Nagoya Castle

in #japan7 years ago

DSC_0245.JPG
While dropping by to visit a friend in Nagoya, I had a chance to drop by a historical location.

Nagoya Castle was built in the beginning of the Edo Period and it was one of the largest castles in the country

Most castle buildings were destroyed in the air raids of 1945, so they had to rebuild most of the damage buildings. Currently they are working on this exhibit where they are trying to rebuild the main keep out of wood. It is said to be completed in 2022.

DSC_0116.JPG

A photograph of a crowd of people, what are they even looking at.

While looking at the crowd of people I found a ticket on the floor that lets me visit the inside of the castle for a special exhibit.

DSC_0182.JPG

Adorning the roof of the castle are these fish like creatures made out of solid gold. Apparently they are supposed to be a mystical sea fish but in reality it was actually a dolphin that swam close enough to be mistaken as a rare beast.

DSC_0201.JPG

Some cats were having dinner outside the castle walls. I sat down and watched them as I ate my own bento.

DSC_0257.JPG

The castle gets lit up at night. While walking round the castle walls, I was reading a ghost story about a disappearing grandma that had appeared nearby the castle walls. It seems she was off duty that night and I didn't get to run into her.

Sort:  

You had great shots of the castle, especially the night one. The first one look a little different.
Check out my post on nagoya castle, very closeup shots of it. :)

Thank you! Actually the first photo is not the caste but one of the corner keeps, I just had to get a photo of it!

Haha yes I got it. It looks really nice too.

This was supposed to be one of our stops when we visited Japan, but we had to make some last-minute adjustments and didn't get to go (๑˃﹏˂).

Thank you for sharing! (๑•‿•๑)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54518.65
ETH 2301.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33