Do Japanese people "eat Sakura (cherry blossoms)" ? This is the real truth...

in #japanese7 years ago (edited)

To tell you the truth... I didn't know that Sakura(cherry blossoms) was used in such ways...

sakura.jpg

I'll tell you the conclusion!

Some Japanese people eat sakura! (I was surprised too when I heard that)

To tell the truth, I was born and raised in Japan, but I didn't know that some people ate sakura.

"sakura no shiozuke"

sakura.jpg

For example, in order to make "sakura no shiozuke", they put cherry blossoms and salt in a plastic bag and leave them at that for some days in a refrigerator.

Not only plates using sakura, but also drinks with it.

sakura2.jpg

This is a liqueur containing cherry blossoms.

I think even Japanese people don't know that some people eat sakura.

But I don't have courage to eat cherry blossoms, nor drink alcohol containing them.

Personally I prefer Sakura, who appears in Naruto Shippuden.

That's it for today.
I just wanted to share this with you guys, who are interested in Japan.

Peace,
Ashitaka

Sort:  

Great post. I need to get some Sakura alcohol. Is it seasonal? Also want to try sakura sweets.

I don't think it's seasonal. Do you live in Japan?

No, but I want to go back and visit.

Pink everywhere 😍

Yeah, you're right. lol

Isnt this also how they can have Sakura flavored icecream and cookies for example?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52