Nichiyou Daiku 日曜大工 Sunday Carpenter #2 - Building a Deck In Hachioji

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

Nichiyou Daiku - Sunday Carpenter #2


There's a phrase in Japan for the men who build things on Sundays, Nichiyou Daiku, Sunday Carpenter.

Last year I was asked to build a deck for my wife's cousin, Mr. M. He owns a waterproofing company and had his in-house designer draw it. I was to build it to specification, but the designer, while being a CAD expert, wasn't a structural engineer or a carpenter so we had to make some changes along the way. It took 5 days to compete after the pilings were set and this is how it went.

昨年、私は妻のいとこのためにデッキを建てるように頼まれました。彼は防水会社を所有しており、社内のデザイナーにそれを描いてもらいました。 私は仕様に基づいて設計していましたが、設計者はCADの専門家ですが、構造エンジニアや大工ではありませんでしたので、途中でいくつかの変更を加えなければなりませんでした。 杭打ちが終わってから5日をかけて競争しました。

Mr. M chose to use pressure treated material because he didn't want to pay for cedar, teak or a composite. Shiro ari, termites, are a problem in Japan so pressure treated it was!

Mさんは、杉、チークまたはコンポジットを支払うことを望まないため、圧力処理された材料を使用することを選択しました。 シロアリは日本の問題なので、それは圧迫されていました!

For whatever reason there was about a 3/4" difference in height between the sills of each sliding door. Luckily we were able to split the difference between the two without having any problems.

何らかの理由で、各スライドドアの敷居の高さに約3/4インチの差がありました。幸運なことに、私たちは両者の違いを何も問題なく分けることができました。

Out came the laser level and we were off!

レーザーレベルが出てきて、私たちは離れていました!

Mr. M had one of his workers help us level and set the piers. Once that was done I was on my own, which was great for me because I don't like to babysit people when there is work to do.

Mさんは彼の労働者の一人が私たちが桟橋を水平にして設定するのを手伝ってくれました。 それが済んだら、私は自分で仕事をしていましたが、それは私にとって素晴らしい仕事でした。

These piers were actually pretty cool to work with. I haven't ever used these types in California so it was a new experience for me.

これらの橋は、実際には動作するのには非常にクールでした。 私はこれまでカリフォルニアでこれらのタイプを使用していないので、私にとっては新しい経験でした。

After the piers and beams were in place I started laying down the deck planks. I started with two center line planks and a plank on each end to make sure it was square and it stayed in square. I also used string lines to aid me in this.

桟橋と梁が設置された後、私はデッキの板を敷くことを始めました。 は2つのセンターラインの厚板と各端の厚板で始めて、正方形であることを確認し、正方形にとどまった。 また、これを手助けするために文字列を使用しました。

At this point I found some bad squeaking at the center of the deck. It was due to the support beams not being anchored to the piers. So I had to pull up about 4 planks and put some shims in to get rid of the squeak. It worked out fine and I continued.

この時点で、私はデッキの中央でいくつかの悪い鳴き声を見つけました。 サポートビームが橋脚に固定されていないためでした。 だから私は約4枚の厚板を引っ張ってシムを入れなければならなかった。 それはうまくいって、私は続けました。

Once the deck planks were down a worker came and helped me whitewash it. Then I proceeded to put up the railing. The original design did not have a return post at the front. I insisted we needed one to provide additional support for the railing. Mr. M agreed and I added one on each end.

デッキの板が一旦落ちたら、ワーカーは私を助けてくれました。 それから、私は手すりをつけた。 元のデザインは正面に戻りポストがありませんでした。 私は、手すりに追加のサポートを提供する必要があると主張した。 Mさんは同意し、私はそれぞれの端に1つずつ追加しました。

Because of the adjustment to the railing we came up short on material so I began to work on the step while they ordered more.

手すりを調整したので、私たちは材料が足りなくなったので、もっと注文した段階で作業を始めました。

Once the additional material arrived the next day I was able to finish the railing and the step.

翌日に追加の資料が到着したら、手すりとステップを完了することができました。

Some additional paint and it was finished for the kids to enjoy!

いくつかの追加塗料とそれは子供たちが楽しむために終わった!

This house is just up the street from where I live and from the front of the house you have nice views of Hachioji and the mountains.

この家は私が住んでいるところからちょうど上にあり、家の正面からは八王子と山々の素晴らしい景色が見えます。

The tallest building in the picture is a large condominium tower in the heart of the city at the train station. It's called Southern Sky Tower Residence and is a 41 story residential and retail tower with a concert hall to boot.

写真の中で一番高い建物は、鉄道駅の中心部にある大きなコンドミニアムタワーです。 サザンスカイタワーレジデンスと呼ばれ、コンサートホールを備えた41階建ての住宅および小売タワーです。

Tools used 道具:

  • Table saw - テーブルソー
  • Compound sliding miter saw - コンパウンドスライドマイターソー
  • Circular saw - 丸鋸
  • Cordless drills, levels, HAMMER! and my hands! - コードレスドリル、水準器、ハマー! と私の手!

Thanks for reading! - 読んでくれてありがとう


I am part of Steemit Blogger Center.

Steemit Blogger Central is building communities and empowering Leaders.

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

Thanks for reading!

Our Steemit Blogger Central Discord community is here:

Discord:
https://discord.gg/e5XFZKa

Sort:  

Great story, beautiful job, and those piers are fascinating. Are they built like regular cinderblocks or do they have a different type of concrete?

I like the design of the safety rails to each end of the deck. Very attractive. And it must be great for the family to have such a nice neat place for the children to play!

Thanks @lturner. The piers are solid concrete and weigh about 30lbs each if not more. The interior of each is hollow which helps a bit with the weight. I'd really like to work with them again and see what I can build.

When you do, take photos!

Looks good and very neat. I like the piers, never seen them before. What a great idea

Thanks @jist. It was fun to build and turned out nice. The piers were interesting and I look forward to using them again when building in Japan.

とてもステキです!!
センス抜群ですね。
子供たちの遊びもテンションMAXでしょうね!!

ありがとうございます。私は子供たちがそれを壊さないことを願っています!

Wow, brilliant job @rt395. The views look good from there too! Keep up the good work :)

Ah, this was just your everyday project. Nothing special other than the lines. I love lines and patterns. I reversed the boards on the step to separate the lines from the deck planks.

That is great what you create there 😀. It have to be great experience ! The view is allso very cool 😀

Big Up!

Thanks @toshi88. I'll progress these coming weeks into bigger, nicer projects so check back!

これまた器用な日曜大工ですね!

おれは良くなっていますね。

素晴らしいです!プロの大工さんのようです!
you are perfect!

棟梁です!よろしくお願いします😎私の話ははるかに良くなるでしょう。

すごいですね!
うちのベランダも是非作ってもらいたいものですw

やってみましょう!

すごい!
私も作ってもらいたいです^^

それを作りましょう!😄

Looks great. Did you have mold and pour those piers yourself, or can you buy them already made?

The piers you can buy at one of the professional home centers. The were cool to work with, but would have been nicer to anchor them with steel straps or something like the piers we use in Cali. to avoid the squeaking . It all turned out ok though.

It's also interesting to work in Japan because so many things are slightly different than the US, some good, some bad. One day it would be nice to work on a temple or shrine with a master daiku. Talk about perfection.

Thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60646.47
ETH 3379.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51