My entry to supernatural writing contest(SWC) "Knocking death on Windows "

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians
This is my story of near death experience.

Before starting my story I want to tell you little background about my state. I am living in Jammu and kashmir. A state among the 29 states of India. The original geography of state is divided between India, Pakistan and China. Indian portion of state under the militancy since last twenty years.

I remember it was a month of December, cold night everything outside my home was like a white blanket, thick snow had covered every inch of the earth as long as one could see only the the white smooth carpet of snow was visible.

That night we had dinner around 8 'o' clock and the mom said go to your respective beds because the night was chilling. There was no provision of electricity, though there was a electric wiring outside house but for the purpose of birds, to sit and sing beautiful songs in early morning.

My age would have been around fourteen years at that time. Obliged to my mothers order I went to bed with a fire pot known as (Kangri) in our local kashmiri language. Kangri is even this time a universal heating avenues for any Kashmiri. After heating up my bedding, I put out the Kangri from my bedding and slept.
IMG_20180206_193610.png
During that nightaround 12'0'clock I got woken up by some cracking sound, it was like the breaking of snow. As I started to appreciate the character of sound it looked like the horses are running on ice. The voice slow increased its intensity and I would clearly appreciate the voice approaching towards our home. Within a seconds of time I was able to listen the vispers of some people. My heart started beating heavy, my ears were blocked and I was not in position to call anyone. Suddenly the crackling sounds and vispering words stopped, I had a little relief. To check the situation outside, I thought, I need to have a look outside but I could not made it for a minute or two. After two minutes I gathered my courages and made my mind to see outside, what is happening there.
Harsh winter and lack of modern amenities makes the people more innovative. Most of our house is made of wood and eighty percent of the window panes are also wooden only upper small portion is trans parent, the glass of it was also broken and it was covered by a transparent polythene.
As I stood from my bed, went towards the window,put my face against the polythene covered opening.
IMG_20180206_193551.png
'someone directly knocked the same window' I felt like I had a massive cardiac arrest. Felt by my back on my bed, my heart came to my mouth, heart beat was more than double and the breathing was becoming heavier and heavier.
Knocking intensity increased with every second, nobody to respond. Suddenly a voice appeared '
"open the door". No one answered.
"open the door or we'll break it".
Mom slowly opened door of my room, "are you OK" in feeble voice she said." Yes I do"
She took me my younger brother, he was eight years old and my younger sister, six years of age. All the four family members now in single room. Papa ware on duty, he used to come only on weekends.

Mom, "I am going to see what is happening" . I insisted that me too will accompany you. My younger brother was keeping the sister silent as she started crying, tears were falling like the water from tap from her eyes.
Mom and me went towards the door, mom turns towards the kids and made an expression, be silent for the sake of God.

We opened the door.
Mom towards strangers ; "who are you and what you want".
"let us come in" said one among the three heavily suited armed men, pushed me to side, and entered forcefully into our house. Three unknown men were in our home, one around fifteen to sixteen year kidand other two were around mid thirtees, with grown beard, long hairs, heavy shows and different types of guns and other ammunition, enough to kill half of the village.
Mom to strangers, "I have two small kids, they will die in fear, please leave my house".
"don't be afraid of us, we are friends" said the one with smile.
Another militant to my mom, "where is your husband".
Mom, "He is on work, he is not here, please leave our home"
The man with a heaviest gun turned towards me, "see my son, we are not animals, we are human don't be afraid of us. We need a night stay, we will leave early in morning.
Turned towards my mon," sister, would you like to provide us some water to the guests and some. Thing to warm up"
" yes, why not" in a state of fair, said my mom".
Jammu and kashmir is in a state of fear since last two decades, be it from rebel side, who want freedom or the state managed military. All men and women of my age have gone through this turmoil period. The period between 1995 - 2005 was worst hit. Not a single blub was glowing after 10 pm. The life was like an open jail and people were in unwalled jail. If you provide shelter to one side the others will kill you,though no one will be given shelter with respect but both will stay in any bodies house and will also command you to serve them. That is the power of gun.
IMG_20180206_193726.png
Comming to the story. Militants started to narrate their stories of achievements to me and Mom was making food for them. The younger two kids slept by the state of fear.
Mom provided the fire pot and hot water and some blankets to militants.
I told Mom" go and sleep with the children and also lock the door from inside, I will stay with them "
Me and two of the militant went to sleep and younger one among them was commanded to keep watch for Indians army.
After 3-4 hours there was a loud sound on loudspeaker"whoever is in the house, we have cordoned you from all side, comeout with hands up without any ammunition. There is no hope to escape, you must either surrender or die, there is no wayout"

Mom is crying, me, other younger brother and sister is also crying. The death is waiting in house as well as outside. We were hostages in our own home.

Mom said the militants "please let my children go out. I don't want to see my children die in front of me"
One of the militant said, "either we all will survive or we all will die. No body will leave the house".
The loudspeaker again "you have ten minutes to decide and let the housemates free".
We all were in a state of shock. Suddenly the loud speaker echoed again. "I am the head of this village, please surrender and let the household free".

Militants were not any mood of negotiation. They told my mother that they had left their home to die and they will not negotiate for their freedom struggle but they have kept us hostage only because they need some time to strategise the escape. They said no body will die because of the us( militants).
What happened in next minute was unbelievable. A motor was fired off target and a huge sound of blast echoed. Everybody in house start crying and praying. There was nothing do except wait to die.
Then the younger one among militants speak first time.
"What are there sins, why should they die with us. Let them go".
The others gazed at him, as they sensed death with our release. That start talking with each other. The commanding one said to my mother, shout as high pitch as you can that we households are Comming out please don't fire upon us. She did the same.
Loudspeaker echoed again, "come out you will be safe".
These whole events unfolded in the dark shade of night under the extreme chills which perhaps no body sensed during full night.
With the rise of dawn under fear of death. Mother holding sister in her lap, me and my younger brother stretched our hands up open the door. Every stony heap which can prevent the bullet to cross was hiding a soldier and every gun pointing towards us.
We were lucky that day, not a single bullet was fired that hardly possible in such situation till we landed a safe place.
The after story is in the following pictures.....

Screenshot_2018-02-06-19-38-38-289_com.android.browser.png

IMG_20180206_193517.pngIMG_20180206_193644.png

I still don't believe was it a dream or I have faced it in my life. I rest my numb words here.

Hope you like it.

Sort:  

The last portion of the story was deliberately not explaine because it may lead me into the legal trouble. If anyone is interested I can share the remaining portion with incryption....

250% upvoted Thanks!

Thank you very much @muzi0202 for writing this amazing story and submitting it to SWC. This experience must have been frightening and I can't imagine myself living it. I sent 12 STEEM directly to your account for your participation in the contest.

Highly appreciated, thanks for choosing my story for a reward, overwhelmed by your sweet gasture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29