Climbing Mt. Fuji in one day

in #japan7 years ago (edited)

Climbing Mt. Fuji was one of the most challenging things I’ve ever done in my life. I’ll admit, I was a bit overconfident. As a health conscious fitness junky, I assumed the hike would be a breeze, but was I wrong. It took every last bit of energy in me to make it to the top.

From Shinjuku station, my friends and I boarded the 2:10 bus bound for the 5th station, which took about 2.5 hours and cost 2700 yen. We arrived shortly before 5, about 3 hours before we planned to actually hike.

After we exited the bus and stretched our legs, we competed with hundred of Chinese tourists to take some photos of the scenery, then grabbed dinner at a restaurant nearby.

7:50 hit and we stocked up on some extra water and snacks and began our hike. The trail was pitch black, even with lights attached to our heads. The first hour or so was pretty simple until we hit the first major incline.

Luckily, there were multiple rest stations throughout the trail to rest. Here, you can buy drinks, snacks, and quick meals, all which were very overpriced.

The trail became considerably tough half way through. By midnight the temperature had dropped to around 40F (4.5C) though it felt much colder. On top of that, it began to rain. Each step forward and each breath we took became that much harder. The last hour was the hardest, we were cold, wet, hungry, and sleepy. To be honest, I don’t remember the last leg of the climb, I was half sleep, but somehow, I managed to get to the top. At 3:10, we finally reached the top!

We rushed to the ledge to get a good view to see the sunrise. It was probably the greatest relief ever, watching the sunrise from Mt. Fuji was one of the most beautiful sights I had ever seen.

DSC_0088.jpg
DSC_0087.jpg
We stayed at the top for about an hour and a half before making our descent, which took about 4 hours. 11 total hours of hiking in one day! We reached the finish line around 9 where the local workers greeted us. We boarded the bus bound for Shinjuku at 11:30. We arrived back shortly before 2 and when I exited the bus my legs felt like jello and it hurt to take deep breaths, my body was hurt but I was proud of myself for what I had just accomplished.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67