Starting CodeGym On Day 10 of Javatober

in #java6 years ago (edited)

Changing Track In My 1 Month Of Java

CodeGym.PNG
Image courtesy of CodeGym

It's come to a point in my "Month of Java" where I think I need to make a change. At day 10 its time to pivot and change my learning focus. Even though its only day 10 I don't think this change will set my backwards at all but hopefully it will set me up for further success.

Did i just get agile?

Either way I was not interested at the start of this project in reading a boring book or taking a boring course on Java but I thought it would be enough to trawl the net adding to my knowledge one piece at a time. I think after my first week, my progress has stalled a little though. Even though There is a wealth of information on the net, its taken my a while to see what is useful to me in the way I learn and what isn't.

Enter CodeGym(https://codegym.cc)

CodeGym's catch phrase is "To become a programmer you need to code"

I stumbled across it and was not really looking to deviate from the direction I was heading in but the concept seems interesting and hopefully will be beneficial. They provide online Java training for adults and try to make it like a kind of game and to tell you the truth, so far, it has kept me motivated to keep going.

The CodeGym Course has 1200 practical tasks of increasing complexity. The tasks are small, but there are lots of them (lots and lots). So far I can see what they are aiming to provide as they are pushing you to write code and correct bugs and make sure you are comfortable in as close as possible to a work environment. Its still early days and I will probably post a full review at the end Javatober. So far its been free and although it has been covering a lot of information I have already covered, it has kept me engaged and I've been working hard to make progress.

I have been able to get throug hthe first few levels in limited time and they explain that once you make it to level 40, you will be proficient enough to be a Junior Java Developer, which sounds pretty good from where I am sitting but that could take 3 to 6 months. All the lessons are presented online with some recommendations on suplimentary reading. There are some videos to watch along the way and every code task is provided in the online portal in the CodeGym text editor, which is actually also pretty good.

There have been one or two issues I have had, it seems to take a long time to progress. Even though the exercises are quick and to the point, I am still covering basic topics, but I guess the course is doing its best to reinforce code practices. It also seems to jump ahead at times and present code exercises to topics that have not been covered yet. This could get annoying. Lastly, you get to open up new lessons by doing tasks and code exercises, I am not sure if they are going to ask me to purchase anything, but I gues we will have to wait and see.

It seems pretty good so far but lets give it a couple more weeks to see where it takes me.

I'll be posting daily, sharing my experiences on my “1 Month of Java Code” experiences”, my previous post on day 9 can be found below, so feel free to have a look:
https://steemit.com/java/@run.vince.run/day-nine-is-felling-fine-in-my-month-of-java

If you have found this post useful or interesting, please consider Commenting, Upvoting, Following and/or Resteeming

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by run.vince.run from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53