You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Light Magic {-} Cracks in the Walls of the Watchtower {-} Chapter 2 {-} Part 7

Your answer to the pop-quiz is correct!

@magicalmoonlight The social, psychological, and economic consequences of becoming a member of Jehovah's Witnesses are severe - even just to associate with the group can wear you down eventually. You will not learn the Bible from them - you will think you are but, instead, you are studying their false doctrines. I am not a christian; I'm not interested in the bible - I don't follow any of the Abrahamic religions, so I do not recommend any particular religion to anyone. Personally, I am a deist. Be careful who you associate with: Somewhere in the New Testament it says: "Bad associations spoil useful habits" or something to that effect.

Thank you for commenting, and I hope you will continue to follow me on this journey of learning about the Watchtower organization. Have you been reading my book from the beginning?

Sort:  

I have read a few of these but not from the beginning. I will be going back over them all though. Everything you say is true, I mean I guess they do have a good chance of making it to this paradise by following their strict rules but...that just isn't for me. Sadly I didn't know all of this before hand. I've invited the one I study with to my daughters birthday, talked about my sister in the military and last Halloween sent pics of my daughter in her costume - she probably thinks I'm a lost cause anyway lol

I believe you have approached your studies with a healthy dose of open-minded skepticism. Jehovah's Witnesses are, for the most part, very kind and well-meaning people. Like attracts like, as they say - and that's probably why you and your study conductor are friends. This person is most likely genuine and goodhearted like you are. Let's imagine you went all the way and got baptized. To remain in good standing, it would mean no more celebrating your daughter's birthdays, or celebrating Christmas, or taking her out on Halloween. You would have to go to several meetings a week where you would be expected to participate actively in the program of indoctrination; and, you would be required to go from door-to-door. You would be expected to raise your daughter by the same principles; eventually, you would be expected to forbid her from going to her friends' birthday parties, or give up associating with children who are not JWs. Similarly, you would be expected to have limited association with family members, especially your sister, and to associate with them with one goal in mind, that is, to convert them. Your family may choose to distance themselves from you. Your "new family", Jehovah's Witnesses, will replace your "old family"; you will call one another brothers and sisters. If you choose not to do any and all of the above after getting baptized, you will be viewed as "weak", you will be shamed; your "brothers and sisters" will slowly begin to frown upon you and distance themselves from you; and you will feel torn. You will be in constant dread of displeasing Jehovah and losing your place in paradise. It will affect all your relationships and consume all your thinking and all your time. If your daughter chooses not to take the same religious path, she may grow up to resent you and your relationship with her will be horrible. Your bible study conductor/friend probably doesn't currently think you are a lost cause, just someone she hopes to convert. I hope you walk away before it becomes too difficult to do so. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33