Abandoned Houses – Spirits Live In them – JerryBanfield’s SWC

I am glad that I saw in one of @jerrybanfield's post that the #Supernatural #Writing #Contest is going on indefinitely. I had wanted to join but I could not choose which topic because I have experienced quite a few. I even asked how many times can we join but I guess my question got lost in all the other comments. So I will write about abandoned houses. Because whether you believe it or not my house stands in between 2 abandoned houses. Good thing there are other house in front or across the street.

swc.jpg
So I hope my post will be seen by @jerrybanfield himself.

They say that once a house is abandoned, strange things begin to happen. Not right away but after a time that it has been abandoned. If you are facing my house, on the right there is a house. It is actually right next to mine. Our firewall separates us. We could even see across the windows into their living room. They had a piano and the kids would play it.

DSC05830.JPG
As you can see this picture was taken today. You can see the abandoned house next to the resto.

DSC05836.JPG
This was taken from across the bedroom window. You can see right across if the windows were open you could see the inside. Good thing that they are closed.

The people would live there are good people and actually we are related somehow. The father was a teacher until he became the head of a school in the barrio. His wife was just a plain housewife but a very good cook. They have 4 kids 3 sons and the youngest a girl.

To augment the salary of her husband she opened a small canteen and since her children went to the high school near our house, his classmates would eat their lunch there. I would also buy cooked food for me and my mom and my daughter when she was still here.

When the kids all grew up married and moved out, Manang (term for respect) Rebecca still cooked and even did some small catering. Even though her husband retired and was receiving a pension she still preferred to cook.

But the real owner of the house was actually a cousin of her husband. They even adopted one of Manang Rebecca and Manong Ferning’s son. Their 3rd because they were kind of hard up and their cousin had no more children in their house.

I do not know the real problem but I heard that they were asked to leave. But they were given time to find a place. Since their oldest son was already working as a nurse in the US and the son that was adopted they helped build a house in another part of the town.

Well to cut the story short, they left and took all their things. The real owners did not even bother to stay in the house.

After a month, I started to notice strange things and noises. Our bathroom has a window facing their house wherein you can hear almost everything. I would say maybe 5-8 meters away.

Before I would sleep late or past midnight. At first it was not so obvious, but when I would go to the bathroom I sometimes hear a baby cry. We did not have any babies yet in my house. I just ignored it. After a few days I asked my helper because they used to sleep downstairs if they heard it too. They were hesitant but they also said they would hear a baby cry or laugh. Then there were so many times when I would wake up after midnight to use the bathroom. While in there, I could smell pork barbecue and other foods. Manang Rebecca made the best pork barbecue. Other times I can smell fish frying. I guess the spirits wanted to keep up the canteen but only for themselves. When I saw Manang Rebecca a few months after and told her she just laughed and said, yes the little people and spirits are keeping the canteen open.

28082123_10155858305635280_950463955_o.jpg
Side view of the house, can not really get good pictures because of all the plants and trees that grew.

28125297_10155858305610280_1796167632_o.jpg
This area had a small canteen on it. It was demolished after a few years when they left. It just rotted down from the rains, storm, winds and sun. It's a shame because it used to be full of students because her prices were student prices.

Now Manang Rebecca in enjoying her life in the US with her son. Sad to say Manong Ferning died a few years ago. I guess he was not used to the cold weather. But their new house in the other part is not left alone. Her daughter come home to visit it along with her other son. She also makes sure she comes home too. But while they are not there she has some relatives staying there I guess she does not want the spirits to transfer there.

The house has been abandoned for almost 15 years now or more. The original owners have both died too so I wonder what will happen to it because their kids are also in the US.

DSC05832.JPG
This is my mother's ancestral house. It was called the White House.

Well the other house to the left is my mother’s ancestral house. My cousin and her family used to live there and take care of it. We had parties too. But suddenly middle of 2014 her husband had a stroke and they were forced to live in the city. Her daughters (3 left because the eldest is in New Zealand) also lived in the city and rents a house. So they left the house alone. They used to check up on it once a month and they had a young guy stay and clean up. But later they just left it alone. Such a shame because it is one of the original old houses left. Built I think sometime before World War 2, maybe 1930s. Too bad I can’t ask my mom because she does not remember.

So this house I can see from our dining room and kitchen part is covered by my boarding house.
After a few months of being empty a strange thing happened. While looking out my kitchen window I can see their balcony. The place where we would all gather because it was cool. I was surprised when I looked up from washing my hands I saw a little boy sitting on the ledge. I was about to shout a warning but then I realized nobody lived there. So I just looked at him. Then he looked up and saw me and smiled, so I gave a half smile. Then I left. I called my helper and asked her to look and see if the boy was still there. She said no one was there and it was kind of dark, well of course because I realized it was past 9pm.

DSC05826.JPG
This is the balcony I see outside the window from the kitchen. I just zoomed the camera but it is not that far.

DSC05827.JPG
This is how it looks with the grills from our kitchen window when you step back.

DSC05823.JPG
This is how it looks without the zoom. A few years ago there was not much leaves or branches so you could see clearly. You can see the ledge, he was sitting with his legs swinging on the outside over the small green roof. That is why I nearly shouted a warning.

DSC05834.JPG
DSC05835.JPG
It's a shame to see all the neglect. But what can I do? I can barely maintain my house too.

The next day I talked to my cousin who live on the other side of the house. She mentioned seeing a young boy on the other balcony at the back. I was surprised because I did not tell her what I saw. Comparing notes we both saw the same little boy, between 6-8 years of age. Wearing blue shorts, I saw striped t-shirt she said she could not really see the color but also a t-shirt.

We both knew it could not have been any relative because he was kind of fair, looks mestizo and hair sort of dark brown. We would see him a few more times, but then became less. Sometimes there would be a light in the middle of the house but would turn off after a while.

I told my cousin the brother of the one who used to stay there that they should repair it and have it blessed. He is a priest and when my cousin and I told him what we saw he would laugh, hmm I guess Priests do not believe in the supernatural.

DSC05833.JPG
If you can see the other house next to the trees that is my other cousin's house. in between there is another balcony.

DSC03667 - Copy.JPG
Hard to see because of all the wild plants and trees but there is the other balcony which can also be seen from my cousin's bathroom window. Hmm I just realized the strange things can be seen from bathroom windows.

bigstock-The-boy-sitting-on-the-stairs-106046384.jpg
SOURCE
I tried to search the internet and I saw this picture of a little boy. He could almost be the same boy except his t shirt was stripes and he wore slippers instead of sandals. Same kind of hair color and skin color, And he was smiling.

DSC05839.JPG
As you can see there is just a small distance between my house and the ancestral house. I can see inside the windows that fell during a storm. My boardinghouse is in between my house and the ancestral house, on the other side the new resto or food shop is in between.

The house has been abandoned for 3 ½ years now. But my other cousins who are financially well off are looking into repairing the ancestral home to its original look. So it will be one day regain it’s original name as the White House of Miagao. I hope they can and will repair it. One has a construction company and the other has and engineering company. Others from abroad will also probably send help.

Some people would be scared or nervous living between 2 abandoned houses but since there are a lot of people in my house and I have dogs too, it doesn’t bother me now.

Sometimes I can still get a whiff of pork barbecue and there would still be some dim lights flickering on the other side but I am used to it now.

My faith is still strong.

So this is my entry to @jerrybanfield's #SWC - supernatural writing contest.

PICTURES ARE ALL MINE

Our mentor @surpassinggoogle has been very supportive of our group (STEEMITDIVERSIFY) and other groups too. Please support him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.
Others that are good: @beanz, @teamsteem, @good-karma, @busy.org, @esteemapp, @hr1, @arcange @bayanihan, @acidyo, @anomadsoul, @steemitph, @henry-grant, @jerrybanfield and @paradise-found, also the many others who have visited My posts. Pls. support them too. Thank you very much.
I am grateful for that and for everyone who has helped me and my friends.

27398005_1752249324848451_1496616431_o-vert.jpg

Sort:  

Your Posts are golden.

Yeah. I think writing down might have its advantages as well as disadvantages too.

When writing, you might not really get to pit down everything in the head.
But then in a video or an audio, u can get to say everything that comes to the mind.
But currently, I do more of writing cuz I'm not all that pretty to appear on a video. Lol.

Thanks for sharing @ purpledaisy57

I wish @jerrybanfield will appreciate and vote this entry !!!

thank you maybe late but he said it is indefinite

What a tale! I hope @jerrybanfield reada this

but it is true

kinilabotan aq sa pics parang may nkita, aq

haha did you see the little boy??

Buti nalang madami kang kasama sa bahay

Nanindig balahibo ko maam!Kinilabotan ako.Katakot naman!

nakakapanindig balahibo naman po to.

Thank you very much @purpledaisy57 for writing this story and submitting it to SWC. In a way it's good that these spirits chose not to be in your house, but the abandoned ones! I sent 12 SBD directly to your account for your participation in the contest.

Thank you so much. I'm glad too even if I am in the middle the spirits would rather stay in abandoned houses. Hope to join more contest in the future

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95