Spinning Wheels Within Wheels of Logical Fallacy {-} Cracks in the Walls of the Watchtower {-} Chapter 2 {-} Part 1

in #jehovahs-witnesses6 years ago (edited)

art-cogs-colorful-171198.jpg

Image Source

Circular reasoning is a common fallacy that all thinking people occasionally fall prey to, including Jehovah’s Witnesses. Nobody always thinks in circles; many times we all think clearly and in a straight line.


I want to stress this because I do not want what follows to be misconstrued as an insult to the intelligence of Jehovah’s Witnesses. While they are just as susceptible as anyone else to the fallacy of circular reasoning, they are also just as capable of clear and critical thinking, just as the rest of us are.

Keeping this in mind, however, I do want to point out an area in which Jehovah’s Witnesses think more in a circle than in a straight line.

Jehovah’s Witnesses accept the authority of the Governing Body of the Watchtower Bible and Tract Society because they believe in its inerrant (and unique) interpretation of a parable of Jesus (twisted into a prophetic parable about the Governing Body), found at Matthew 24:45-47:

"Who really is the faithful and discreet slave whom his master appointed over his domestics, to give them their food at the proper time? Happy is that slave if his master on coming finds him doing so! Truly I say to you, he will appoint him over all his belongings." (New World Translation of the Bible; Watchtower Bible and Tract Society)

The Governing Body claims that - collectively - it itself is "the faithful and discreet slave...appointed over" Jehovah's Witnesses, which it further claims gives it the authority to interpret the Bible. And Jehovah’s Witnesses accept the Governing Body’s authority to interpret the meaning of that parable because they accept the 'divinely-appointed' authority of the Governing Body to interpret it.

No clearer example of the logical fallacy of circular reasoning in the thinking of Jehovah’s Witnesses can be found.

Think logically about it!

THE APOSTATE

Look closely! Cracks in the Walls of the Watchtower - Table of Contents

Sort:  

Ok, dude is this a book or are you promoting Jehovah Witnesses? I'm confused. 😵

I am posting here on Steemit, in quick-to-read micro chapters, a book I wrote about a decade ago after I got excommunicated and ostracized by the Watchtower Bible & Tract Society of Jehovah's Witnesses for what they call 'apostacy'. After a year of raising hell for the Elders by asking them too many hard questions, the answers to which expose the Governing Body as corrupt, I got the boot. Cracks in the Walls of the Watchtower is the result. I know it is not a topic that many here are interested in but that's okay with me. My purpose is to carve this sucker right into the blockchain where it will remain for posterity's sake - hopefully. As always, I appreciate your vote!

Here is the link to the Table of Contents in case you might have missed it.

I was just trying to understand as most don't appreciate johova at their doors soliciting themselves at their doors... I'll keep that in mind and stay tuned! I was like oh no man am I going to curating a pro jovah witness book 🙈

Good god, no! lol! My book is about as anti-Watchtower as any other book written by an apostate of the religion. I tried to be as respectful and as curteous to any readers who might themselves be Jehovah's Witnesses. I don't want to scare them off. If my book can cause even one Jehovah's Witness to start thinking critically about the (false) teachings of their leaders, then the purpose of my book will have been fulfilled. I believe that once a JW starts to think critically there is no going backwards. It might lead them to their escape from the clutches of the Monster - and one less unsolicited knock on your door!

Unlike Mormonism, when you think critically you run into false prophets and an alien god hoarding virgins on a secret planet. So now I'm a jack Mormon lol!

I believe you'd have to become a non-jack Mormon or a non-non-Mornon to reap the rewards, lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33