My Ghost Story (SWC)

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago

Finally approved by Steemit! Then I saw this wonderful competition by @jerrybanfield and supported by @gmichelbkk. This is my very first post, btw, and I'm kinda nervous. Hope you guys enjoy reading it. To the story ~

My Ghost Story

home-3126362_640.jpg
image from Pixabay

If it's "Supernatural Experiences" that we talk about, then I had experienced it several times in my life since I was a kid. I don't know if it's called "sixth sense", but I can feel their presences (I thank God that I can't see "them" all the time!). Supernatural activities is quite common here in Asia, especially in South East Asia. In Indonesia, it's like a part in our lives. Although it doesn't occured that many, and will vary from person to person. But many of us, Indonesian, would likely at least had one in our lives. Maybe because we still believe in mystical things, magics, and those things that science still can't explained.

First Encounter - Pocong

My first experience was when I was about 6 or 7 years old, I remember that I'm still in an elementary school. I remember that day I wasn't picked up by my mother because of whatever reason. So I went home alone, walking, in midday (it is hot here). After walking about a kilometre to my home, I found no one except my maids at home. Still mad because of no one picked me up, I went upstair to my room. I threw my bags and went out again to watch some cartoons.

I laid down on a rattan sofa while still watching the cartoons and kids shows. It looks kinda like this, so you can see through what's inside of it.
kursirotan.net-sofa rotan indoor.jpg
image from kursirotan.net
I watched the cartoons and kids shows for about a couple hours, I was starting to get sleepy in the end. I feel weird, I was tired, but somehow I can't sleep. I kept changing my positions, but still doesn't feels right. Until I turned around and laying down facing the sofa. I was shocked, I can't move even just for a bit. I saw one of the most known type of ghost INSIDE my sofa! It's called Pocong.

I don't wanna shock anyone with it's picture. So, if you still wanna see what it's look like, please click the word as it attached to Google. (Disclaimer: Don't blame me if you can't sleep tonight!).

It's different than what the horror movies (in my country, of course) shows us. In real life it doesn't have a face. The place where it should be the face is pitchblack. The longer I saw it, the deeper it dragged me. Then I realize what I saw, and ran into my maids' room downstairs. What a first encounter, eh?!

And the funny part is, it was not the first horror story in my house. One of my maids told me, one day she saw a beheaded priest walking in the back alley of my house while carrying his head. My family moved out about a year later to smaller house not far from the spooky big house. Then, I knew it really was a haunted house. The new owner tried to renovate it and "cleansed" it only to find failure. It was left empty in the end.

Second Encounter - Spirit in Jelangkung Statue

The second experience was occurred when I was in 4th grade, elementary school. From the very first day, I already had a very very bad feeling about the classroom. It was because of a pair of statues. The statues looked like this, but flatter and taller.
88663-350x350.jpg
image from jnanacrafts

We had a unique seating procedure, we moved to the next seat every day. Our seat partner was always changing, so, we can get in touch with every single class mates, basically. I didn't have a problem with that, at all. My problem is, in the next couple of weeks my seat is going to be in front of those statues. One day, my friend told me that his brother and his friends did the Jelangkung ritual with those two statues! No wonder I feel strange with those things since day one!

For you who don't know Jelangkung is, it's a ritual to call a nearby spirit to communicate with them. It's a very dangerous ritual, even forbidden by our ancestors. It's just like using Ouija Board, but the medium is usually a statue.

My time's up. Finally I sat in front of those statues. I felt weird all day, I can't calm down, I was terrified. When I was starting to relaxed a little bit, I started to rocking my chair. Back and forth, back and forth, while watching the teacher speaking and explaining. Then a male voice spoke at the back of my head. "Watch out. You could fall". I was shocked as hell!!! I dropped my chair and turn around to see who was talking to me! No one, but the statues. Standing flat, as if nothing happened. I still can't forget that day, a spirit talk to me for the very first time.

The Second Encounter with Pocong

Yes, I saw it, not once, but TWICE, yet. Though, I thank God I haven't encountered Kuntilanak, yet. Hope I will never meet one in my life.

download.jpg
image from Kaskus

My second encounter with Pocong occurred when I was in high school. It was in the middle of the night when I was attending a preparation class to be a student council board member. Fortunately (or unfortunately), I led a group of seven girls. There were objectives to be accomplished in an hour time. Our first objective was to find a candle, and find the hiding seniors who have a lighter to light the candle up. My team was the first team to set off.

We were lucky enough to get the candle as soon as we walked out the door. Next problem, finding the lighter carrier. I had an intuition, the carrier location was near the council's room. We went there, and it was (of course) pitch black. My feeling was strong, I'm pretty sure that he was there, but I couldn't see him. Then I moved further to canteen area. Our seniors told us clearly before not to enter the canteen area (I believe it was because of mystical reason, even though they didn't tell). When I near the canteen area, I turned around. Remember, I led a group of girls. It really was not funny if we made a ruckus in the middle of the night because they saw a ghost, or even worst, one of them got possessed. So I led them back, better safe than sorry.

When we were looking for the carrier around the front lobby of our school, I still had the strong intuition that the carrier location was there in the pitchblack near the council's room. Maybe they hold their breath when we were there, so I can't feel their presence (oh yeah, I'm that sensitive). I told my group, that I want to check there once more. They were so scared because it was pitch black there. After arguing for a moment, suddenly my eyes couldn't keep to not looking at the far back. It was a stairway, locked so no one can go upstairs. I can't move my head, or maybe didn't wanna move it for some reasons. I kept looking at the stairs when my group still arguing where to find the lighter carrier. And I knew, something was there.

At first glance, there was nothing. I kept looking into it. Then suddenly a thin-smoke-like material rose from the third step of the stairs. It was very thin, but kept risen. Getting higher, and higher. Then it was widen, to form a figure. Words just left my mind. Holy crap! A Pocong showed up! Weirdly, I didn't panic, afraid, or terrified at all just like the last time I saw it. It was moving (well, more like wobbling) back and forth in its position as if it were saying "hi" and teasing me. What a timing, just when my group decided to go back.

I said that we should move forward. Well, of course, they were confused because I was the one who wanted to go back. I kept looking to the stairs for a bit just to make sure that it was still there, and I have to keep my group away from it. When I was checking, one of my friend asked me. "What are you looking?? Don't scare us!". Just before I was about to answer that, she took a look at where I was looking. "Perfect ... now, you see it", I was being sarcastic in my mind. Then, of course, she screamed. "Aaaaaghh! Naufal! What is that??!!". It didn't took long before the other girls joining the screaming parade.

I calmed them down, and when I looked to the stairway again, it was already gone. After a few minutes, they finally calmed down then we finally moved back to where my feeling was told me the lighter carrier was. And you know what? I was right from the very first time. He was there, sitting in the pitchblack near the council's room. The rest of the night went kinda well. Except for one thing. One of my female seniors got possessed that night when we were about to sleep. I wonder if it was "it" that possessed her. But, I digress. I had my night, let's call it a day.

End of story ~



There you go, a few of my experiences with spirits, or ghosts. I still have several supernatural story, but it will be too long if I write all of them at once here. I'll keep posting, so please follow me, as I will share about basically everything. From Life Lessons, Technology, Photography, Supernaturals, and many more from my point of few. I'm very glad that I can be a part of this emerging community.

I'm so sorry if my writing is bad. This is my very first time to post anything online. I haven't had any writing experience before, and English isn't my main language, so .. I'll try my best to keep improving.

Thank you so much for all of you. Thank you @jerrybanfield and @gmichelbkk. Because of this writing competition, I was urged to write as soon as I can. Thank you very much.

Sort:  

Congratulations @naufalazfer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72