Let's Go To Super Potato In Akihabara! 80's Gaming Flashback!

in #japan7 years ago (edited)

Super Potato In Akihabara! 80's Gaming Flashback!


Looking to spend some quality time with my son one day I suggested we go down to Akihabara. He declined, until I explained to him that it's the gaming capital of Japan and I would buy him a 3DS game. He quickly changed his attitude and we were off! Bribery FTW!

Akihabara is the Japanese capital of anime, manga, DIY electronics, games and maid cafe's, the latter of which I still have not visited!

We were there to find a game my son was looking for and look at some older Nintendo consoles like the Super Famicon, which I explained to him there was no reason to have because he already had a 3DS, Switch, iPad, Playstaion 4, and iPhone 6S . No reason to own Super Famicon unless you are a collector. I told him he if he wanted one he could blog about it on Steemit and earn the money to buy one. Then he gave up.

I had an amazing time though! Flashing back to my childhood while looking over all the games and consoles! Let's go back in time in Akihabara! Woo, woo, 80's, pew, pew!

Enter "Super Potato"


While we were walking around the back streets of Akihabara we ran across Super Potato and saw the "Retro" writing on their billboard so we decided to duck in, back into the 80's that is!

Little did we know, Super Potato is like the most badass retro gaming store you could think of. Not only is the name epic, but they have EVERYTHING! It's 4 floors of retro gaming paradise. Every middle aged man will love this place and I recommend a pilgrimage.

My son wandered in and out of the first couple floors while I jumped up to the 5th floor to see how high this rabbit hole went. It went high. They had the old sit down games. You could actually play them and one of them was Mampy! I was instantly teleported back to the 7-11 where I would play Mampy and other shitty, useless games all day and into the night. EAL ruled the leaderboard of all video games within a 2 mile radius of my house and I am the only one, other than you, who will ever remember that long forgotten, amazing accomplishment.

My son called me down to the 4th floor to show me the Super Famicon's. It was here that I lost my shit.

I didn't loose it over the Nintendo's, although it was cool seeing all the different models, no it's what was just around the corner from them....

An Intellivision!! I don't even remember the last time I saw one of these. I honestly couldn't remember the games we use to play on it, but I remember the controllers with the key pads. They were a trip to me for some reason.

Right next to the Intellivision was an Arcadia manufactured by Emerson and licensed by Bandai. I didn't really remember this console, but I do remember the joystick on the controller. One of my friends had this piece of shit and no one ever went to his house to play games.

Then came the Atari 2600. The king of consoles. Everyone had one of these and we would trade each other games like Pitfall, Pac Man, Asteroids, Basketball, and Custer's Revenge. Ok not the last one I swear!

Then there was E.T., fuck I hated that game. WTF, going through rooms that looked like poorly drawn boxes with weird looking 8bit shit in them not knowing WTF you were doing! Game Devs were definitely on drugs in those days and E.T. was the culmination of all those ludes and acid trips.

This floor also had the old Sega consoles, a Jaguar you can kinda see in the picture above, and just about every console you could think of. Then it was over. My son said they didn't have the game he wanted and it was time to leave. I was propelled back to adulthood and misery.

I said ok, let's go look at another place. Just around the corner we found Trader! They sell used games and sure enough, they had my son's 3DS game along with a game my Daughter wanted, Fallout 4, great game.

Thanks for reading! Let me know your 80's gaming stories in the comments!

Upvote for the 80's Gamers Bra!

http://www.superpotato.com

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 35.699369 lat 139.770716 long https://steemit.com/japan/@rt395/let-s-go-to-super-potato-in-akihabara-80-s-gaming-flashback d3scr)


I am part of Steemit Blogger Center.

Steemit Blogger Central is building communities and empowering Leaders.

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

Thanks for reading!

Our Steemit Blogger Central Discord community is here:

Discord:
https://discord.gg/e5XFZKa

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=rt395
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=let-s-go-to-super-potato-in-akihabara-80-s-gaming-flashback


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

OOOh... Great! Genial. Buenas fotos, te invito a mi cuenta. Gracias!

Thanks dude.

Thanks for this post, it's just what I was looking for, I love it.
I like Japan and everything related, especially video games, the Konami brand and the old MSX computers;)

Thanks! @boxcarblue is a friend I look up to.

Japan is a blast, no doubt about it. Did yo know Konami is a huge developer of slot machines as well? I don't particularly like theirs because it's harder to win, but they make a lot of them!

I subscribed to your blog, I know it thanks to @boxcarblue that recommended this site

Great place, isn't it? Super Potato is the mecca for retro gamers.
My first console was the Atari, followed by
Family Computer
Gameboy
Sega 16 bit
Sega Gamegear
PS1
Dreamcast
Didn't owned a Super Famicom due to its high price and most of my childhood friends didn't have it too.
Late 90s were the time when PC gaming started to gain traction and we kinda stopped playing console anymore.

Ok! So you go back like me! We owned several of the early consoles including Atari, Intellivision and Super Nintendo when it came out in the US. Didn't own any afterwards because I grew out of gaming.

oh crap i'd visited akiba so many times but I didnt know there was a place called super potato HAHA
what game did you get your son? Hope he doesn't have a nintendo switch eh, otherwise you'd have to spend so much more money on the games hehe

im a 90s kid so i think the most retro game I played was.... Contra! I think it belongs to the 80s right! upup downdown leftright left right BA or something cheat code HAHAHA

Ya, there are shops all over the place that people probably miss.

I bought him Super Mario Maker I think. The one that allows you to build the levels.

What about Pac-man? That's retro.

yes too many! my first go-to and hangout is always that Big donki at the end ahahah

ah I didnt really play alot of pac man then.. i actually played mrs pac man on the ps1 more

those consoles look like antiques!!! I nvr seen one like that before!! Why am I saying this?? Im not even born in the 80s!!! felt like walking into a time machine through your post :bowtie:
All i know is the Sega police game on the computer @@

Yep, they are antiques! It's funny how things have changed, but stayed the same.

You got a 0.90% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @rt395!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You got a 6.90% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @rt395!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43