My Grandparent's Old House And The Creatures Inside It: My Entry For Supernatural Writing Contest

in #jerrybanfield7 years ago (edited)

In front of our house is an old house owned by my grandparents. My father said my grandfather is a Chinese and my grandmother is a half Chinese half Filipina. The house is so big with a lot of rooms. The lower part serves as a store,it is where they sell the product that they got from China.


This is how the house looks like now,after it was struck by typhoon Pablo. I wish I have a photo of its original structure before the typhoon.

The house is so old that it comes with so many stories,like ghosts stories,suicides,dwarfs and giants. Growing near the house makes me think that those are just made up by the folks to keep children away from playing inside for the house is not that strong anymore and it might break anytime. One step and you might fall down. Termites have eaten the woods already.
Old folks say's every night the door makes a squeaky noise like someone is opening it. And once you listen more to the sound the house is making,you will also hear laughter of children like lots of them are playing inside. It happened every night that It has been the talk of the old folks already. Personally I didn't believe that for I thought stories were just made to scare us all.

As kids our father always orders us to take a nap after lunch. At that time,noon,with the sun shining so bright and the weather is so hot,me and my sister saw a flying white dress. I can still remember how my skin felt so cold all of a sudden even is the weather is so hot. We told our father what happened and our father just got angry with us because he said we're imagining things too much and he sent us to sleep. That incident gave me sleepless nights though and I was so afraid looking at the house again,especially at night time.

source https://exemplore.com/paranormal/The-Colour-of-Ghosts

I can say that It looks like this,the dress though is somehow similar. Of course I don't have a picture of it as it happened when I was 7 years old.

Kids plays a lot and even do things that are unexpected. Because of what we saw,I avoid playing at the big house already and telling other kids what we saw. All we received from them is bullying and telling us cowards. Day after day we were challenge to enter the house and stay there for a few minutes to be called brave. Of course to avoid being bullied I did a fare share of the challenge,I went inside and saw the faces of the saints left there by grandma. I could not forget that It was afternoon 4 PM,as I quitely stayed there for almost 2 minutes with tears and sweat on my face I saw a small person ran so fast near the saint. I said,no,I'm just imagining again "I'm brave!!!!" said I. And then after I said that to my self I heard a small laugh,like a child's laugh,the voice was so thin and small but it did not miss my ear. Slowly the voice seems moving towards me,and like in the horror movies the voice is at my back whispering something and then that's it. I ran away as fast as I could and cried as I went home leaving my playmates behind.

source http://adscam.typepad.com/my_weblog/2011/02/jwt-discriminates-against-poisoned-dwarfs.html

I never went inside the house after then,for I believe spirits live their. Creatures not like us already owned the house. But it was still the favorite hang out place of my sister and our cousin Romnick her favorite playmate ever since were younger. As time passed by,I have overcome my fears already but never again even try to be brave and enter that house. I can remember when my sister was already in college,she was 1st year college at that time. Our cousin Romnick one night he went missing. His parents went to our house and asked if he passed by that afternoon. I told them I saw him in the afternoon playing with my son Rain. And the search began. Days and nights became sleepless for his parents,they went looking for him at the beach near us for rumor has it that he went there. But no trace of him was found. Second night of his disappearance I looked at the window of the house and I felt cold like something is watching me. I went inside our house and talked to my father,I asked him to search the big house maybe my cousin is just hiding there. He said,he left for a reason and that the big house is not a good place to hide besides everyone is afraid to go there.


source http://www.newindianexpress.com/nation/2017/aug/29/kolkata-teenager-commits-suicide-after-watching-horror-film-1649877.html

That very same window that was closed is where we found our cousin,in a different manner though.

It has been the 4th day that my cousin went missing. As you can see there is a basketball ring there that was made by my cousin Romnick because he loves playing basketball. As teenagers played,they notice a very foul smell. So one teenager brave enough followed the smell,and where its coming from. They saw a shiny thing floating as they look up at a very small whole. He decided to ask everyone to go with him and go upstairs. There they found my cousin,lifeless and hanging near the window. He had committed suicide. For whatever his reason he killed himself. So they where looking else where and I was right all along that he was just there hiding,except that he wasn't really hiding. He killed himself. At the night of his vigil I looked up at the window and I thought I saw him looking at us while we're playing cards. Once again I felt really cold and decided to go home that night. But wherever he is right now,he might still be at the window looking at the young people playing basketball at that small basketball ring that he made.

The door was locked now,by my father. Afraid that the incident might happen again and it might be a venue for people who would like to kill themselves. Of course we don't want another soul roaming endlessly in that house. Until now while I'm writing this I felt very cold.

Those pictures of the house were mine.

Sort:  

Thank you very much @sheenaabelgas for writing this story and submitting it to SWC. That must have been scary for kids to experience these events in that old house! I sent 12 STEEM directly to your account for your participation in the contest.

it is indeed. thank you so much for noticing my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59323.36
ETH 2348.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55