Phoenix Design Contest! - my entrysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago

Hi steemians, this is my entry for the phoenix design contest. I thought it would be a good challenge to practice new effects on the gimp software.

phonix.png

I liked this image below and decided to use something similar to the outline of this.
phoenix 2.png
The G'MIC filter with the gradient allowed me to get an outline of this image.
phoenix 3.png
I created a new layer. Applied a gaussian blur on it and changed the colour levels to an orange. I also put the layer mode on screen.
phoenix 4.png

I chose this image of fire as I thought it would work well with this piece.
phoenix 6.png

Using the IWarp tool i was able to mold the shape of the fire to fit the piece. I added another fire image with slightly lower opacity and rotated on top of this to make it more realistic.
phoenix 7.png

I then used the speck brush with different settings to create the illusion of sparks from the fire. I then adjusted a few settings to produce the final piece.
phoenix.png

It took about 2 hours to do and it was a good learning experience. I really like the strong colors around the wings and the beauty of the creature.

Hope you liked this piece!

Follow @iansart

phoenixtshirt.png

Sort:  

Ian I love it and appreciate you being one of the first to submit for the contest! Would you join Airtable at https://airtable.com/invite/r/qGLfO5Yn because I get a $10 credit when you join and if you tell me the name you use to join I can invite you to work together on this and any future projects?

Thanks, i've joined airtable under the name Ian and would love to work with you on future projects. :)

Thank you Ian I just invited you to the spreadsheet where you can upload the final design and collaborate with me on future projects! Would you make the design on a transparent background because that will allow me to put it on more colors?

I have uploaded the design with a transparent background, hopefully you have received it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87