I DIED HUNDRED DEATHS

I DIED A HUNDRED DEATHS
(Note: I’m the new kid on the block (chain) and posted a similar post last week before I discovered the supernatural writing contest. I hope this re-posting is ok.)

Perhaps it is the fact that I have a strong placement of Scorpio in my astrological natal chart (Scorpio is the sign of “earth magic” as I call it) that opens me to all sorts of unusual experiences. As an astrologer I have found that those with this configuration in their charts frequently make great astrologers, tarot card readers, shamans, energy healers, Reiki Masters, and mediums, among other things. What gifts do I have? I am an intuitive astrologer, I’ve conversed with and seen those who have passed to the other side, I’ve had visions and dreams of past lives and I’ve had realms of the spirit opened to me during meditation that one would expect from drinking ayahuasca or using peyote...these kind of things. But I consider the month long period of time I experienced death over a hundred times as one of the most remarkable experiences of my life.

It began about 18 months ago as I lay in bed waiting for sleep to overtake me that I
experienced death the first time. I was not yet asleep, but rather in that twilight stage right before sleep where consciousness is drifting, when the mind is relinquishing its dominion to other realms, and the physical body is slowly giving itself over to slumber. It is in this place that strange things happen, where bumps in the night and spirits in the room become tangible. However, I must say my death/visions were quite “real” in a most remarkable way. They were much more powerful than what my mind could dredge up in that near-sleep state.

I recall the first death very clearly. I found myself on an ancient battlefield amidst massive chaos and the overwhelming cacophony of sound of hand-to-hand combat with swords, spears and maces. And then I was run through the gut with a sword. The raving gore-covered man who slew me pulled the sword out with a practiced twist and trampled over me to his next opponent. I was stunned, shocked, and utterly and absolutely overwhelmed with knowing I was a dead man as I clutched my leaking gut with blood drenched hands. I died and then I bolted upright in my bed, eyes bulging, gasping for breath, trying to come back to the reality of my room and surroundings. “God”, I exclaimed, “Oh, my God!”. I sat there for some minutes reliving the vision in my mind. I had never had anything like that happen in any dream. It was so absolutely real.

Finally, I lay back down and slowly drifted off toward sleep once more. And then I died again, but this time it was another death. I can’t recall the nature of this death simply because it was one of many yet to come. But once more I experienced death as if it was actually happening. I felt the extreme emotions one may feel at death’s door. I experienced the horror and helplessness one might feel from sudden violent death. The mental and emotional anguish was an eruption of overwhelming and immediate sensations I’d never experienced before. The physical sensations usually were diminished compared to the emotional and mental shattering of consciousness but at times, like when I was burnt to death, they too, were overwhelming.

That first night I died three times, and each time I bolted upright in my bed, gasping, disoriented, traumatized and stunned. After the third death, I slept. The next night, not expecting anything unusual, I went to bed an innocent lamb to the slaughter (really). I don’t recall having any anxiety or concern that the vivid experiences of the previous night would return. But they did. Again three times exactly as the night before. However, the nature of the deaths was different. And like the first three deaths I woke stunned and amazed. This unusual process continued to occur on a nightly basis for about 40 nights.

Once I realized these “deaths” were going to be a nightly routine I almost looked forward to it. It was so novel and amazingly real that I found myself anticipating bedtime, wondering what deaths I would experience next. Frankly, I cannot recall all of the deaths but here are some: I died in a burning building, I died from drowning, once in a sailing ship during a storm on the ocean, another time in a river. I died during the Black Plague of the middle ages in Europe from the bubonic plague and experienced the despair of rotting flesh, erupting buboes full of blood and pus, and raging fever and fear. I died several times on the battlefield (a couple of times being decapitated). I was tortured to death (this was a particularly nasty death). One of the most horrifying deaths was to be attacked by a shark. Being torn apart by some beast as it ripped it’s teeth into my face was, of course, beyond horrifying. I was crushed and broken upon a field beneath stones I was moving as a slave (I’m assuming I was a slave). I starved. I froze. I bled. I rotted. Oh, and naturally I was hung by the neck until dead.

Finally, after an unbroken string of deaths, three times a night, for over a month I was totally weary of it. I could do no more. I was emotionally and physically exhausted. So on the last night, after the first dream/vision I called out to whatever spiritual force was bringing this macabre parade to me, “That’s enough! I’ve had enough! No more!”. And it stopped, never to return.

I began pondering this bizarre chain of deaths and wondered what the purpose was. At first my attention, when contemplating these deaths, was upon the actual experience that caused death, but then I realized there was a thread of experience I had overlooked. Each time I died I did not die! Yes, the physical body was dead but the spirit or soul essence still lived. In the dreams/visions, before I bolted upright in bed, I was still “alive”. Death, obviously, caused extreme duress but once the threshold of death was crossed I yet lived. There was no interruption of life at all. Dieing was as simple as a blink of an eye. One hundred times I crossed over to the other side. Perhaps this was the message I was meant to receive: there is no death. Life, consciousness, is constant and continuous.

I also pondered if these deaths were mine from other lifetimes or if they were deaths experienced by ancestors or if they were, perhaps, a sampling of deaths humans experience. I think, frankly, they were mine from other lifetimes. That makes the most sense to me. Of course, having gone through this I gained a great appreciation for the utter vulnerability and unspeakable suffering one might experience while dying. I definitely have gained a greater compassion for those who die in extreme conditions. Another interesting thing has occurred: the natural fear of death I once had is virtually gone. I know my spirit will yet live. Death is a piece of cake, as simple as the next breath.

I had never heard of anyone having this kind of experience but figured surely others had. Months later, while reading The Wise Heart, an exceptional book of Buddhist psychology by Jack Kornfield, the prolific and profound Buddhist author and teacher, I found a simple passage where he shared that he too had the experience of dying numerous times.

I’m including a poem I’ve written that is appropriate to the subject:

FABRIC

I sense a gentle fabric
Stretching from the distant past
Upon which is woven
So many of my names,
Poet, Priest, Warrior, Fool…

And the Great I AM
Tells me, my eyes,
Have never closed.

Perhaps death then,
Is simply
A gossamer veil
I will brush through
One more time.

Sort:  

Thank you very much @mistermercury for writing this amazing story and submitting it to SWC. This was very interesting to read and I can't imagine making an horrific dream like this every night. I sent 15 STEEM directly to your account for your participation in the contest.

Thank you @gmichelbkk for your kind comments. I do appreciate the STEEM too! It was a very strange experience, but since I was a kid I've had all sorts of things like this happen. An astrologer would say it, this odd atunement, comes from Pisces and Scorpio. Finally about 10 years ago I got to thinking that I was rather , umm...different. So I wrote down all the things that I could recall that were of a similar nature as this series of dreams and came up with 53 individual "events", but some of these were not just singular events but were entire categories. So perhaps in another age, with the right training, I'd have been a shaman or something. Now, I'm just a curiosity that writes poetry. Well.... no one is "just" a curiosity. Anyway, thanks for the support. I appreciate it.

This would have been more enjoyable to dream of all the women you have loved in your past lives!

Wow this is really powerful. Did @jerrybanfield see this. It looks like it maybe didn't get into the list of entries. I would almost consider posting this one more time if you are up for it. I got goose bumps and teared when you finally said I've had enough and the death dreams stopped. This is some powerful magic for sure. If you would be willing I would love it if you could do an astrology reading for me? I know most of my chart but in general interpretations vary. Let me know if you would be willing. My birthdate, place and time is October 13 1986 Anchorage AK 9:21AM. Did you read the story, "Remembering Me" by @blanca237 ? Definitely another of my favorites. She encounters past selves from Atlantis and Lemuria, other races from other stars, all her soul from different times. So amazing. Anyway thanks for linking me to this story. You have quite the emotional stamina to remember and experience so many deaths!

I can't resist! I love "looking" at other people's lives through the lens of astrology. I'll get back to you about a reading, and I'll take a look at "Remembering Me". Thanks for your interaction.Love it.

Just ran your chart. OH MY! You are among the gifted of spirit. A very strong placement of Scorpio (earth magic in all its forms), and then you have a strong placement of the Moon in Pisces... which gives one a powerful desire to experience the divine ONENESS of all things. March to your own drummer in spiritual path. Libra Sun and Libra rising. Yes, the commitment to Nature and her critters are strong. Penetrating mind. May have difficulty making decisions. You probably make lists and weigh things in your mind over and over. Very sensitive of course. You like learning about things others might consider weird or unusual. You have a gift for understanding the "other" realm of energy. Sun in the 12th. This life is a test somewhat... a test to see if you have made the cut, if you are truly ready for greater spiritual path... perhaps enlightenment or some gift you'll use. Your gift will have something to do with communication, either written or spoken, or teaching/coaching. Well, let me meditate about a reading. I've recently retired from doing readings... focusing on writing both here and on other projects.

Thank you so much. If you decide not to I'm ok but I appreciate your astrology reading. I was under the impression my rising was a Libra Scorpio cusp but if not I realize why hawk and eagle are both animals in my animal medicine bag. I am indeed sensitive. I can often feel peoples ailments or chakra imbalances by looking into their eyes. It can be a struggle to figure out how to be in social settings. Properly grounding and setting up my protective intentions is key. This life being a test makes a lot of sense for me. Thank you for this.

Most recently I had a very powerful dream testing my current relationship, my current choices, and even a demon came I had to call on the archangels to protect myself from. It was very interesting, emotionally unsettling and thought provoking. Thank you for your insight. It makes things more clear for me.

What i gave you above is definitely not a reading. Usually a full reading takes about 1.5 hours or more with about 25 pages of written material. I'd be happy to visit with you by Skype over the phone at no charge. You can return the favor sometime in the future when you're a whale and I'm still a bitty minnow!
But these dreams of yours are most likely related to Scorpio. Anyway, let me know. You can expect some powerful transformation in your current relationship, either an ending or significant changes that will make it better for you. Too bad the shaman you spoke of is ill. If she recovers you may want to ask her to mentor you. With your powerful Pisces Moon and 1st house Scorpio with Mercury you'd be well served to have a mentor so you could develop your gift. You have Pluto in the 1st in Scorpio too which definitely adds a powerful dimension. Pluto in the 1st, especially in Scorpio is a very challenging position. In this lifetime you will be required to absolutely change what you might have been in another lifetime, and you may go through a identity crises up until the age of 25 or so, but some with the placement you have are challenged with identity their entire lives. When you add the Pisces Moon on top of this finding your truest self usually takes some concerted effort. However, once you do the spiritual gifts can be quite profound. One of the challenges of these type of placements is that your psyche can be blown wide open by dreams, visions, visitations, spirits, etc. This is why I strongly encourage you to be mentored and trained. In ancient times one like you would have begun training as a child. Unfortunately we don't do that anymore. You'd have been a druid priestess, or a shaman or a seer or something. Anyway, let me know what you would like to do for a reading. I'm pretty flexible. Oh, and right now for another 5 months or so all things Scorpio are reallly amped up. Expect it. Oh, and the other thing: when you are so profoundly Scorpio it does open you to the spirit realm and just like here in "reality" there are both good spirits and bad, and like you shared you were visited by an evil one. but it sounds like you have some means of protecting yourself.

Yes definitely been working on it calling in my protection. The spiritual realm can be a very confusing and complicated realm but it has opened up to me in a different way. The Shaman healer Ana is feeling well again so that is a relief. Thank you for many of these affirmations! I really appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66239.71
ETH 3448.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61