Supernatural writing contest organized by Jerrybanfield. This is my entry called. "THE DOG THAT NEVER DIED". (SWC)

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago

dog-1837445_1920.jpg

This is my entry for the Supernatural writing contest hosted by @jerrybanfield. This contest couldn't have come at a better time for me because it was just last year that I was able to get some closure on the personal story I am about to tell you.
After a long debate with myself I decided to title it
The dog that never died

I think it would fall into the category of 'my spiritual awakening'

The dog that never died
Let me start by saying that I grew up in a pet loving house. My mother had a cat that she called Ronnie. It was a cute little cat that you fell in love with the moment you saw him.
My brother had a parrot too. He called him frank and I used to think it was a funny name.
About me, the only animals I ever loved were dogs. They are probably the most emotional and caring animals; that cry when you are sad and laugh when you are happy.
I got my dog on my thirteenth birthday. Dad knew I had always had this thing for dogs so he got me one as a birthday gift. I named the little dog Jolly and we became best friends. I know it sounds funny but we literally went everywhere together; from the cheer leading practices, to grocery stores, we barely spent any time apart expect for during the day when I was in school.
And I always tried to make it up to her whenever I was back.

It was all roses and butterflies, until something happened that would forever separate Chubby and I. I think it was in late November, when the winter was getting to it's peak.
I had come back from school after a very stressful and frustrating day and went straight to my room to rest, but on getting there, I met Jolly cuddled at one corner of the bed. She didn't always do that, but this afternoon she was obviously looking for attention and I was in no mood for that, so I carried him to the backyard and locked him out.

He did play with me at the backyard sometimes, so I didn't think it was a big deal, but some how I forgot to bring him in when I was felling much better.
That night it snowed heavily and Jolly spent the whole night outside.

In the morning, just like a thunder bolt, it hit my mind that Jolly was still outside. I ran to the backyard to meet him cuddled beside an old empty box. He was almost frozen.
I took him to my room to treat and more importantly, to hide him because I knew that everybody in the house would be mad at me if they heard about my mistake.

In my bid to treat him, I made a fatal error that cost Jolly his life.
The mistake was this. I started treating Jolly with medication for humans.
I tried to bring his temperature down so I gave him some NSAIDS.
He started responding to the treatment but after about two days he began detroiatating and a week later he was dead.

That week was one of the most terrible weeks of my life. I cried till there was not a tear left in my tear bags.
Back then, I didn't know why he had died even with all the medication I gave him, but now that I am more knowledgeable about animals, I know that drugs for humans are toxic and can be lethal to animals.

In all that happened I never told anyone about the cause of Jolly's death. I kept it a secret from my famil, No one knew about me forgetting him outside that night or about me giving him those medications, and that was what pained me the most.

Few months after that incident, I began a journey of trying to replace Jolly, so I started out by buying a brown Anatolian shepherd dog who I named Jimmy.
Jimmy was a cute little chap who I thought could replace Jolly, but after about two months Jimmy died from a mysterious illness.

It was up to a year later before I was able to try out having a pet dog again. This time I went for the American Alsatian because I needed something that was strong and would not die easily. But against all odds it died after 2 weeks.

At this stage I made up my mind that I was not going to get a dog again or any other animal at all because I had been emotionally hurt by the death of the dogs.
It was not going to be easy but I was not ready to be heart broken again so I kept to my resolution.

This resolution not to keep pets again, now led to the opening of a new chapter for me.
A chapter of day visions and nightmares.
I started seeing Jolly in my dreams. In it he would run up to me and sit beside me. Then we would reminisce about old times.
Somewhere along the conversation he would request to know what had happened in school that day that I locked him outside the house, and no matter how I tried to appear remorseful about my actions, he still got angry and bit into my thigh, tearing off a huge chunk which he ran away with.

I would wake up sweaty and feverish, but I didn't tell anyone about it. I tried to do a research about what I could do to stop the dreams but nothing seemed to work. Eventually I met a therapist whom my friend to me because he said he had psychic powers.

I went for some sessions with him and after some evaluations and he told me that Molly's spirit was still around the house and that he wasn't happy that I never told what happened

I went home that night and during dinner I told my family about Jolly's death and how it was due to my mistake. They were surprised and upset too, but they didn't make much fuss about it.
We all talked for a while and then I went to bed.

That night I dreamt and I saw Jolly but this time he didn't bite me when he was leaving. In fact he didn't leave. He just lay beside me as I watched the star till I woke up from the sleep.

Now I know that Jolly will always be around even if his spirit no longer hovers around the house. He will always be alive in my heart.

He will always be "the dog that never died".

Thanks to @jerrybanfield for organizing this contest, and also thanks to @gmichelbkk; I hear that you are in charge of documenting and going through the entries.

Finally what can I say? Whoops.... It feels so good finally sharing this story with a larger community.

Would be curious to hear from you all.
Thanks and have a great day.

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from @nicestbot. I am an automated curation bot trying to make minnows happy.

Thank you very much @cuttieberry for writing this touching story about a dog that never died and submitting it to SWC. I sent a bid to a bot for your upvote.

Thank you very much.
Glad you took time to read it.

Thank you for collaborating with me to promote this post as explained at https://steemit.com/steemit/@jerrybanfield/10-ways-to-fund-a-steem-growth-project.

Thank you too, I'm grateful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42