How to Write the Kanji for Numbers 7 & 8: Step-by-step

in #japanese7 years ago (edited)

Capture.JPG

Hey there Steemians,

I've been busy the last two days so today, I'm gonna make two post about kanji tutorials today.

Anyways, the kanji for numbers 7 to 10 have only two strokes so it's easier. All four of them, really.

Kanji for number 7

  • I always start with a guide drawn with a pencil. As you can see the lines are still visible. So to start, a line was drawn across the paper from left to right. This is the first stroke.

IMG_20180214_180325.jpg

  • As for the second stroke, I started at the top going downwards and shifting a horizontally to create a curve.

IMG_20180214_180421.jpg

Meaning: Seven
Onyomi: Shichi
Kunyom: Nana / Nano

TRIVIA: It is a 7 inverted as you can see in the figure below.

seven.JPG


Kanji for number 8

  • So the kanji for number 8 has two strokes too. Firstly, I draw a line from top right to bottom left (tategaki style). I don't know what technique was used to make the tip thinner than the top but in my case, I just raise the brush a little bit and apply less pressure.

IMG_20180214_180450.jpg

  • Secondly, the last stroke was made by drawing a curvy line from top left to bottom right with a thinner top.

IMG_20180214_180559.jpg

Meaning: Eight
Onyomi: Hachi
Kunyom: Yat / Ya / You

TRIVIA: When following the simple shape (shown below) of the number 8 you get 八

eig.JPG


By the way, I got all the trivias from Nihongo Ichiban.

'Til next time,
tina

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61882.63
ETH 2581.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56