to risk such a thing. Henry Tudor is the more likely culprit. If the princes were killed at all. There is a chance the older prince died of an abscessed tooth in the tower, and the younger one escaped. There is quite a bit of evidence for that theory, too.

I've always been fascinated by Lady Jane Grey, who came four generations later. I've dreamed about her, and in my dreams, I'm always trying to rescue her from being beheaded by Mary I (she was innocent, after all, and only killed because of her proximity to the throne and the fact she had supporters who wanted her there). I've often thought I must have known Lady Jane Grey personally in a former life. In this life, she is a 7th cousin, 8 times removed, on my family tree.

Sort:  

Wow. You got me to bust out the family tree. My Dad got it from someone that contacted us. West Coast ya know? Mom's Cherokee. Lost Angels in the wild west so to speak.

Robert Emerson born Nov. 10, 1629, died June 25, 1694 Haverhill, Ma.
Joseph Emerson born circa Feb. 26, 1668/1669 in Haverhill, Ma., died Aug. 6, 1755
David Emerson born Nov. 21, 1701 in Haverhill, Ma., died May 18, 1764
Then Philp, and we start moving around until we get to Oregon. Any help would be much appreciated.

Also, met an Emerson from the Richard III Society that has Emerson family history in Durham, England. Didn't include that in the story.

Hard to imagine Richard III could have been directly involved in the missing Princes. There's a great book from a leading historian available soon on the subject. Once again a member of the Society.

You might want to join for roughly 50 pounds a year at richardiii.net. If your on Kindle Unlimited check out my book for free. Or can Email a copy to you if you provide an address. Would really enjoy any feedback you might have.

That's what's awesome about The Wishing Shelf Book Awards; they give feedback on your book.

What did Mehitable Emerson do?

She was the wife of Solomon Burnham. Also, the daughter of Thomas Emerson and Philippa Perkins. Thomas Emerson's father was Nathaniel Emerson, and I've seen his headstone in Ipswich, MA. It's pretty old, but the writing on it is still visible and readable.

I've got this particular Burnham line back to Sedgefield Parish, County Durham, England in the 1500's.

Nathaniel Emerson was born in Bishop’s Stortford, Hertfordshire, England and died in Ipswich, MA. His father was Thomas Emerson, born in Sedgefield Parish, County Durham, England, and died in Ipswich, MA. Thomas Emerson's father was Robert Emerson, who was born in County Durham, England and died in Hertfordshire, England.

I'll check out the Wishing Shelf Book Awards, as I've written three novels myself, and have two more in the works that should be published by sometime in April. Plus, I have tons of novel ideas after that. Being a novelist has pretty much been my goal for a career since high school.

I'll also check out the Richard III society, which I have heard of before, as well as your book on Kindle Unlimited.

Cool. They start the new contest after April when they announce the 2017 winners. Work at an audiobook company as well. Only they want a proven sales record.

No matches. On another note, our local history group is working on a cemetery project here. The famous person there named Nathaniel Myer. From PA, he moved to Ohio and became a congressman, before writing a diary about moving to Southern Oregon.

20171029_135540.jpg

There is probably a cousin connection. In fact, there just about has to be. It's probably among Robert Emerson's children. My guess is you're from one child's line and I'm from another child's line. My family tree is on my other computer, so I'll have to check it tomorrow. I've got nearly 30,000 names on there, and quite a bit of work on the Emerson family. I'll let you know if I find any kind of connection in my tree.

Here's the help Hugh Emerson offered from the Society. May it help you if it hasn't already:

"There is one other unique source of information from the 15th - 16th Century called the Weardale Chest. This contains legal documents going back to that time much of which concerns disputes between landlord and tenant farmers. There are several Emersons mentioned including a Robert Emerson in 1606 (see also WEC.99/1-29)

http://tinyurl.com/kx7wn67

Weardale at that time was divided into the Park Quarter and the Forest Quarter. It was owned by the Bishops of Durham then sold to Sir Arthur Hesilrige, one of Oliver Cromwell's supporters in 1650."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62241.82
ETH 2433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57