LOVE 'S CONQUEST

in #jerrybanfield7 years ago

unnamed.png

I stood upon the shore,and saw the rocks
Resist the onslaught of the mighty sea,
And when i thought how all the countless shocks
They had withstood through an eternity,
I said to wear away this solid main
The ceaseless efforts of the wave are vain.

But when I thought how the rocks had rent,
And the sand that shingles at my feet
(poor passive remnants of resistance spent)
Tumbled and tossed where they the waters meet,
Then saw I ancient landmarks beneath the waves,
And knew the waters held the stones their slaves.

I saw the mighty work the waters wrought
By patient softness and unceasing flow;
How the proudest promontory brought
Unto their feet, and the massy hill laid low;
How the soft drops the adamantine wall
Conquered at last, and brought it to its fall.

And i knew that hard resisting sin
Should yield at last to Love 's soft ceaseless roll
Coming and going, ever flowing in
Upon the proud rocks of the human soul;
That all resistance should be spent and past,
And every heart yield unto it at last.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56890.04
ETH 2356.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39