Ben Learns Japanese: Day 29 - My First Month

in #japanese7 years ago

Yesterday marked my completion of my first month in my 3 month challenge to learn more Japanese, so how much progress have I made?

Review

In my 2nd week Japanese mission post I said that I would work on reviewing all of my old vocab. I have made a lot of progress with that, I have reviewed a few hundred JLPT N4 level words and some N5 words. Although I am not done with all of them, in this next month I will start to focus more on learning new words and Kanji instead of reviewing.

Conversation

One goal that I have been accomplishing throughout this mission is having a conversation or tutoring session with a native Japanese speaker at the end of the week. This week I did so with my tutor on italki, a language learning platform that allows you to find tutors, professional teachers, and language partners for almost any language, and if you use this link to sign up you will get $10 in italki credits after you take your first lesson. In this weeks lesson me and my tutor talked about fun things to do in Japan and about Japanese food, this helped me a lot with my listening skills and speaking ability.

Other Goals

I didn't do much else, because I have been doing a lot of review, but I plan to do a lot more next month.

Plans for Month #2

For my second month I plan to learn 30 words a day using memrise. I also plan to start learning 10-15 Kanji everyday from the JLPT N5 and N4 categories. I will also make sure to read 1 to 2 chapters every week from my Genki 2 textbook. I plan to make a few more posts this next month aside from my normal weekly progress reports so make sure to follow me to see those.

 

Resources 

If you want to learn a language, use these amazing resources.

Italki

Italki is one of the best resources to learn a new language. It has so many teachers and tutors to teach you almost any language, and if you don't want to pay for a tutor you can find a language partner for free who is trying to learn your language and you are trying to learn theirs. You can talk and tutor each other.Please use my referral link when using italki and you will get $10 in italki credits after you take your first lesson.

Fluent in 3 Months

Fluent in 3 months is an amazing resource for tips and tricks for learning new languages. The creator of the site Benny Lewis is a polyglot who knows several languages and has wrote many amazing articles on how to learn them.Also they have many helpful products to help you learn languages and if you buy some using my link, I will get a portion of the money to help me make more of these posts. So please check out those products here. 

Thanks for reading, if you like this please make sure to upvote, follow me, and resteem this post.    

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81