Revelation: Minimalist Blog Post#1

in #jenniferbismackttml7 years ago (edited)

Hello thank you for following my journey of transformation to minimalist living. Wikipedia defines the term minimalist as "often colloquially refers to anything that is spare or stripped to its essentials." So far, I am taking it one day and step at a time to discover what I consider my bare essentials are and then, taking the action steps to start stripping my life of all the excess. I had the revelation of truth in that we could survive on God/Jesus words alone if need be not too long ago and well, I decided to put this to the test when I need to and especially as I go on my minimalist transformation journey. I hope you share links to your journey with me if you already started or are considering.

My first step right now has been to downsize my wardrobe. Essentially, I would like to have 30 days worth of clothes. Once, I had 1 weeks worth while in junior high and a freshman in school. I later was bullied for not having name brands and more than a weeks worth of clothes which affected me to want more so I would not get made fun of. This caused me to suffer dramatically. I got a job just to buy name brand clothes which later led to credit cards, and a mountain of debt.

I eventually, got out of the debt temporarily before starting my business venture but, my issues for wanting more than I needed remained. With that said, I am still a work in progress but, again taking it one day and step at a time to get back to what is important to me. Having 3 years worth of clothes so I never have to wear the same outfit twice is something not important to me I now know. To help me I started a Facebook group called "Jenn's Clothing Closet For Good Causes." I want to use some of the money from the sale of clothes I don't need to travel to speak to young adults so they don't go through what I have been through and to consider alternative ways to find discounted name brands if you have that preference.

Link to a lot of clothes I am selling on facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/151184125601832/

How about you? What do you have more of than you need?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61248.96
ETH 2375.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55