How it began...

in #jawa4 years ago

It was hardly the usual dream of being born into a family of bikers, or with a silver spoon in my mouth.

Hell, my parents wouldn't even let me cycle on the narrow, hilly streets of Shillong, Meghalaya. Pre University out there and then Degree in Mangalore - i had absolutely no idea and interest in 2-wheelers of any kind. All I knew was to ride a Kinetic Honda, through a friend who was dead keen on making me learn how to ride.

And when I graduated and went to work in Aurangabad, Maharashtra, it was still the same - I preferred my own 2 legs or public transports. After 3 years of happily working like this, my good friend and colleague Santosh, convinced me to get my own 2-wheeler. I was kind of focused on getting the Bajaj Legend Scooter, but after getting properly bamboo-ed for not looking at something more youthful and majestic - I agreed to him sourcing a Yezdi Roadking for me. I had anyways seen his own '84 Roadking, plus had seen a couple in college days - and what stuck in my head was that lovely rhythmic beat and the twin silencers!

So long story short, he got a beautiful stock '93 Roadking shipped from Bangalore, brought it to the hotel to show me, and - I could not even start the damn thing! Pretty crestfallen, I was wondering if I made a mistake. But there's always nothing like giving it a try.

The early chilly morning winters of 1999 were spent somehow starting the bike and riding out for practise on dark empty streets, till I could master the balance and moods of the bike.

And now, that machine - 'Grease', has been my companion ever since, through thick and thin, accidents, problems, rides - short and long. He still sounds as good as he was the day I got him.

Together with him, I have added a few others, not for the purpose of a collection, but rather to save them, as and when possible - a Deluxe meant to be scrapped, a Classic that was already almost buried in the ground, my Dad's Vespa that he wanted to dispose off...

A more detailed post of the machines is here - http://psycosanctum.blogspot.com/2011/10/forever-bike-not-just-legend.html

And of course - the Jawa Days - one great idea of getting these machines out, uniting friends and riders around the globe to celebrate the hey days of this super machine!

Being on the road is just that - the feel of the air rushing past, a machine understanding and guiding you, the freedom of riding anywhere!

Its a love that has to be felt.

105020793_729296314565829_6897699077854148912_n.jpg

IMG_5014.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67138.06
ETH 3678.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73