"Walking, Walking the Virgin is with you" - @jerrybanfield Supernatural Writing Contest – SWC

in #jerrybanfield7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians, today I bring to you a collection of small stories that have happened to me in this little story we call life, these events probably have to do with how my character is forged and thanks to the SWC of @JerryBanfield you will be able to meet them.  

The story begins when I was just a boy, I was 7 years old and I was in the fourth grade of primary school, difficult to remember, but according to stories of my older brothers the blow to my parents was very hard because suddenly without any reason and without no apparent blow "forget" to walk, my fragile legs could not bear my weight and for a whole year I did not study and the hope of walking again for my parents was complicated. 

I attended therapies and the recommendation of the doctors was always to continue trying, I know that all that is blurred in my mind, but there is something that despite only having 7 years does not leave my mind, the voice of my grandfather praying for me while trying to walk holding the wall: 

"Walking, walking that the virgin is accompanying you", I do not remember anymore, I do not know what happened, nor how many times my parents and grandparents repeated that, but that phrase has been with me throughout my life. 

He spent a whole year according to the family story and miraculously regained my "ability" to walk (if you can call it that), but only two years after that my grandfather passed away, his smile, his face, his smell and his physical I could forget it, but I remember that when I left I felt that phrase would accompany my way, for a child of only 9 years a grandfather is a fundamental part of his development more if he lives next to him so every word he told me I should treasure it in my subconscious, but this phrase without a doubt is in the front of my consciousness at the end of the day between therapies and faith was that I could achieve my recovery. 

I continue my growth and as a child I became a teenager, later a man, and that's how my first marriage came, Marina, a physically beautiful woman with good feelings, but with a character that not many could cope with, two years passed and after multiple fights arrived the separation. 

It is worth mentioning that during my marriage I was at the peak of my career in a major company in the country, I founded my own company and everything seemed to be on the rise, but the divorce took everything and the only thing that remained was an apartment in which I was rented, only with problems of alcoholism and an anxiety that only made me light one cigarette after another. 

My weight was gone, my self-esteem went away and just as my success and my marriage were all gone, I remember one night immersed in the depression in which I had barely eaten, it would have taken about eight hours and I lit the umpteenth cigarette, I look out the window and something happened that marked a before and after my life. 

My building was very close to the adjoining building, there was not a single light and the clock probably marked one thousand and five hundred in the morning, I was the only one awake on the floor, in the street, maybe even in the city and I remember crying asking God help me because my path could not continue in that way, close to alcoholism, without work, without a wife and without anything that would give me the strength to live. 

On the front wall only my silhouette was marked and even the smoke of my cigarette, but in that moment between tears I saw a shadow that happened right behind me, it was something fleeting, but I know that anyone would have scared, I for my part I did not feel panic, fear or anything similar, instead I felt peace and strength, so much so that I do not know if it was the product of my subconscious that added something to another thing or happened, but I clearly remember the "walking, walking that the virgin going with you". 

Maybe it was nothing, maybe it was all product of my imagination, but I do not believe in coincidences and although this time I did not need to "walk" literally, I needed to move forward, step forward and continue with my life. 

I went to sleep and the next morning I woke up with optimism, faith and strength that maybe a deity that accompanies us or the spirit of my ancestors was giving me, I left the apartment and returned to my mother's house. 

I remember that moment and I can only think that such fragility and vulnerability I have never seen in another person and although I do not usually regret the things that have happened in my path I can only thank God that this episode was in the past. 

Today four years have passed since that episode and I know I cannot allow myself to decline because "The Virgin will always be with me", I have a person who loves me by my side, my family who accompanies me in the good times and the bad, a life free of vices (after that time I only drink alcohol occasionally) I do not smoke and a faith that accompanies me in every step I take. 

Today I know that from heaven they guide me, take care of me, accompany me and never let me faint again, from that episode I learned that you can never allow yourself to fall to the bottom because life is a roller coaster of situations that you just have to know how to cope, enjoy the climbs and learn in the descents. I learned that perhaps I am touched by God and that my grandfather was perhaps an angel who came here to take care of me and to teach me the good and the bad from the earth and from heaven. 

I know that on that occasion I was on the edge of the abyss and because of my fragility and the cluster of situations I was perhaps about to abandon this race called "Life", but a timely phrase saved me and today I am a new man. 

I hope you liked my work. Thanks for passing.

          

Sort:  

Wow greate article!
You just got a 14.29% upvote from @postdoctor!
Thanks for using the @postdoctor service!

You got a 1.33% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @gizechluy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59193.30
ETH 2532.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47