Guardian Spirit - My entry for Jerrybanfield Supernatural contest

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago (edited)

Truth be told, I am( or should I say i was) the someone who NEVER believed in the events of other realms or in the occurence of supernatural /mystic powers even though i grew up in an area where it's existence has never been doubted... I will just shoot and share my story which has really shaken my belief now...

This brief moment happened in 2013, around the month of August. The Location was my hometown which is located in Imo State of Nigeria.
To create a perfect hindsight for anyone reading this, let me give a basic introduction of myself to you as at 2013.
I am Ezinwa Ubochi (in English means Goodchild Day), I was juat a fresh graduate from the Secondary School who had just secured Admission to study medicine and surgery at the University of PortHarcourt.
I am the last child in a Family of five with both parents still alive and very much involved in our affairs.
I recently lost both grandparents on the fathers' side of the extended family

So having just secured admission, I decided to go spend some time with my extended family at my hometown alone. I travelled on a Tuesday but I had a kind of a nightmare on the Monday night in which I saw my late cousin appear to discourage me from travelling to the village but the reason was kind of silly because he said "There was no food".
I woke up and laughed it off, parked my bags and off i took the 3hrs journey to my beloved hometown. My Dad was so proud of me for remembering home that he allowed me take the SUV for the travel who kind of shot my happy mood overboard.

I arrived home 'spick and span' with everyone so happy to see me and i set off to fulfill the african tradition of respect which succinctly means Having to greet everyone who is your elder by going to their houses most times with tokens or gifts and in doing so, you receive more blessings from their Prayers. I met everyone and was most happy to meet my age grade cousins who I know must make my stay in the village worthwhile especially David.

The Night reached and i must confess that i had one the best sleeps i could have had then and i woke up in the morning hours playing my favourite Rnb playlist. I set out for hunting that morning and caught a grasscutter with which me and my Aunts around prepared a local delicacy.

My fun moment actually started on the decline route when my Cousin David suddenly asked me if anybody told me there was no food at home before I came back. I was shocked! Because i never discussed my dream with anyone (even my mind).
I wanted to wave it aside untill he told me that a voice which sounded like our late cousin was repeated informing him of me being stubborn and obstinate. He said he did see the person in his dream but he could recognise the voice and that when he woke up, he felt like someone just left his room. I sensed fear in me but being me, i shrug it off as one of the coincidence in life.

The next night arrived and i could not sleep, images kept playing in my head of different people who were all dead. For several house, this continued and when i finally slept off around 3am, i could barely enjoy my sleep. I woke up in the morning feeling quite sick and heavy and also noticed that my bed was soaked with sweat. This phenomenon i could not explain beacuse the air conditioner was on through the night and was literally blowing ice. The emotions were heightened and I concealed this events to myself.
I went out that day and did normal routines like swimming and hunting around the village. I also visited some local designers of fabrics and utensils because i learnt that craft. But doing my visit to one of the craftsmen who taught my Dad his own craft (most men in the village get to learn one craft as a means of maturing into adulthood ), he saw me and became sad. This was unlike him because a man of about 86 years was usually jovial and more importantly happy whenever they saw us their kids around. He called me aside and seriously chided me of being disobedient to the guiding of the spirits. He recalled that my grandfather visited him the night before and he was talking with him (my dead grandfather) and he was complaining that i have lost the fight in the higher realm but they (my dead extended family) were fighting so hard for me but i was making things really difficult for them.

At this point, i was visibly shaking and i resolved to pack my bags and cut short my holiday and go back to the city the next day being thursday even though i was supposed to go on the Sunday. That night i went to my old Uncle and narrated all the events to him, he advised not to sleep in my house that day, but that i should come sleep in his own apartment. Unlike the stubborn me, I quietly slept in his room that night with palpable fear all over me.

The next morning, to my greatest amazement, The ceiling in my room was collapsed from the minor rain which fell that night.
My Old uncle then told me that my life was spared because my grandmother had pleaded that i was the one who took care of her till she died and that i really did not deserve to die that early. He advised me to listen more to the events of the spirit because like he put it, "The events of the physical are controlled by the Spirit ".

As i was driving home that morning, I was lost in thought about the events of the past few days and i asked myself the question ...'Are the events of the physical really controlled by the spirit? And do guardian angels really exist?'

This really caused a major shift in my thinking because even after my near death experience being hit by a speeding car and also when our car was attacked by armed robbers, I always thought

I have my guardian Angels, so Death, Not today!
image

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 2 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the

TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE. / https://steemil.com/steemit/@trufflepig/daily-truffle-picks-2018-03-01

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 51 SBD worth and should receive 118 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am Bot, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content,

you can find an explanation here! / https://steemil.com/steemit/@smcaterpillar/trufflepig-introducing-the-artificial-intelligence-for-content-curation-and-minnow-support

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,

Thank you very much for writing this amazing story about spirits and guardian angels, and submitting it to SWC. I am sending a bid to a bot for your upvote.

You have received an upvote from @nicestbot. I am an automated curation bot trying to make minnows happy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71