You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Father John ~ SWC

in #jerrybanfield7 years ago

thanks for writing about this, dear one. Both my husband and I are going through such a difficult time with my mil suffering from last stage of dementia and reading this gave me so much of relief. I hope God will help us get through this phase. added to this are relatives who are disturbing us for several reasons. Steemit and writing here has been such a goood tonic for my mind. God bless you for helping all

Sort:  

Sorry to hear of your troubles and I wish you both the best. Been there, done that, and I understand exactly how much fun it isn't.

My mil had dementia before we met, and unfortunately it progressed over the years to the point that she no longer recognized her own family members, which was hard on everyone.

When she was first diagnosed, we all went to a meeting with her doctors, where they explained the symptoms we were likely to see, which is when I realized with a start that here too was the explanation for what had been going on with my own dad. So for the last few years of their lives, both were losing ground and knew it, though my dad's Alzheimer's never progressed to the level that hers did.

It does get better. It is hard, it is draining, and it hurts like hell to see someone you love so much reduced to a shell of their former self. But it does get better, and as hard as it is, it helps to keep your sense of humor.

I used to take my mil for her dental appointments, and one day I got the bright idea that, since my mil and my dad knew and loved one another, I would pick up my dad after her appointment and take them both to lunch together. Yes, you read that right. Just me. With TWO dementia patients.

We went to a little Mexican restaurant near my home, in Seminole, Florida, and as it was around 3 PM, there were few other diners, which was a blessing. And I cannot begin to express my gratitude for the servers kindness and humor in dealing with two elders with dementia, which had we come at a busier time, would certainly have tried their patience.

As difficult as it was actually getting both of them to eat their food, our 2 1/2 hour lunch wound up being a favorite memory of mine, because the two of them enjoyed themselves so immensely, even as they forgot to eat the food in front of them. And I will always have a soft spot for that restaurant, for the kindness they showed that day, when in another place it could so easily have been otherwise.

So if you ever visit the Tampa Bay area, check out Carmelita's Mexican Restaurant on Seminole Blvd., in St. Petersburg. They have several locations, but that is the one we visited that day.

I wish you all strength, love and peace in your difficult situation. You are welcome to contact me if you would like. Be blessed.

thank you so much for sharing your experience. hugs

you are very welcome!! My niece is going through that right now with her mom. I got @bleedinheart on steemit. She use to write a lot, then life got in the way, and now she is using Steemit and the Freewrite to help her deal with her life now in a healthy way with writing posts and meeting people on Steemit. You might want to go over and say Hello. She has been here less than a month and is still learning.

I am so sorry for what you are going through. I know it is not easy and even that is an understatement.

I'm very happy my real life story helped you in some way hugs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69