Which side do you stand on the escalator? 🤔 エスカレーターはどちら側に立ちますか?

in #japanese7 years ago (edited)

I'm not so sure if it is a rule or etiquette. Standing on one side of escalator and let the people who want to walk up/down the escalator go on the other side became the habit for many of us. I do walk on escalator sometimes but I don't think you'll get much ahead. Aren't we supposed to hold on? If you have a child with you, aren't we suppose to hold their hand?
Anyway, I find it interesting so I'll share some photos with you.

The first photo is Vancouver, Canada where I live. If you come to Vancouver, I suggest that you stand on the right side. I have never been looked at weird or yelled at for standing on the wrong side here but some pepole will tell you to move. I have no idea what it is like in other place in Canada. Let me know if you do.

エスカレーターに乗る時は片側に立つようになっていますよね。これはそういうルールなのでしょうか?それともエチケット? どちらでも良いのですが、無意識にそうする自分が不思議です。いつからそうしているのか、さっぱり。

ちなみに、バンクーバーは右側に立って、急いでいる方は左側を歩きます。エスカレーターを歩いてもそれほど早く目的地に着くとは思いませんが、取り合えず歩くことはあります。でも手すりにつかまるように、子供連れの際は手を繋ぐように注意書きがあったような... 間違えて左側に立っていて変な目で見られたり、怒られたりしたことはありませんが、エクスキューズミーとは言われます。

20180117_144730.jpg


This is Tokyo train station. You need to stand on the left side. I've heard the Kanto region is like this.

これは東京駅だったかな。皆さん左側に立っています。関東は左側と聞きました。

20180108_162749.jpg


This is Osaka. You need to stand on the right side instead of the left like in Tokyo. I've heard that the Kansai region, which is Osaka, Kyoto, Kobe and Nara are like this.

これは大阪のどこかの駅です。皆さん右側に立っていますね。関西は右側と聞きました。

20180117_194801.jpg

Why is it different within the same country? I don't know... What is it like where you live? I knew about the differences so I was ok but my kids were a little confused during the trip.

同じ国内なのになぜ違うのでしょう? 皆さんの住んでいる地域ではどうですか?私は知っていたので大丈夫でしたが、娘ちゃん達は少し混乱していました。

DJYNN_LOGO_BLUE_NEW.png

Sort:  

右ですね☺︎

修理屋さんの話だと片側に乗ると片側だけ部品の消耗が多くメンテが大変なので、真ん中に乗って欲しいと言っていた記憶があります。

おでんさんは関西ですか!
やはりそうなんですね。後ろの人の邪魔にならないようなら、真ん中に乗るようにしてみます^^

はい。関西です☺︎

エスカレーターとは関係ないですが、おでんにはスジ肉をいれます。

おでん...そう言えばもう何年も食べていないです。

大阪は右側に立ちますね!
私の地元山口県では田舎に行けば行くほど右も左も立ち止まってます^_^
大阪に来て、左を開けないといけないことに驚きました!笑

あ~うちの田舎もそうかも!

東京なので左寄りですね~
急いでいる人が多いときは、右にハミ出てると舌打ちされます。

え?舌打ち?ちょっとこわいかも...

こんにちは。
興味深い記事ですね。
私は11年東京にいたので左ですが、海外にでてきて、みんな自由なのであまり気にしなくなりました。
ちなみにタイは、ぐちゃぐちゃです(笑)ど真ん中な人もいますし。

ど真ん中に立つのがエスカレーターには良いと思うんですよね。

This reminded me of a picture I saw recently! I found it quite interesting when I was there in Osaka, Kyoto and Tokyo. In Singapore, people normally stand on the left side!

Capture.PNG

This is the link to the full image to other funny aspects:
https://imgur.com/t2y1A8J

Wow map! So interesting!

静岡も左に立ちます。関西に行くとちょっと混乱して慌てます^^;

娘たちは東京で、もぉ~なんで違うのぉ~と叫んでました(笑)

関東は左で大阪に行った時に右なので驚きました。海外では右が多いですよね〜旅行から帰ってきて東京で間違えて右にぼーっと立ってたら、白い目で見られましたww

私たちも東京でちょっと邪魔にされました^^;

これって興味深いですよね。
私もいつから片方に寄って立ち、片側を空けるような習慣になったのか、自分で記憶がありません。
名古屋でも、左側に寄って立ち、右側を空けてますね。

名古屋も左側ですか!
右側は関西だけなのかな。。。

私は当然左側~!^^
でも、地域によって違ってるんですね

お!岩手県でしたよね? 北に行っても左側なんですね!メモメモ...^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75