BEST OMURICE IN THE WORLD: KICHI KICHI KYOTO! (京都)

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

BEST OMURICE IN THE WORLD: KICHI KICHI KYOTO! (京都)

Omurice is one of the popular Japanese dishes that is commonly eaten both at home and restaurants.

And if you happen to be in Kyoto one of the best Omurice in Japan is served in the heart of the 1000 temples’ city.

Chef Yukimura Motokichi prepares the dish right in front of you and he usually explains what he is cooking, showing all the ingredients and tricks he uses for this delicious plate!

As the place is really small and always crowded you would need to book in advance as there are only 8 seats available. It does not make it easier the fact that the Kichi Kichi restaurant is open for lunch between 12 and 2pm and for dinner from 5-9pm only! Yes, I know, for some European countries dinner at 5 is really early! Might as well get used to local traditions :)

Enjoy my Kichi 2 experience!

KICHI VIDEO1.jpg

Bear in mind that they have different menus for lunch and dinner. Lunch is only available on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays.
For lunch, there are 3 options to choose from:

  1. Fluffy Omurice: Regular size (¥2,700), Half size (¥1,450)  this is the one I got for dinner!
  2. Super Recommended Beef Stew & Rice (¥3,100 with rice)
  3. Super Recommended Oxtongue stew & Rice (¥3,250)
    You can add soup or salad with extra ¥200, or both soup and salad for ¥400.

Dinner you will have the full menu with Chef’s osusume (recommendation)!

KICHI VIDEO2.jpg

A good 10-minute walk from Keihan Sanjou (京阪三条駅) Station, Kichi Kichi is hidden away in an inconspicuous alley which would make it difficult to find if not for GPS - of course I used Google maps to find the place  - . Its red signboard, however, quickly attracted my attention As I entered the small and cozy 8-seater restaurant immediately

I was greeted by a sole waitress who told me that the restaurant was closing but luckily they still had one seat available and gave me the English menu. Yes I did not reserve anything if you were wondering.

I was very lucky to grab a fast bite without reserving in advance and the chef was kind enough to stay open a little later than usual just for us.

This is no way sponsored but If you are interested in going you can book directly on their website linked below as it is English friendly! http://kichi2.net/

“Fluffy Omu Rice”.

KICHI VIDEO3.jpg

If you need any suggestion on where to go and what to see in Japan let me know! Will be happy to help!

This is my first article and first video I ever edit, so any comment on how to improve is greatly appreciated!

Currently working and living in Tokyo

Cheers
Michele

IG: @picozzimichele

Subscribe to the channel is brand new:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjROxdBVoa244tB2MQa59KA?sub_confirmation=1

Follow my adventures on Instagram.
https://www.instagram.com/picozzimichele/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62226.04
ETH 2440.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63