SUPERNATURAL WRITING CONTEST (SWC): COINCIDENCES IN MY LIFE

in #jerrybanfield7 years ago

I am grateful to @jerrybanfield for this contest and @gmichelbkk for the second opportuniyu to bema part of this contest.

I am full of appreciation for the supernatural writing contest by @jerrybanfield in building the steemit community and blockchain. Steem has made me to underatand that who and what ever you are, you'll always have a family to turn to.

I used to be very shy and not outspoken. But my joining steemit challenged me to come out of my shell and be challenged to be more sociable on social media.

My contribution to this SWC happened when I was at the university.

I had an elder sister in school who had mostly guys as friends. They would come to the house sometimes and study with my sister. She introduced quite a number of them to me as a fresh student, incase I ever needed assistance at certain times to meet them. Some I didn't like at all because they wanted to have a relationship with me and besides they were friends with my elder sister. Most importantly I came to school to study for my good grades. I never wanted any distractions, I was determined to stay focused and get my good grades.

I had trust for my sister and the type of friends she would keep so I assumed them to be like elder brothers to me in school. On this certain day i was so tired after some marathons of lectures from 7am till about 2pm stretch. At the Atscan hall for freshers, I could not go back home as the break period was just an hour. I decided to sit under a tree close to the library where students usually just chill and relax. I was contemplating what my next move would be. To take a snack maybe but did not have any money on me.

DQmctNn4Wg2ThsCVNnPYZwei1A9yuSJiD92P5c8yeMTrrtR.jpg

images (30).jpg

While I was there, one of my sister's friends Omonigho by name saw me and offered to buy me lunch. I gladly accepted and went with him to get some soft drinks and a snack. We got talking and I told him of an assignment we were asked to submit the next day. I was suppose to ask my sister when i get home because we were living off campus. My elder sister has always been like my mentor and guide to me in school. She takes kin interests in my affairs.

She was in the same department with one of her male friends Omonigho but later changed to a different faculty but they were still friends and could visit each other. This now made Omonigho in a higher level than my sister since she had to start year one again.

Omonigho offered to help me and asked me to join him to his BQ (boys quater) appartment on campus. Without a thought I followed him. At that time of the day, that part of the school is usually quiet because students have gone for their lectures. You can hardly find ladies living in that part of the BQ. Innocently I followed him all the same.

Imidiately we got to his room, i sat down and he was about to force himself on me. I did not even know i was about to be raped but i just knew i had to fight back and get him of me. I was a virgin then and so much fear gripped me like my life was going to be snached out of me. Screeming would not help because there was no one around. Like we say in Nigeria "who send me".
DQmQJ2Fm5U1oLTqaNovX9GA3D2zCUZZZDaTjKMTvXUhyAM4_1680x8400.jpg

I was so naive to have followed him to his room. My whole life flashed before me in that moment. What if, why me, how will I live my life on campus. My mind was racing up and down. I struggled hard and was kicking in every direction but to no avail. The only thought that came to me was to reject the act with my mind. I did not know what that meant. It was not a prayer but it was a strong force. Miraculously it worked.

He succeded and overpowered me before he suddenly stoped and was laughing over me pinned to the bed. He then said, "I have been asking your sister out and she has been telling me we could only be friends and not have a relationship. I could have my way with you just to get back at her if i want now. Next time don't go to any guys room alone". He warned me.

He then let me go and I picked up my belongings and was shivering and crying. I never went back to class that day. I just went home staright, took a shower and laid there in bed. The shock could not allow me to eat or do anything. I felt like quitting school that day. All the motivation I had died that day and still I could not tell anyone including my dear sister because Omonigho warned and threatened me not to tell anyone what happened. If I did he would come after me and my sister and besides he is always close to my sister and could hurt her at any time. This made me kept this incident to myself. It hunted me in my entire stay in school. I was the only who refused to go out to read at night because Omonigho or some other guy might just be in a corner and take advantage of me.

DQmcXLWcDJnc5L5TqSbYXani3stez5bV2wPhiC6LnNGok18.jpg

The funny thing was that he would still be walking around with my sister, come to our house together and all that.

The day came when my sister was about graduating and Omonigho had already graduated because my sister changed from the Social sciences/Humanities faculty to Pure science faculty she had to repeat her 100 level (first year) and she was talking to me about a lot of things because of certain things she had noticed about me. My grades were down, no more friends and all that. I started crying and she wanted to know what went wrong with me. She hugged me and was consoling me. I still could not tell her what happened like 3 years ago that made my university life an unpleasant one. I was afraid of every guy and withdrew from people generally.

At last I voiced it out and told my sister what had happened to me and she too was furious and was cursing, and angry at the same time with Omonigho and with me for not telling her on time while he was still in school.

She appologised to me and made a promise to me that she will always support me in whatever that concerns me and will never judge me no matter what. I was relieved but the trauma was still there. At least I had someone to share this with without judging me. It felt like a huge load off my neck that day, the relief was supernatural.

We have been like best of friends and have not set eyes on Omonigho ever since. I wish ladies that have been victimised would speak up but to the right people who would help them heal faster and spiritually. My sister was there for me.

Thank you for reading my blog

Upvote, comment and resteem.

@jerrybanfield

Sort:  

Is this contest still on??

Yes, but I was permitted to re-write since my post was not up to 1000 words initially. Thank you @ambdavid for stopping by.

Wooow, that's very bad of your sister's friend, very crazy, nice work

Thank you very much @simspread for writing your story for the second time and submitting it to SWC. It was a good read and your experience must have been terrible to live. I sent a bid to a bot for your upvote.

Thank you so so much. I appreciate you @gmichelbkk and @jerrybanfield. You deserve all the votes you have and more. For the many experiences we have bottled up in the past and now giving us the chance/ opportunity to let go by writing it and move on without judgement. I say thank you. You make my steemit experienvce a pleasant one. Thank you once more.

Our pleasure.

Thank you for collaborating with me to promote this post as explained at https://steemit.com/steemit/@jerrybanfield/10-ways-to-fund-a-steem-growth-project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66