Supernatural Encounter - Supernatural writing contest (SWC)

in #jerrybanfield7 years ago (edited)

The last scolding of my father

One thing that is inevitable in life and that everyone at a given moment we have to face the death of some of our parents. This even though it is the most natural thing in life, nobody prepares us for that, it causes us an immense pain that only time can mitigate, pain calms, but never forgets, for more words of encouragement and support that we receive, Grief is a process that only time can handle.


source

This painful moment, came to me one day, unexpectedly. When I got older I went to live in another city, where I finished my studies at the university and I graduated, I am the son of separated parents so Dad lived alone in another city.
Many times my uncles and my brothers asked me to go to visit dad, because I was alone, far away in another city, something I refused, I was afraid to visit my old childhood home, and above all, my relationship with my father it was always dysfunctional. Even though he loved me, he was a very stern man, he was constantly yelling and his strong voice made me very nervous. He applied severe punishments to me, so I always refused to visit him, however, he used to come to visit the city where I live, where also lives an aunt who is his sister.

In one of his visits my father was ill, his health deteriorated rapidly, he was fighting for several years against cancer, which in my distant world I thought I had overcome.
One night I went to dinner at my aunt's house, my father's sister, he and several relatives would be there, during dinner, my father collapsed on the table, for a moment we thought it was a heart attack or something similar, what immediately we take to the hospital.


source

When the first aid was applied, I recovered the knowledge, but the doctors insisted that I should be hospitalized; I still remember that moment, when on a stretcher with an oxygen tank on my back, the stretcher-bearer took my father out of the first aid room and they would take him to hospital, I never thought that turning in that corner would be the last time in my life that I would see my father conscious and alive.
They were days of struggle and pressure until my father finally died, one of the most painful moments of my life had come just like that.
We made the funeral arrangements to move the body to its city of origin to bury it, that would be the last trip of my father on that road that for years crossed to come to visit the family where I lived.
I moved with the rest of the family to the city where my father lived, for his funeral. I had to face returning to my father's old house, so many times I avoided it and now I was forced to be there, everything was dusty as if no one had lived there for a long time, my father living alone did not bother to buy new furniture and not by exaggerated cleaning, so the house had an aspect of being abandoned.

There was nothing to do that day, the funeral was in process and dad, I would be buried the next day, so I returned to his old house, try to get comfortable and rest for a while. During the night, there was a moment where I felt as if someone had sat next to me on the sofa, I was on my back, and for a moment I felt that someone had entered the room that was occupying momentarily, had placed a hand on my shoulder, I thought it would be an aunt as a gesture of support to find myself asleep, or one of my brothers. I decided to turn around to see who it was, to my surprise there was no one in the room. It was quite curious, although it seemed strange to me at once to look for a rational explanation, I thought maybe it was part of a dream of those that you have when you are asleep and awake or also that I was very sensitive due to the stress of the previous days I had not slept well. I decided not to dwell on the matter and continue resting.

The next day was the funeral procession, we took the body to the cemetery to bury him. So I gave my father a last goodbye. After the funeral I returned to the old house, I was in the room that my father had occupied for many years, I was there reflecting immersed in my thoughts, when suddenly the shop window door opened by itself, I stared at it for a while. moment, until I got up and saw inside the window, inside was an envelope as strategically placed, I thought it was a letter or maybe more probably exams from my father. When I opened the envelope my surprise was that there was money in it, I knew that the money could only be from my father, even though when he had died I felt bad about taking the money, so I took the envelope and showed it to my parents. Uncles, they were surprised because the day before they had organized the things of Pope, and nobody had seen the envelope. They all agreed that I would keep that money, because the fact that only I had found it was a sign that that envelope was left there for me.

That night, more family members had arrived because of the burial of the Pope, so the house was full, leaving space for another family member to sleep more comfortably. Instead I went to the house of my father's old neighbors, they were very nice people offering me a home in their house when I saw how many people had arrived.
Anyway, accept the hospitality of the neighbors and stay at home, I was offered a room only on the top floor of his house, as his children had all moved had a whole floor at my disposal, I was placed in a small room without a bathroom, it had been a very exhausting day, so I just wanted to take a shower and go to bed, when I entered the room when I turned on the light the bulb burned, so I used the glow of the TV to light up, just I would spend a single night in that place so I did not want to bother with a detail like that of the burned out light bulb.
I arranged for my things and went to the bathroom that was at the end of the hall, took a shower, when I returned it caught my attention as the window that was closed with insurance was shaking a little as if there were wind outside, I approached a little to look, when suddenly the window opened as if pushed by the wind, I felt like a cold breeze that I wear, the most curious thing is that when I looked outside everything was calm, there was no strong breeze, the trees were calm as if not even the slightest current of air stirred its leaves.

I closed the window and went quickly to the room. The atmosphere was a little colder than I remembered, I lay on the bed, I was watching TV for a while, until I decided to turn off the television.
Being in total darkness I began to hear how the bags that I had brought with me creaked as if someone was breaking through, I felt as if I had been thrown a ball of paper that bounced on my head, and as if they were lifting my bag to throw it again against the floor, that situation made me really nervous, so I quickly tried to light the place with the light of my cell phone, as I could quickly turned on the TV to have clarity.
The scene was very strange, the bags that I had brought with me were out of place, my purse was on one side as if it had been kicked, and there was a paper on the bed as if someone had torn it out and thrown it at me, It was something very strange, that night I could not get to sleep, I stayed up all night near the glow of the television.
Early in the morning I went down, I appreciated the hospitality of the neighbors and I left the place, I did not comment to those people about what had happened in the room that night.
Back home, some time later, I told my curious experience to an aunt who was my father's sister, the one who told me that, it pampered me terribly that I bothered any neighbor, that he was such a reserved man that He did not like or ask or bother anyone, that maybe, that strange fact happened because I stayed at the house of some neighbors being so close to his house, that surely, he had taught me that way.
To what I reflect that, if my father was so severe with me in life, maybe after her, I would still be a severe and straight man, so I decided to take that very strange experience as my father's last scolding.

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from @nicestbot. I am an automated curation bot trying to make minnows happy.

Thank you very much @gene20 for writing this strange story and submitting it to SWC. I sent a bid to a bot for your upvote.

Thanks friend @gmichelbkk, for reading my story, I'll be waiting for the other contests I love ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69