An unforgettable night (SWC) - Coincidences-

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago (edited)
Hello this is my entry for the Supernatural Writing Contest and today I will share with you a very peculiar story that happened to me a while ago and that shows how a series of coincidences altered me.


Source

It was in the year 2011, I was visiting with some friends in a town called "Corosito" in the Guárico state, Venezuelan. The area in question is famous in my country for being one of the places where you hear more legends and myths about ghosts and scares, for being a rural area surrounded by villages where there is no electricity and technology has not made presence, It is lived as in the eighteenth century, field work abounds and its people live between parties and farming.


Source

I was partying with my friends when it was close to 11 o'clock at night and we decided to go to a bar a little far from the town, we mounted several horses and headed towards the place, with the cold breeze on our faces and nothing but the lighting of the moon, we did not stop talking and laughed excited to get to the place where we would meet more friends, and more than half the way we had traveled, that's when I realized that I had left my wallet in the house where we were staying ; I stopped and told my friends to follow the step, I would go home and reach them again at the bar.


Source

So it was, I turned my horse and immediately returned running I felt the breeze cut with our step, reach a point on the way I decided to cut the road and get into the bushes, the closest distance between two points is always a straight line , I thought; and without hesitation I went among the trees, with more cautious step because the night was very dark and the trees hid the little light that the moon left me, I was galloping little by little among the trees and I found a stream, I stopped so that the horse took water and I went down to urinate, there were many trees and branches fallen in that area, always with the feeling of active location, I knew that the road was on my right as the moon and to get home it should always be like this, from this I would avoid getting lost, according to my calculations in 10 minutes I would be home and back to the bar, I got on the horse and continue my march, after a galloping time I heard a noise coming towards me, I stopped and the noise decreased, I looked towards back and I did not see anything, I continued my march when I immediately heard the same noise, again I stopped and quickly turned to see what was behind me, but nothing again! At that time I was scared and I thought of some animal that possibly prowled the area and had seen us, somehow I felt safe because the horse was big and fast, I did not think any animal would dare to attack me on top of that horse, I should not get off of him. I shuddered the reins and immediately began to walk at the same gallop, but soon I began to hear the noise of another walk just behind us, I was not imagining I was really listening, it was as if something was following us, I was afraid to turn, I walked for a while like this until I took some of the little courage I had left and slowly started to turn my head back, to my surprise there was NOTHING!!! but I was still listening to the noise, that courage I told you about melted like water in my hands, I shuddered again the reins but this time accompanied by a blow to the ribs of the horse with the stirrups and accelerated the pace, was faster but always taking care of not falling or hitting with any stone, there was still a bit of common sense in me even though the fear made its own along with that noise that followed me at the same pace that I hurried the step. I know they were only seconds but for me it was an eternity every step I took was followed by that chilling noise that seemed like I did not want to miss the trail. Fear seized me completely, what I called common sense only remained ashes I only thought about that something or someone who followed me and I could not see it.

Source

The branches hit my face but I did not feel them. Every step I took gave me more terror than the other, but the worst moment of all that nightmare was when I realized that I had left the moon behind, it was no longer on my right. as it should be to get home. The horrible noise that followed me, along with the fact that I possibly got lost in the plain made me feel terrified, I ran and ran and I never lost what followed me, the skin bristled so much that I felt as if layers of ice were melting on me. I did not know where to go, I just followed the path I could see, from so much trying to escape and not achieving it I entered a second air of courage, I slowed down and turned the horse, I stopped and watched, the sound was not there, Slow steps and looked around but nothing, what followed me had stopped, I took the foot of the step to get off but I remembered that I should not do it and put my foot back in its place. I resumed my way again and when I galloped slowly I was there, that sound was haunting me again. My attitude changed and rage took over me, I did not think twice and in a jump I got off the horse, immediately grabbed a piece of trunk that was on the ground and armed myself waiting for that something or someone to appear, surround the place looking around and turning my back on the horse I was holding the piece of trunk as if it were a baseball bat.

Source

When I passed right behind the horse I stumbled over something, I looked down and to my amazement what I saw made me feel stupidly happy, a branch full of leaves had embedded itself in the horse's horseshoe, that was the noise that made me run fear. I laughed at myself as I removed the "fearful" branch. I was still lost, as I said before I had left the course planned, but nothing was following me, I mounted the horse again and galloped on, again I left the moon on my right to continue on a fixed course although I did not know with certainty which. It took about 8 minutes and I saw a path in the distance in the distance, I followed it and soon after I hit the road, I realized that I had gone too far, even from the house, I rode 150 meters down the road and came to the destination. I tied the horse and entered, took the wallet that was on the table, drank some water and left. I sat in a chair to rest from the unexpected situation that had occurred, I lit a cigarette and looked into the darkness of the road, as if something else happened that so inopportune night of terror.

Source

A silhouette among the trees stared at me, it seemed, and I remember it as if it had been today, a man with a hat who saw me from a distance. I got up from the chair and already with some courage for what had happened to me I approached slowly this time without any weapon in my hands.

Source

Even far away I could realize that what I saw was just a tree that had been cut and in truth the top seemed a kind of hat, again I felt silly, I finished the cigarette I mounted the horse and followed the path on the way to the bar , this time without any kind of mishap, even when I was near I found my friends who were on their way to look for me because it had become strange that I had been late. When I arrived at the place I told them what had happened to me, I told them every detail and everyone laughed, even I, until the sun today we remember this anecdote and even cause us grace.

Source

At that time I realized that the mind is something powerful and fascinating, can control us and make us think or even see things that are in our subconscious, so it is very important to know how to control the thoughts and reactions that provoke a situation, in this way I explain how a series of coincidences can occur at the same time and can alter our reasoning.

This was my story and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed sharing this experience with you. Thanks for reading my post
Sort:  

History Very Good @rubertd

Thank you very much @rubertd for writing this story that I really enjoyed reading, and submitting it to SWC. I sent 14 STEEM directly to your account for your participation in the contest.

Wonderful history you managed to have the suspense until the end of your experience

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95