Paddy field nightmare : My entry for @jerrybanfield's Supernatural Writing Contest (SWC)

in #jerrybandfield7 years ago (edited)

 Lately, I've been thinking what should I post for the Supernatural contest held by @jerrybanfield. I was climbing the staircase to go to the slab and get the clothes thinking about it. I never had miraculous recoveries nor had a near death experience neither, thanks to god. The slab was all wet with rain and I went to the edge of it. I shivered as I thought what would happen if I lose my footing. I was having a near death experience in my mind, but thankfully not for real. Phew!

Then something came to my mind. It's not a very dark memory but it's not so calming either. For a fact, we never knew it was real or an illusion either. But it sure was frightening. Something is better than nothing, right?

So here is the story.

When my sister and I was around 10, we used to travel with our parents when they are working. They are network marketers so most of their business meetings scheduled for the night. So it got really late when we came back home. My father had a cab, and the four of us traveled in it.

These short trips tired us most of the times so we just slept in the cab in the whole journey. There was a reason for that too. Some of our parent's team members lived far from the town. So sometimes we had to drive through paddy fields. Paddy fields? Right, I fear these things at the night. What if someone crawls out from it jump on to road?

source


One day, we went to someone's house for a team meeting and it was close to midnight when we left there. My dad chose a shortcut to go home. When we went halfway of it there was it. A paddy field. The road was running through a big paddy field. We barely saw the end of it. There was a turn in the middle and there was a small hut.

Unfortunately, on that day, me and my sister were awake. The cold wind rushed through our bodies as the shutter was slightly opened. We were too lazy to close it.

When we were closed to that hut, a sudden sound reached my ear. It was like the sound of slippers hitting the floor. Was someone running on the road at this time."Mom I heard something" I was scared. "I heard it too," My sister said with frightened eyes. "What sound? It's nothing"

Then we saw a figure. A figure running to catch our cab. In a brief moment, it was near our cab. It was a woman. Her hair was messed and she wore a long night dress. We stared for a moment and we let out a shriek.

My father stopped the cab to know what was happening. Then that woman was in front of the shutter and she was trying to put her hand through opened space. We hugged together for our dear life and continued to scream. "Mom! Mom! help us" Then she left our shutter and put her face on the front shutter.

source

"Please madam, help me! My husband is drunk and he's chasing me with a pole in his hand. Please get me out of here. I'm begging you"

Then we heard a crashing sound. Something has hit our car. Then another one hit our shutter. It was a rock.

We looked behind. A man was running towards us. His right-hand was full of rocks. In his left hand, there was a long wood pole. He kept throwing rocks at our cab.

Then the woman screamed and started to run to the paddy field. Then we saw the man picking a big rock looking at us. We were all stunned.Then mom shouted to dad "What are you doing? just get out of here!" Then my dad hit the accelerator and we flew on the road. Then we heard something heavy thump on the road. It was a big rock.

I and my sister looked back trembling and crying. There was no sign of the man or the woman. We couldn't stop shaking until we reached home.

Was it just a nightmare? No, we saw several scratches on the cab next day. Is the woman safe? How did that man and woman just vanish? What caused that scene? Are they ghosts? We could never find answers to these questions.

I was worried about that woman. I felt sad for her. But there was a relief. There was no murder committed in that area. A big pressure released from my head. Then I was able to get that bad memory out of my head.

But in case, I never want to see that paddy field again.

Thanks for your time. I hope that I gave you a few goosebumps. I have them now, at least.
Until we meet again...<3

Sort:  

Hey, you brought me back memories. That was one hell of a dark memory.

Oh, you can still remember that clearly, don't you? We won't be able to forget that.

Haha never ever :D

I would be sooooo scared if that happened to me! :O

I'm glad you got home safe that night. No more short cuts for dad, I hope!

Yeah, that was horrible ToT
We refuse to go on shortcuts after that incidence of course, dad had to a pay a lot of cash for diesel XD

It might be better for dad to pay more for diesel than for everyone to have nightmares! :O XD

Hehe that's sure is better for us, but not for dad lol^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85