Wanted: Guy seeks Japanese person to give him his/her surname. Arigato gozaimasu!

in #japanese6 years ago

asian-1822520_640.jpg

What a strange topic for a post, I'm sure! Amazingly, though, it is incredibly accurate.... Allow me to elaborate.

I am a South African who has been absolutely obsessed with all things Japanese for over 2 decades now. Sadly, I will most likely never get to see Japan in person but I will continue to love it from afar. Fortunately for me, my mother spelled my name wrong on my birth certificate and for decades now I have had to deal with people thinking I don't know how to write my own name and "fixing" it for me whenever I complete a form... This has resulted in (for example) my email never reaching me or, in one instance, me having to go for blood tests three times because they kept loosing my paperwork.

I say fortunately because after 4 decades I got fed up with it and decided to change my name. Now, if I get to CHOOSE my name then no way am I fixing the spelling on this name I have grown to loathe... Nope, I chose a Japanese name instead. Oh yeah. Finally a name I am proud of and something that no local person will ever presume to "fix" on my behalf because they think they know the spelling of my name better than I do :D

Unfortunately, the first and last names just don't match and just sound weird so I want to change my surname also. Unfortunately, the law in this country only allows you to take the surname of your parents so that was a dead end right there... till someone at the department of home affairs pointed out a potential loophole that I might exploit...

Whenever you request a change of surname you always have to write a motivational letter explaining the reason behind the request and that hasn't changed. However... apparently, where you were required to bring a number of documents from a parent it turns out that if the aforementioned letter is good enough then the documents can come from literally anyone... Family, friend, co-worker, homeless person... someone on Steemit... Anybody. Amazing as that might seem.

Now, it's not a sure thing but at least it's a chance so I want to take it. Here's the full scoop:

  1. Most importantly, I must find someone who has the surname I want to adopt and ask that person to write and sign an affidavit that simply states the following: "Greetings. My name is Tetsuo Shima and I hereby give my permission for Ryunosuke Jansen to change his surname to Shima. Thank you"
  2. I need some form of proof of ID (national id card, passport, birth certificate, whichever) to go with the letter

That's it. I get that affidavit and that proof of id, attach it to my motivational letter and there is a chance I can actually change my surname to go with my first name :D

Unfortunately, I don't know any Japanese people in South Africa so I need to find a stranger to assist me... and since the people here on Steemit are so warm, friendly and welcoming I thought I'd make the request and see if anyone here would be willing to help me in this regard, please...

Thus, this guy is looking for a Japanese person's help in adopting that person's surname. If any Japanese men or ladies are reading this (or if you know of someone you might send this to) who would be willing to help me in this way, I would greatly appreciate your assistance.

My preferred surnames are Kojima (!!), Shima(!), Sato, Saito, Kato, Nakamura, Yoshida, Maeda, Fujita, Hasegawa, Aoki(!), Ishida, Ishihara(!), Sakai, Takeda, Sakurai, Kikuchi and of course Fujii (!)

I look forward to hearing from you and thank you in advance 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80