Top 3 Weird Excuses for Japanese Behavior (Notes from Under the Tatami Mats–8 … My Adventures in Japan)

in #japan6 years ago

“People who are normally quite gentle and polite engage in rude and vindictive behavior.”

While excuses #2 and #3 are, at first glance, seen to be ludicrous, excuse #1 could be considered valid. 

When asking “Why do the Japanese businessmen and businesswomen typically work 10–12 hours per day?”, there is really no other answer than “This is Japan.”

You’ll have to excuse them

While it’s been years since I left Japan, I still sometimes wonder, “Why do some Japanese people – who are normally quite gentle and reserved and at least superficially polite – engage in condescending, rude, vicious, and vindictive behavior?”    

The only reply I can think of is “That is Japan.”    
But that’s no excuse, is it?      (Image source)

   Introduction to – “Notes from Under the Tatami Mats”  (right-click on title)

Top 3 Disorienting Aspects of Living in Japan
Top 4 Disorienting Aspects of the Japanese Language
Top 3 Worst Ways to Celebrate New Year’s
... and more

Links to my Other Series …

      Introduction – "Intro to Vocab-ability"   (right-click on title)
      Guide – "Guide to Entries"   (right-click on title)
      Index– "Index" to all Chapters and Sections   (right-click on title)

      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"   (right-click on title)
      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"   (right-click on title)

Images sourced from Google Images, unless otherwise indicated or unless my own.

Sort:  

I seem to agree with the Japanese on this, this is Japan, the reason being that every society ought to have cultures and traditions which distinguishes them from other people of the world. But, I don't understand why you agreed that Japan snow is different from European snow. I had thought that snow was snow. I guess I am wrong. But, is their rain different from other rains? Lol

In fact, I stated that claim #3 is ludicrous.

As for "This is Japan," to a great extent, I also agree that it is a valid justification for many actions and behavior. As they say, "When in Rome ..."

But, if it's used to excuse "weird, inexcusable behavior," then I do not approve. Still, I learned to be tolerant.

Oh kindly pardon me, I had misread your position. So, snow is snow. Well, I get your point and also agree that there ought to be basic behavioural expectations in human societies.

I haven't heard the snow excuse in Korea. Probably because it's mostly artificial here and the machines can be brought anywhere.
The other two about rice and it's Korea are applied the same here.

That's interesting. I never imagined that Koreans would also come up with those weird excuses. Just goes to show that such ideas are not limited by any international borders.

I'm sure they have exchanged these ideas. In some cases even the doctors back them up. There are a few that may be unique to here. Maybe I will start taking note of some and make a list one day for Korea.

If you're gonna stay in Korea for a while, just start jotting down notes about such things. Soon, you'll find that all sorts of ideas pop into your head.

I started my Top X lists a few months before I left Japan. It just grew and grew, organically and exponentially, until I had over 80 lists. Then the ideas stopped coming.

After that, I lived in India and in Singapore. I planned to make such lists for those places too, but never started. Never finished, either!!

They have some good ones of their own. Maybe I will introduce a few when I am reminded of some more interesting ones.

The writing is very beautiful....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76