The ghost of my dreams- entry for (SWC) by @jerrybanfield

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago

The ghost of my dreams

Supernatural Writing Contest/Ghost-Hunting


     Hello friends of Steemit! What I am going to tell you today is a completely real story, based on my experience and my memories. It happened a couple of years ago and has not happened again. There were several dreams but here I try to describe to you perfectly the two dreams I remember the most and finally the most terrifying experience I have had in my life. I hope you like it and would like to see their opinions about it, I have researched a lot about it but for now I just want to leave what happened as "The ghost of my dreams" and nothing else ... Trying to make the narration as explicit and dramatic as possible so that they understand it and feel how I felt.

     First dream: And again I was there, forgotten, lost, seeing nothing, waiting for nothing and being nothing. I was in a kind of forest, surrounded by very tall and thin trees, their thin and deformed branches adorned their curvy bodies, uneven trunks and deep roots that were lost in the dense fog of that dark night.  They seemed to be watching me from the faint whistle of the wind that hit the dry leaves that had not yet fallen; but suddenly he became furious, a huge gale that struck the lifeless leaves that, although singed, were still in the weak branches, they came and went as in a kind of dance at maximum speed.  The damp earth was molded to my bare feet and slipped through my fingers, for a moment I thought the whole floor was wet, but there were no signs of rain, the scene was blurred and confused, without explanation, without logic, without inputs or some exit.   

    The icy breeze brought to my ears the voices of people around me, it was difficult to see them clearly, but their faint whispers could be distinguished as sharp and macabre, that came out of their mouths in a thread of voice that penetrated me like sharp knives coming from everywhere, they seemed to be in a circle and I was the center, or so I felt. Judging by the speed of his words and the displeasure that was reflected in his sentences, I deduced that they were deliberating on an important topic, and most of them seemed to disagree. I was petrified while holding my breath in anticipation of something happening. Should I run? Stay there? Wait? The murmurs intensified more and more, the harsh and confused words climbed up their larynxes in a struggle to be pronounced, they argued in a low voice, perhaps too much, and of not reaching an agreement ... Should I worry?

     The moonlight was blinding, she represented a cruel spectator, mocking at times, relentless in her verdict, admirable lady who, if allowed to embody, would have already slipped a knife over my neck, straight into my jugular, spilling my blood for her delicate hands, hands of the mysterious woman, mistress of the night. I took one last look at that impetuous divinity, to whom I dared to challenge seconds before my sight was completely blinded and was at the mercy of my other senses exposed, I could hear my pulsations and even as they brushed the teeth of those who argued when they decided to keep silent, the smell of sulfur burned my throat as it invaded my lungs, making them small and helpless deflated balloons, making me gasp for clean air; Frozen drops of sweat began to slide down my temple, I could feel them fall and sow in the damp earth. If not for my lucidity and conviction that this was not real, I could swear I was in hell itself, if it existed.

     I closed my eyes looking for an answer to everything that was happening, I squeezed them tightly, closing them and opening them, convinced that everything would disappear, but it was not like that. My ears were flooded with the most terrible and dazzling silence, I ceased to exist, also everything around me. The wind stopped dancing and the voices were overshadowed by that absence that made its way through the people around me. My jaw contracted and my molars were pierced, as I listened to the faint crunch of leaf litter being crushed by the weight of someone right behind me. His small, thin, cold hands molded to my ribs, I could feel the touch of his cold and broken lips that posed, with extreme delicacy, was a kiss at the base of my neck. Involuntary but timely, came out from deep inside me a signal that invaded my entire spine, awakening vertebra by vertebra generating a sharp bow on my back, which immediately made my body to run wildly in an attempt to escape what chased me through the darkness while my bare feet moved with great rapidity. The few times I look down, to control my unbridled footsteps I could only see a fleeting shade of pale flesh, my legs were fighting in the front, left, right, one in front of the other, call it running was underestimating the action.   

     The icy, stinging breeze hit my cheeks and pulled my hair hard, taking me, but I kept going, without looking around, not knowing where I was going; I was just trying, with all my strength, to get away from that place. I felt his presence closer and closer to me, his breath breathing in my neck, it slipped through my bones, my limbs lost strength, but something in me, forced me to keep running although my chances of escaping were few, judging by the darkness that spilled from the opaque sky until arriving and soaking in that desolate and immaculate forest.

     I did not get very far, my battered feet found long and sturdy roots of ancient trees that made me stumble; my body's reaction to gravity caused me to find myself completely attached to the moldy earth in less than one throbbing, the knot in my throat became so thick that it was impossible for me to breathe, the small sobs became constant as my systems were screaming for the presence of oxygen, in my instinct for survival my body turned 180 degrees in the fog, I felt that I lost my speech and the ability to even scream at the infinity of the sky that opened over me. Like onyx stones strategically placed, like puzzles, the stars became tiny and were lost within such an immense expanse of darkness. I was lost, and I knew it, I was fully aware, a force greater than mine did not allow me to rejoin, suddenly a weight pressed on my chest as if all the darkness materialized on me, the forced exhalation of my air reserves released me by a few seconds evidencing the acceleration of my heart, pacing with my tired and short breath, did not last long ... I felt the closeness of his claws, but just before they took me completely ... I opened my eyes startled.

     My brain protested to feel a ray of light coming from the street, the skull was about to explode, the view was clouded, everything was spinning, the wooden roof was shrinking and expanding at the same time ... I was not very conscious about what happened. I tried to sit up but I did not feel the floor under my feet and I ended up falling to my knees, there was a choked noise at the moment when my bones hit the floor and this made me enter into consciousness entirely. I decided to ignore it and I fell back on the comfortable mattress where I could hardly fit, I was beginning to get used to it, wake up startled, and feel each night as if it were the last. The nightmares were recurring, with similar endings, leaving me frozen, disoriented, breathless and sweaty ... Every day I was more surprised by the ability of my subconscious to make me panic as soon as I closed my eyes. Resting and having a quiet sleep was difficult to get from a few months ago, it was beginning to become routine for me; what was still worrying me was that each time that dream was repeated it became more tangible, crossing the limits of what I considered real turning it into something else. When the nights became longer and feverish my reality was put in doubt by my conscious; in those cases the only thing I could wish for was to listen to the alarm clock, that my eyelids would open the path of my watery eyes and find me there, even on my four walls.

     Second dream: I was in the middle of nowhere, in a completely dark room, lying on a small bed, it was very cold, my hands and my feet were freezing, I tried to move but it was impossible, my whole body was immobile, I could not feel my legs, They looked like stone, my body was stiff, breathing was a difficult task; I did my best to get up and leave but the only thing I could do was to be completely exhausted, every movement I was trying to make caused me extreme pain, my heart started to accelerate to such an extent that I could hear it, my hands were full of sweat, and the Desperation was getting bigger, I still did not know the reason for this desperation but clearly something inside of me wanted to escape from that situation.

     I looked towards what the ceiling should be, and from above, red eyes were watching me, this made me recognize what had haunted me for several years, a fluorescent green light drew the shapeless silhouette of that thing, it was clinging to the roof, its hooves were embedded in the wood and the more time I had to stare at it, the more I felt as I sank into that bed, I experienced the most horrible headache that could exist and I felt the drops of sweat sliding down my cold body, two hands pushed, beat and burned my chest without compassion.

     My body went from being frozen to being on fire, the burning was unbearable, I began to scream as loud as I could, shouted my name again and again and asked me to plead to wake up "NATASHA, AWAKE!" But at that moment all the room lit up and to my surprise it was my room, everything was the same, the only difference was that at the end of my bed I was sitting, that thing, looking at me, laughing at me; He approached slowly, moving his neck from one side to another, while a long thin tongue peeked involuntarily through his mouth, seemed to taste something delicious, that thing came to my ear and whispered "You cannot wake up, because you're already awake" At that moment I began to suffer strong muscular contractions, my whole body writhed on itself, and my desperate screams accompanied my doubt to what was my reality, that being with a smile began to drive his nails into my back, while I writhed , my screams increased more and more, tears ran involuntarily through my cheeks and that he or she seemed to enjoy it, each time he sank more and more, looked me in the eyes and when I begged him to stop, that being made the pain increase ... automatically the most horrible pain took hold of me, and my muffled cries flooded the room, my cries ended with a slight cough that had an iron taste, my throat was bleeding inside. 

     Suddenly the burning ceased, my breathing was very fast, and my limbs completely asleep, for a second I could feel my blood running through my veins and tranquility invaded me but that only lasted a moment because immediately the laughter appeared again and with they my biggest nightmare, came back to me to be able to slide his nails all over my arms and legs, while nailing his hooves in me, was slowly turning his hand, was completely destroying me, he looked at me amusingly, for " THAT "it was satisfying to see me suffer.

     He looked at me again as he shouted "YOU ARE ALONE!" A couple of tears were sliding down my face while my screams were fading, my breathing accelerated was cut by a long and overwhelming minutes and I stopped breathing, my lungs were collapsing , there was no sign of oxygen in my body, it was destroyed, my head did not stop hurting, I was still struggling, although it was impossible ... I could not do anything, I closed my eyes, I was defeated, I seemed to fall asleep, I was very dizzy, everything was spinning my senses were fading, the laughter in the distance lost intensity, my body was suffering seizures and the last thing I saw was that black silhouette that watched me rave... And I woke up.

     My hands automatically covered my face and dried up the tears, I was trembling, I took a deep breath and tried to calm my heart, because the tachycardia was getting worse; this time there was no doubt, I was in a great personal conflict. It was full of sweat, the drops were sliding down my back and my muscles, my nose was dripping drops of sweat, it seemed that it was coming from running a marathon. I thought I was going crazy and how could I get out of this, it did not make sense, I felt a strong burning in my back, I ran to the mirror and I could see, with my own eyes, in my arms was the shadow of small bruises, and my chest was strangely red. My muscles were tense; because my whole body looked like stone. I could hardly move, it hurt to even breathe ... I could not stop seeing my arms. 

     How was this possible?! My back never stopped burning. Was it possible that this "dream" had been real? That "Thing" if he did all this to me? What was happening with my life?! I was completely desperate, I needed answers, I needed someone to tell me that I was not crazy, I did not know what my reality was anymore, it was supposed to be only a dream but why did I have scratches and bruises ?! What had happened?! I was panicking, I did not know what to do, where to go, what decisions to make, I was in an insane state, they were no longer dreams, this was happening, or at least that was what I believed.

     Last event: I needed to share with someone everything that was happening to me, I barely had any energy, the dark circles under my eyes looked tired and with the passing of days my body reflected the nights when the ghost of my dreams visited me. I went to see my friend Carlos (now my boyfriend), my only friend, the only person I could talk to without being afraid of being locked up in the asylum... So with him I was able to start a sincere conversation where I spoke openly to him what was happening to me, he listened to me attentively and only released a "We should investigate more" but before he could finish his idea his breathing seemed to cut, he wanted to say more, but the veins in his neck sprouted. He fell exhausted to the floor while a strong cough invaded him constantly and filled the carpet with small and fleeting drops of red liquid, opened his mouth in search of a nonexistent air, his irritated eyes began to get wet, tears fell down his face, and the cough seemed to destroy his larynx. 

     I lifted him off the floor as best we could and we headed towards the bathroom, his hands trembled as he filled his face with cold water and breathed deeply whenever he had the chance, he seemed to calm down, but then another session of blood appeared, he ran to the toilet, Instantly he crouched down while spitting what seemed to be an eternal red sea.

     WHAT'S GOING ON?! - My drowned cry was inaudible due to the sounds that came from Carlos' vocal cords. He put his face on the edge of the toilet, and sank into tears.

     Without understanding what was really happening, I approached him and doubled my knees to be at his own height, automatically my hand was placed on his back and I began to give him little taps, I was about to get up to go to the kitchen and look for a glass of water when your hand took with extraordinary strength my ankle. 

     - You'll be fine Carlos, I'll go for water, and then we'll go to the hospital, you'll be fine - I could swear I heard a hoarse laugh, but my ears preferred to ignore it. I tried to move a second time, but his hand threatened to break my bone if I tried to move again - What's wrong? - My voice sounded like a prayer, I think I was already prepared in some way for the worst.

     - Nothing, I'm fine - Abruptly he twisted his head until his eyes were connected with mine. No horror movie, no scary tale, no Halloween night, compared to this. The brown eyes I knew were no longer there, instead, a black oil had seized his pupils, there was no sign of life, of soul, of light inside those eyes, his face was cracked, disfigured, who was looking at me, who was smiling was not Carlos. His teeth looked like little disordered needles inside his mouth, there was blood around his cheeks, he had been crying blood, or so it seemed, black rings under his cheekbones, and challenged to show a pure bone face, his lips were a line fine stone cracked, that body, had no soul, if that existed.

     Skinny, he seemed to disintegrate, that thing got up and smiled sadistically, seemed to savor his lips, as if he had long time without having felt blood.

     I was paralyzed and with my pulsations to a million, I started backing towards the kitchen and while that recovered my strength, I took several knives and pointed them at them, my hands trembled even though inside I felt very sure of doing it, something was not right in that scene, the walls began to turn a pale gray, and furniture was disappearing as my feet moved involuntarily towards the bathroom door, the hairs on my neck soon protested, but there was no turning back, walk decided with a large knife and place it on the edge of that juggernaut's jugular.

     - I'll ask you this one time only, and I hope you answer correctly, because I know you're not Carlos. Who are you? - (That's what I remember saying) my clenched teeth opened a small space so that the air next to the threat came out.

     I buried my fingers in the handle of the knife with force and moved it a few millimeters closer to his throat, a false move, and the blood would already be bathing all the walls.

     There was no response from my attacker, he simply turned around as best he could and I saw Carlos' watery eyes staring at me with his mouth open.

     - Natasha? - He said, but his voice broke when he finished - What are you doing?

     - I ... I ... I do not know - Surrendered to the confusion lower the knife and taste a couple of bitter drops in my mouth, I was about to kill my best friend.

     But then, another laugh pierced my eardrum, and it was that phenomenon again, mocking me. Without premeditation, in a second, I had already pierced the middle of his throat. I dropped it while laughing and looked at my hands, black, they had no blood, but something viscous dark, terrified, I took another look and the strange substance was turning red and more liquid, who was bleeding on the floor was Carlos, he had murdered him.

     Between hysteria and tears a scream leaped from my lungs 

     - It was not you! It was another! I could not have killed you! Not to you! - The acid drops disintegrated the inner part of my eyes, and fell, fell, fell, without stopping, I took his head in my hands and crying repeated his name, I saw how the light inside his eyes disappeared as more liquid red was scattered on the floor.

     - Not everything is always what it seems- His hoarse voice broke into a thousand pieces trying to pronounce the words that destroyed me inside.

     - Do not leave me! - I had not noticed that still screaming, crying without restriction, my hands seemed to absorb the blood, the blood of my best friend, I had ended his life.

     The heat spread through my nose, the smell of sulfur was unbearable, but I would not leave. I took his hand with strength and from the depths of my being came out like little gusts of wind the words. - Forgive me! Forgive me! - My breathing towards harmony with the tears that fell to the rhythm of Carlos' heart, that heart that was extinguished little by little, and that to the seconds, had already stopped beating.

     Terrified still seeing what it had caused, I could not lose it, I brought it close to my chest and another sharp cry escaped and ran through the house, I was dizzy, I did not seem to understand, I had killed him.

     I got up as I could and put my hands soaked with blood on my head, my veins were drawn on my forehead, I ran to the sink to clean myself, but the more tears came up I looked up and I realized that my eyes were black, completely black, there was nothing inside me, they had become a dark night; another laugh broke the glass in front of me, everything began to spin, and without my consent I was already banging my head against the cold ceramic floor.  Like lightning, a light forced me to open my eyes, I felt a strong blow on my stomach that made me react and I woke up instantly, everything was blurred, but I recognized the place, I was in Carlos's house, the cold of the air conditioning I had goose bumps, look around disoriented and saw the TV on, smelled like coffee about to burn. 

     - You fell asleep in the middle of the talk - Carlos said with his eyes fixed on the television.

     -What do you say? - I barely understood what was happening.

     - Are you sure you're fully awake? - He went to the kitchen for some water.

     - I begin to doubt it.


Images link:

1) http://4hdwallpapers.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/

2) http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-wugsB4PA6Kc/VEu7ujknptI/AAAAAAAAA0Q/nHjbZwn3LI4/s1600/

3) http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-ofnTU-9KBfQ/VAooot6p7JI/AAAAAAAAAfk/Ms-oP0RlwO4/s1600/

4) https://4.bp.blogspot.com/-ggpme6BYgHo/Tfg_GLh9FgI/AAAAAAAAAZs/U-mopCz10rA/s640/

5) https://portalcassiopea.files.wordpress.com/2016/10/

Sort:  

Thank you @camporr for writing this very strange and well written story and submitting it to SWC. It was a good read and I hope more people will see your post. I just sent a big bid to a bot for your upvote.

¡Waao! Thanks for the support, it makes me very happy that you enjoyed reading. I love writing and in this opportunity I was inspired to tell my story. I hope more people see it. Thanks again <3

You got a 5.05% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @gmichelbkk!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62