Haunted House - Supernatural Writing Contest

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago (edited)

ghosts.png

We lived in a house that I am sure had a ghost when my kids were young. I always felt like it was either the ghost of a child or a female. I felt that way because it had a very playful nature.

Sometimes the ghost would sound like something hit the side of our house with a lot of force, others you would hear it making noise in the kitchen and it even hung out in our bedroom every now and then.

Before I tell you all of the details though, I would like to say that I always felt like the ghost was connected to the land and not the house itself. It was just a gut feeling and I have learned to trust those over my lifetime.

My mom lived with us for awhile in that house. She and I heard the ghost on many occasions. The loud thud would happen on the outside of the house often and it was not always at night. It was always in the same spot though, right outside of the living room windows. (The double window by the front door in the picture below.)

img292.jpg

This photo was taken just before we moved in. The trash you see was from work they did between us and the last renters.

We would investigate every time it happened in the beginning but we would never find anything or anyone around the house. The house was not very big and it would have been hard for someone to get out of our sight that fast. Especially, if we were already in the living room when it happened.

We mainly heard the ghost in the kitchen at night. It literally sounded like someone was in there messing with the dishes. Sometimes it even sounded like someone was slamming a dish or cup on the counter. If the ghost was making noise and you asked it to settle down, it would get quiet for awhile.

My sister was a skeptic. She did not believe my warnings that she might hear the ghost in the kitchen at night. The kitchen and our bedroom were on opposite sides of the house. You could not get to either without going through the living room.

Our guests slept on a sofa hide-a-bed in the living room so I knew there was a good chance our ghost would mess with my sister and it did not disappoint.

Not long after I went to bed, I heard my sister calling my name. I came from the bedroom and turned the hallway light on. I could see my sister was pale and had a shocked look on her face.

She thought, for sure, that I was in the kitchen messing with her because she could hear dishes being placed on the counter. I laughed and went in to the kitchen with her so she could see for herself that no dishes were on the counter. My sister opted not to spend any more nights in that house after that and I do not think she got any sleep that night.

One time when I was doing dishes, the ghost kept making a cup skip a sink from the drainer and land back in the dish water. I tested by hitting the cup myself but it would never go as far from my hitting it. Thankfully, it only played that game with me three times during one dish washing session. It probably realized I was getting annoyed by that particular game.

img293.jpg

This is the sink I was doing dishes at when that occurred. The dish water that the cup kept 'falling' back to was the sink by the refrigerator.

Another night, I had just turned out the lights and was heading down the hall to go to bed. My hair was in a high pony tail and I felt a finger lightly go down my neck. I stopped in my tracks and told the ghost that I did not want to be touched. It must have got the message because it never touched me again.

The ghost would normally hang out in the kitchen but there were a few nights it came to our bedroom. This particular night, the kid’s dad was out of town for work. I had just got comfortable in the bed and I began to hear what sounded like fingers going up and down the mini blinds. It was happening on the window next to my side of the bed. I asked it to stop and it did. I have often wondered if it came to our room on occasion because it was bored.

These kinds of things went on the whole time we lived in the house and we lived there for about two years. The ghost never felt scary to me or to my mom. I have never had a ghost quite like that one and I have to admit I missed it for awhile after we moved.

Our current house also has a ghost but this one is not nearly as fun as that one was. We hear this one all of the time at different times of day.

It likes to hang out upstairs. Even after living here for ten years, it still convinces me that someone else is here and I occasionally will go upstairs to see who is home when I am here alone.

The only time it has changed its routine was the week my grandmother passed away. If I was home, I would hear someone come in the front door and go upstairs around three in the afternoon.

I have often wondered if that was our current ghosts or perhaps a deceased family member checking in on me. I also wonder if they were waiting for grandma to cross over to the other side.

I wish I knew the significances of three in the afternoon though but I can not think of any one who was connected to that time of day for me. All of that new activity stopped when my grandmother passed away.

I am submitting this story to @jerrybanfield ~ Supernatural Writing Contest ~ #swc

@debralee made the graphic using PSP8 and the photos belong to me.

My other social media's:
You Tube Vlog
You Tube Gaming
DTube
Twitter
Instagram
Clickasnap
debralee_blue.png

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Thanks. I wasn't sure this would work since I didn't confirm with my log in information.

A cool ghost story, @debralee! I am glad your ghosts were at least friendly. The ones that resided in my grandmother's old farmhouse weren't. She would never leave us kids in the house alone and we were never to go upstairs alone. Anyone coming upstairs would be tossed right back down...

That is terrible, I'm so sorry to hear it. I've never encountered any I really considered to be evil, although two have scared me a bit. And to be honest I can't be sure one of them wasn't a dream I was coming out of.

This is another paranormal experience you have. Could it be a ghost of your departed love ones? Or have you asked the previous tenant or the sales agent or the neighbors about the history of the house or even the unexplainable things that happening in that house? Sometimes other people know the history and once told, the ghost will stop, that's what happened in my previous experience. ;)

I don't think the two that I talked about are departed loved ones. Only because I always knew when the kids dad was around. It's been about 20 years since I lived in the house with the 1st one and I'm not in the same city anymore. I never thought to ask anyone else about it. As far as this house, we bought it from the bank so there is no one to ask.

That is so cool, I have had a few ghosts over the years too. They can be quite the characters when they want to be. Great story deb

Thanks @sunscape! They really can be. lol

I really enjoyed your ghost story Deb. I think we both have lots to tell. Good luck in the contest.

Thanks, good luck to you too!! I look forward to hearing more about your experiences as you post them.

aww .. the perfect story. I would think that there existed a kid ghost!
now I believe more :)
my younger brother had a ghost friend who always talked on the phone :)
You remind me of my memories. I really like :)

Thank you.

It's sad to there about a child being a ghost but I really felt like this one was a young or younger spirit.

omg, I admire your courage. I have read somewhere that wearing silver on body helps keep ghosts away. also ghosts prefer dark and damp places and so they settle in the bathroom. leaving the light switch on drives them out but then the power bill would go up, lol.
whether others believe or not, some things like this do exist. Great entry and beautiful pictures

Thank you. I've only had 2 experiences that I can think of that scared me and I'm still not sure one of those wasn't a dream. Otherwise I've never felt the urge to run them off. lol

Goodness, so I am not crazy! I used to live a ghost in my old house too, but when I tell someone, they said it was just my imagination...My ghost liked to hang out in my bedroom :-)

No, you are not crazy, I think it's hard for people to wrap their minds around if they have never experienced it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43