My experience with the childhood monster (SWC)

in #jerrybanfield7 years ago

MONSTER.jpg
Growing up as a child was scary and was such a burden I never wish to bear twice. I really hated the experience of childhood and most times I feel I could just totally erase the memory off my head but who does that anyways? I see this annoying past playing out almost daily like a theme song in one of those horror trailers. I was counseled by my therapist recently to resort to repression and motivated forgetting. That worked for a while until I read @Jerrybanfield’s post, oops, guess I won’t have a relapse after this.
I was 6 years then that morning when my dad came into the room to wake me, this is when I can recall and will really start talking about my horror life while growing up. It was about 6am in the morning, I came outside feeling very sound and hearty. While mum was preparing for me to bath, I went back inside to sleep because maybe I didn’t feel like going to school that day, just thinking though. When I went back to bed, I had a trance where I was in the mist of my senior friends that were playing football and I begged them to allow me join them but a man that was standing by inspecting them play asked me to shut-up because he will personally make sure that I won’t be part of the game.
True to what he said, he didn’t allow me to play, while they were still playing, one of them kicked the ball into a nearby pit (I never observed the pit until they kicked the ball inside it), surprisingly, the man that was inspecting them yelled at me to quickly jump inside the pit and get the ball for the boys.
Since I was the smallest there and mum taught me to always be obedience to my elders so I jumped into the pit to pick the ball. Landing inside the pit was another story because I had a fracture and could not walk anymore, I begged them to help me out but the all refused to help me. Suddenly, I was awake maybe because of the pat my mum gave me because I was almost late to school, to her surprise; her son that came outside some minutes ago was crying that he could not walk anymore.
The pain I sustained from the fracture in the dream affected and stayed for days, this made me stopped going to school for weeks, mum had to do series of prayers, taking me from one hospital to another until the pain finally stopped and I was able to walk again, though I can’t really recall when the pain ended maybe because I was too carried away to recall or because I was very young to notice the time it stopped, but it ended anyways.
We were so excited when I could walk well but unfortunately, the excitement didn’t last for more than a week when a more dangerous than the pain started.
Every night for me was without sleep which is an exact opposite for other people. I was having nightmares of this monster man than made me break my legs in the pit beating me up, pursuing me, strangling me etc. Because of this recurrent nightmare, I was always dreading the night season, for me, I never wanted night to come because I wanted a situation that I can escape the usual night experience. I would scream in my sleep till my parents and the whole family will not be able to sleep again for the night.
What I was never aware of was the exact time the monsters do leave me to sleep but I knew that I was always sleeping in the morning. Everybody in the family became afraid of the night because they just knew that I will always end the sleep half-way. Some of my siblings started suspecting me to be part of a dark kingdom they didn’t understand, even my mummy was afraid for me but she couldn’t throw in the towel because she gave birth to me and she believed I would be fine someday.
My parent became so committed to finding a lasting solution to my deadly state, this lead them to numerous prayer meetings and they didn’t joke with any instruction the spiritual leaders would give concerning me. I became an epitome of mockery and dismay. I wouldn’t need to say that I became a desolation amongst my peers, even the ones that didn’t discriminate against me got some ill treatment from me because I felt that I wasn’t a normal being like every other persons.
At some point, this experience became more interesting because I started fighting this monstrous man in my dream. I would so fight till I will be grasping for breath because he was always stronger than me. When I felt that I may die if I continue then I would start growing wings and I will fly and escape for my dear life. This lasted for a while until I started becoming sick (Physically sick), and this sickness was mostly malaria that drugs could not handle. I would go sick every week, this raised many questions till that some people started mocking my mother that she gave birth to a sickle cell child, they said all this things out of their level of ignorance because my genotype is AA while my blood group is 0+, I wondered how I could be a sickle cell with my genotype and blood group combination.
I would see the man appear in my room, he would appear to me everywhere I run to. His face always popup but when I scream and point my finger so my parents and siblings could see him, they will laugh as if I was a jester. Because of the horrible childhood, my room had to quit her job to be with me at home, she won’t even step up of the building if I am sick. Because of this closeness, my mum has become the closest person in my life even till date.
I learned how to pray very passionately and fervently at a tender age of 7 because I was told that the only thing that will help me overcome the monster was God so for me to get to God then I must not stay without praying. No wonder I have grown to love praying that some friends call me “Uncle Prayer”
That glorious day when a new pastor was transferred to The Apostolic Church branch were my mum was a committed member was the beginning of a life of freedom for me. I was 13 years old then when the clergy prayed for me and commanded the beast out, never to come back again.
I had since then become a normal person that enjoys the life of freedom that I was envying from a distance.
I want to thank @Jerrybandfield for this opportunity to tell my life story but I will not forget to list some of the things my experience with the monster taught me;
• I learnt to confront my enemies notwithstanding their look.
• I learnt how to believe God because I knew if he rescued me from the attack of the monster then I can rescue me from other challenging situations.
• I learnt how to pray and become devoted to daily prayer.
• I built an unquenchable bond with my mother.

Photo credit @pixabay

Sort:  

Thank you very much @geekis for writing this story about your nightmares as a kid, and submitting it to SWC. I understand why you would have preferred to forget them! I sent 12 STEEM directly to your account for your participation in the contest.

Thank you @gmichelbkk. I am grateful to you, @jerrybanfield and his team. I will never forget this gesture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48