Java Tutorials for BeginnerssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #java7 years ago (edited)

Hey, everyone! I've been working with Java for around 6-7 years now, and I have learned a lot. It's been a truly amazing experience, and I love learning new things each day. Anyway, if you're just starting out, I have a few recommendations for tutorials you can check out that will get you started on your way.

The Basics

Text Tutorials

While I, personally, much prefer video tutorials, as I find them much easier to follow along with, I feel that it wouldn't be right if I didn't make a couple honorable mentions here for some text-based tutorials first.

https://www.tutorialspoint.com/java/

This is a very good, comprehensive tutorial which I have referenced many times throughout my career.

https://www.javatpoint.com/java-tutorial

Another good set of tutorials which approaches teaching in a slightly different way to the last one. You may prefer this one more.

Now, on to the videos!

TheNewBoston's Beginner Tutorials

This guy is really nice and I find that he has the perfect mix of going slow and explaining without being boring. His series taught me a lot about general Java development.

TheNewBoston's Intermediate Tutorials

Once you've mastered the basics, this series goes deeper into specific stuff that experienced developers use in more complex projects.

Game Development

While learning general, foundational Java is very important, if you're like me, you might struggle to keep interested in that stuff. I had a lot more success by going through these tutorials where you make interactive and fun things like games.

2D Tower Defense Tutorial

This particular tutorial is one that I found the easiest to follow, and the narrator/teacher is easy to listen to.

Multiplayer Top-down "RPG" Tutorial

This is not a tutorial that I watched all the way through since I found it later on in my career and didn't need to watch the specifics as much, but I did skim through it to figure out small things I couldn't on my own, and I found them to be fairly good.

Other Fun Applications

Network Chat Programming Tutorial

This tutorial series teaches you how to make a networked chat system that lets users connect and talk to each other!

TextEditor Tutorial

This short series teaches you to make a simple text editor.

Conclusion

Thank you for checking out my little Java tutorials reference! I hope these tutorials help you on your way to learning and mastering Java.

Contact Info

EarnCrypto Referral (Earn FREE crypto doing small surveys):
https://www.earncrypto.com/?r=119733

Sort:  

as a layman can I learn JAVA in no time with the help of these tutorials?

You'll have to put some time into it, but it honestly is probably easier and faster than you'd think to gain basic knowledge of programming. These tutorials are some of the best ones I've found from my research; I definitely think they are a valuable resource that could push you along a lot quicker.

this is great stuff. i've always believed anybody can be a gamedev if they're willing to learn. there's so many online tutorials now it's more like a problem of choosing the right ones.

Excellent post. Shared

I studied Java last year. However, I was not able to continue as I was deployed into DevOps project. :(

RIP. I've researched many languages. Recently, I've been branching out into NodeJS, but I always end up coming back to the good ol' JVM.

Congratulations @cheat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65