自由 - JIYUU - The most beautiful word.

in #japanese7 years ago (edited)

D1A5AF68-959B-4438-B7F3-9203CE1B4B87.jpeg



Breaking down the two kanji (Chinese characters) in the screenshot above, we find:

自, which means “oneself.”

and

由, which means “wherefore,” “a reason.”

C94C3299-BE75-46E5-BB05-845B060A5694.jpeg

What a beautiful combo, right? Going by your own reason, and your own why.

This is the Japanese word for “freedom.”

Let’s look at three Japanese words and expressions I really enjoy, which use jiyuu:


ご自由にどうぞ

go-jiyuu ni douzo
”Freely go ahead; help yourself; as you please.”

自由市場経済

jiyuu shijou keizai
”Free market economics.”

自由業

jiyuu gyou
”Self-employed.”


Do you have a word or expression you especially love? Any language is fine. Let me know in the comments!

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

私は自由という言葉が大好きです!!✨
「自由人」になりたい😃

Beautiful indeed.

Have a great day to you. I think you are great power to boost up japanese community? If you can , I want to meet you when i go to the niigata in someday.

That'd be great, @steemitjp! Nice to meet you, and anytime you are in Niigata, please let me know!

Is there real freedom?

I suppose it depends how one defines "freedom."

Our world is always beautiful If you look at a beautiful mind Then it will be nice.

wow I'm smarter now, I didn't know that 由means reason. oneself and a reason....yeah that's pretty cool word!

I have a very beautiful word in Nepali, "ramro xa" means very good. Thanks.

Thanks for sharing! Ramo xa!

Nice. I'm hooked on using Imiwa? too. Great application for finding great translations for great words!!

Yep! Good stuff, right? By the way, really liked your first Dtube video :)

That swing is one of the things we build at the beach. I hope it will survive the winter

Yes i have favourite word that is ma (mother).It is much sweet than all the words of this world

Without our mothers, where would we be? Definitely a beautiful word.

hahah nice @kafkanarchy84 i think now we will also learen this to read your posts in future...anyway its ur best plan to teach a more for increase ur abilities

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56747.23
ETH 3007.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19